View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Fran Guru
Joined: 29 Feb 2004 Posts: 530 Location: Coruña (Spain)
|
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:40 pm Post subject: Synaptics: missing taps? [SOLVED] |
|
|
I must have a strange finger, because my touchpad is reporting a 2 finger tap approximately a 30% of times that I tap the touchpad. Example:
Code: | 10.683 1 5855 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
11.343 1 5855 1 2 5 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0 <---
11.355 3742 2878 70 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
11.367 3737 2879 70 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
11.379 3735 2884 70 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
11.391 3735 2892 60 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
11.403 1 5855 2 2 5 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0 <---
11.427 1 5855 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
11.919 1 5855 3 2 5 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0 <---
11.931 3747 2892 73 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
11.943 3739 2900 73 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
11.955 3736 2909 74 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
11.967 3736 2917 62 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
11.979 1 5855 3 2 5 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0 <---
11.991 1 5855 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
12.451 3758 3010 58 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
12.463 3750 3006 66 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
12.476 3744 3009 67 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
12.487 3749 3019 67 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
12.500 3746 3042 14 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
12.515 3746 3042 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
|
There are clearly 3 taps, but synaptics only recognizes the last. I presume that it's because the 2 first taps end with a '2' in the fingers column. It's quite annoying missing 1 of every 3 taps, and I don't really use two and three finger taps, so I'd like to disable them (or at least to make the synaptics driver to ignore them). Is it possible or will I have to patch the driver? The "mouse" driver works great (as it doesn't support 2 and 3 finger taps) but I would'n have the scrollbars at the left and bottom of the touchpad either.
I've tried setting TapButton2 and TapButton3 to 0, and then to 1, but it didn't work.
Thanks
(edit)
Mmmm... it seems that the problem isn't in the number of fingers. I've patched the driver and
Code: | 31.596 1 5855 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
31.897 1 5855 1 1 5 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
31.921 3473 2863 65 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
31.933 3468 2861 65 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
31.945 3464 2861 65 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
31.957 3467 2860 65 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
31.969 3463 2856 58 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
31.981 1 5855 1 1 5 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
32.040 1 5855 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
32.645 3524 2997 25 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
32.657 3532 2981 57 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
32.669 3529 2979 61 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
32.681 3528 2977 66 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
32.697 3527 2976 66 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
32.709 3527 2976 64 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
32.721 3527 2980 50 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0
32.737 3527 2980 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 00000000 0 0 0 0 0 |
Now it always sees 1 finger, but the first tap was ignored. Maybe it has something to do with the width column (it goes from 4 to 5 in the ignored taps when I release the pressure)
(edit)
All right, I'm blind . The problem is that sometimes, before the pressure detection goes back to 0, the x coordinate jumps to 1, and of course the action is not detected as a tap, but as a move (it clearly surpasses MaxTapMove).
It seems I'll have to patch it to ignore those "jumps" at the end of a tap.
Nobody else has experienced this problem??
Last edited by Fran on Tue Aug 01, 2006 11:17 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fran Guru
Joined: 29 Feb 2004 Posts: 530 Location: Coruña (Spain)
|
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I surrender. There must be some bug in synaptics, but I can't find it. I've been playing with the source for hours and I still don't understand why some taps aren't passed to X as events.
I'll sitck with the mouse driver. I don't have scroll, but at least I don't have to tap several times to get a click event. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fran Guru
Joined: 29 Feb 2004 Posts: 530 Location: Coruña (Spain)
|
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 11:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
All right, I've finally solved it. The problem was that it was not only detecting a move, but also detecting a "left bottom tap". The solution is quite simple (once you know the problem ):
Code: | Option "LeftEdge" "0"
Option "MaxTapMove" "10000" |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|