View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
gustafson Guru
Joined: 12 Aug 2004 Posts: 430
|
Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 8:05 pm Post subject: Atheros (WG-511T) and firmware |
|
|
Hi,
I use the netgear WG-511T with madwifi-ng driver. It works on one machine and not another... I'm trying to debug.
On the netgear website it says there is a firmware update availabe, but it only appears to install with the latest windows driver. Does firmware apply? Or does the madwifi driver and ath_pci/ath_hal module take care of that? Thanks, |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kerick n00b
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 Posts: 59
|
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 5:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
First off,
I don't think that the firmware is going to help, maybe, but probably not.
What kind of messages are you getting in the logs?
when you load the module do the lights come on on the card? does it show up in iwconfig? _________________ -----------------
Thats funny, my post count tells me I'm a n00b... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gustafson Guru
Joined: 12 Aug 2004 Posts: 430
|
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, Thanks for your willingness to help.
My question was mostly a desire to determine if new firmware would help... I'm pretty convinced it is hopeless to get it working since I've had it working for a long time in another machine with a very similar setup. I've had hardware problems with this laptop, so it doesn't surprise that the card isn't working here.
However, since you asked, and because I'm always hopeful for a miracle:
The error messages (hundreds of them, identical) are:
Code: | wifi0: hardware error; reseting
wifi0: hardware error; reseting
wifi0: hardware error; reseting |
dmesg reports something at wifi0 and something at ath0, which I've always been confused about. This is my only hope that it can be fixed...
dmesg |grep wifi|grep -v "hardware error"
Code: | wifi0: 11b rates: 1Mbps 2Mbps 5.5Mbps 11Mbps
wifi0: 11g rates: 1Mbps 2Mbps 5.5Mbps 11Mbps 6Mbps 9Mbps 12Mbps 18Mbps 24Mbps 36Mbps 48Mbps 54Mbps
wifi0: turboG rates: 6Mbps 12Mbps 18Mbps 24Mbps 36Mbps 48Mbps 54Mbps
wifi0: H/W encryption support: WEP AES AES_CCM TKIP
wifi0: mac 5.9 phy 4.3 radio 4.6
wifi0: Use hw queue 1 for WME_AC_BE traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 0 for WME_AC_BK traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 2 for WME_AC_VI traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 3 for WME_AC_VO traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 8 for CAB traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 9 for beacons
wifi0: Atheros 5212: mem=0x24000000, irq=9 |
dmesg |grep -i ath
Code: | ath_hal: module license 'Proprietary' taints kernel.
ath_hal: 0.9.17.2 (AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413)
ath_rate_sample: 1.2 (0.9.2)
ath_pci: 0.9.4.5 (0.9.2)
wifi0: Atheros 5212: mem=0x24000000, irq=9 |
# iwconfig
Code: | lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
wifi0 no wireless extensions.
ath0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel:0 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power:0 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=0/94 Signal level=-95 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0 |
The relevant attempts to start the card are below:
Code: | # /etc/init.d/net.ath0 start
* Starting ath0
* Configuring wireless network for ath0
* no access points found
* Couldn't find any access points on ath0
* Failed to configure wireless for ath0
# /etc/init.d/net.wifi0 start
* Starting wifi0
* Bringing up wifi0
* Configuration not set for wifi0 - assuming dhcp
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ...
Error, dhcpStart: interface wifi0 is not Ethernet or 802.2 Token Ring
[ !! ] |
Finally, the modules:
Code: |
# lsmod
Module Size Used by
af_packet 10632 2
rlocate 9828 0
tun 7200 1
snd_seq 38512 0
snd_seq_device 5708 1 snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss 30912 0
snd_mixer_oss 13024 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_maestro3 18436 2
snd_ac97_codec 78400 1 snd_maestro3
snd_ac97_bus 1728 1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm 61000 3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_maestro3,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer 15428 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc 6792 1 snd_pcm
snd 37412 12 snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_os
s,snd_maestro3,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
vfat 8736 0
fat 38524 1 vfat
wlan_scan_sta 9760 1
ath_pci 71680 0
ath_rate_sample 10848 1 ath_pci
wlan 155100 4 wlan_scan_sta,ath_pci,ath_rate_sample
ath_hal 189104 3 ath_pci,ath_rate_sample
pcmcia 25748 0
firmware_class 6656 1 pcmcia
crc32 3808 2 tun,pcmcia
yenta_socket 20140 3
rsrc_nonstatic 7968 1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core 29200 3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
e100 26596 0 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kerick n00b
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 Posts: 59
|
Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have this same card btw.
Here are some things you might try:
bring up the interface with ifconfig ( ifconfig ath0 up ) and make sure the lights come on on the card.
You can try bringing up the wireless interface without the rc scripts like so:
Make sure the interface is down first
iwconfig ath0 essid YourAP
iwconfig ath0 mode managed
dhcpcd ath0
If that doesn't work you could grab the latest svn of the madwifi-ng drivers, which is what I run anyway, and install those to see if that helps.
As far as I've been able to tell, the wifi0 interface is worthless so you want to be sure everything you do is on ath0. pulling dhcp from wifi0 may be the reason for all those hardware errors. _________________ -----------------
Thats funny, my post count tells me I'm a n00b... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gustafson Guru
Joined: 12 Aug 2004 Posts: 430
|
Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well... I've given up on that card. Despite significant effort (spanning months) I haven't gotten it running. I'm convinced there is a hardware conflict somewhere in the setup.
I did find a card that works though... also atheros based. DWL-G650.
I plugged it in the first time and it pulled an IP immediately... subsequent plugins yield the following:
Code: | * Starting ath0
* Configuring wireless network for ath0
* ath0 connected to ESSID "MYESSID" at 00:00:00:00:00:00
* in managed mode on channel 7 (WEP disabled)
* Configuration not set for ath0 - assuming DHCP
* Bringing up ath0
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ...
Error, timed out waiting for a valid DHCP server response [ !! ] |
It does recognize my ESSID and tries to connect... however it uses the wrong MAC address and fails.
When I use
Code: | iwconfig ath0 ap XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
dhcpcd |
(That being the correct ap MAC address) it connects, pulls an IP and works fine. Mystery. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|