View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
josephdrivein
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:58 am    Post subject: How to improve gentoo and why I'm leaving Reply with quote

I have been using gentoo for two years now, on a 3800 X2 amd64, my home box, and I'm not completely satisfied with it. This is not meant to be a rant or how "gentoo sucks" post, I just wish to let you know why Gentoo was not the right distro for me, so maybe those things will be eventually improved and I'll be back. So no flames, please.

Here are the main things I didn't like about Gentoo:
1. Compiling wastes time. Often, I read post by people saying that you should use that time to do something else in the meanwhile, so it's not wasted. But that doesn't change the matter: you'll have to wait.
2. I have often read about improvements given by compiling software directly on the target machine. I don't belive there is any noticeable speed-up. Even if you got 1msec time save every time you run a program, since you probably wasted at least a couple of minutes compiling it, you have to execute it approximatively 120.000 times, then you'll hit the break-even point and you'll start saving a msec every time you run it.
In the end, it may really give you a real small speed increase, but you already wasted it compiling.
3. Portage is horribly broken and terribly slow. It has options (-P) that are known not to work properly and it's marked stable... Being slow it's probably Python's fault. Updating my packages list (the portage tree) alone takes almost 5min on my amd64 X2 with broadband connection. Doh. Aptitude takes real 0m5.774s (from time, sadly I can't post anymore the emerge time...) Download links are down sometimes, some ebuilds are broken, but you can fix them. Not that nice, btw.