View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Ilia N Ternovich n00b
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 7:45 pm Post subject: Ethernet & Kernel : big trouble |
|
|
Hi guys!
Trying to make my LAN card working in Gentoo...
So, lspci says:
01:0a.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
ifconfig do not see eth0, because there is no module compiled for my card. So I compile it as module, toggle on "Networking" and other related stuff.
After restarting with new kernel system DO NOT boot:
>>>Activating mdev
/init: 216: mdev: not found
Error: /dev/hda5 isn't valid block device... blah ( where /dev/hda5 is my root device and it works perfectly if there is no "Networking" in kernel.
Please enter root device manually... blah
Have no ideas what's going on |
|
Back to top |
|
|
HeXiLeD Veteran
Joined: 20 Aug 2005 Posts: 1159 Location: Online
|
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thats not ethernet related.
That is user related.
now.... since you cant boot your system you need to use the live cd to chroot to your HD install.
Once there; compile the kernel properly and follow the gentoo install manual to copy to /boot and do the proper settings on grub
Load the ethernet module in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
reboot and have a beer _________________ Do you hear the sound of inevitability?
With age, comes great grumpiness and that, was 20 years ago...
CertFP: becbbd161d5a5c31de3c45171b77bf710911db29 / d985d21f89fe2977b593c4d381a1a86802e62990d9328d893db76d59f9935244 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ilia N Ternovich n00b
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 5:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Blue-Steel wrote: | Thats not ethernet related.
That is user related.
now.... since you cant boot your system you need to use the live cd to chroot to your HD install.
Once there; compile the kernel properly and follow the gentoo install manual to copy to /boot and do the proper settings on grub
Load the ethernet module in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
reboot and have a beer |
Well, I have Gentoo 8 moths running, but never worked with Networks. Just wonder why this happens... Can you show me you Kernel config section related with Networking? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ilia N Ternovich n00b
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 5:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
To avoid speculations here is my grub.conf cut fragment:
Code: |
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.17-r4
root (hd0,1)
kernel /kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.17-gentoo-r4 root=/dev/ram0 init=linuxrc ramdisk=8192 r
initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.17-gentoo-r4
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.17-r3
root (hd0,1)
kernel /kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.17-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/ram0 init=linuxrc ramdisk=8192 r
initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.17-gentoo-r3
|
with r3 system is loading
with r4 and Networking enabeled ist fails with top post error, just after ( or during ) init process |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RazielFMX l33t
Joined: 23 Apr 2005 Posts: 835 Location: NY, USA
|
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 5:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
I recommend using a manually configured kernel. _________________ I am not anti-systemd; I am pro-choice. If being the latter makes you feel that I am the former, then so be it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ilia N Ternovich n00b
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 7:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
RazielFMX wrote: | I recommend using a manually configured kernel. |
Well,... completely confused
Just rebuild gentoo-sources-2.6.17-r5 -- the same trouble with mdev ( even without Networking ). What is mdev? Why it don't like my /dev/hda5 root device? It used to work 7 month and in one day it finished.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RazielFMX l33t
Joined: 23 Apr 2005 Posts: 835 Location: NY, USA
|
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 7:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
You are using genkernel, which works kind of like Windows and many linux distros, where it figures out what you are running hardwise on boot.
I mean, downloading the gentoo-sources (make sure you set USE=symlink so you create a symlink for your new kernel), cd'ing into /usr/src/linux, running make menuconfig, and going through each and every option one by one, and trying to figure out what you need and don't. It really sucks the first time you do it, but with the help of the help screens, google, and these awesome forums, you'll be alright.
I know almost nothing about genkernel, so someone with genkernel experience might be able to solve this for you. I tell you though, manual kernel makes your grub.conf nice and pretty...
Code: |
#Default start up?
default 0
#Timeout
timeout 30
#Any sort of splash?
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
#gentoo sans vga settings
title=Gentoo Linux (2.6.17-gentoo-r4)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/2.6.17-gentoo-r4 root=/dev/sda3
|
But before you take such a drastic possibly catastrophic step, let's try to debug a bit.
I would like to see your /etc/fstab, which should be fine given one kernel works, but I'd like to see nonetheless.
Also, what do you mean by 'you turned networking on'. Did you run rc-update add net-eth0 default?
What seems to me to be the culprit is this 'enable networking' step you took. I really would like to know what steps you took in what order to do this. Thanks.
As an aside, did you configure /etc/conf.d/net?
Did you install a dhcp client such as dhcpcd?
If not, we will need to do this once we get you booting ok. _________________ I am not anti-systemd; I am pro-choice. If being the latter makes you feel that I am the former, then so be it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ilia N Ternovich n00b
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | You are using genkernel, which works kind of like Windows and many linux distros, where it figures out what you are running hardwise on boot. |
Ok, to avoid in future -- I used to configure kernel since 2.6.9 till 2.6.17. Each major version manually, each point of config etc etc etc. So there is no troubles with /boot USE="symlink" and other lame stuff at all
Just please trust me!
Quote: | and going through each and every option one by one, |
Exactly as I always do. But this problem is more difficult and I can't fix it by myself. That's why I asked on forum. Anyhow let's move slowly and carefully.
Quote: | I would like to see your /etc/fstab, which should be fine given one kernel works, but I'd like to see nonetheless. |
I almost sure that fstab is correct.
Code: |
/dev/hda2 /boot ext3 auto 1 2
/dev/hda5 / ext3 defaults 0 1
/dev/hda6 /usr ext3 defaults 0 2
/dev/hda7 /opt ext3 defaults 0 2
/dev/hda8 /var ext3 defaults 0 2
|
After 4 hours of debugging and googling, I realized that the problem seems to be relaed to MDEV
Here is when my system loads perfectly ( with old working kernel ):
Code: |
>>Activating udev
>>Determining root device
...
[Working, booting all is good]
|
And with new kernels:
Code: |
>>Activating mdev
!! /dev/hda5 isn't valid block device
etc etc etc
[System stop to load and reboot needed]
|
I showed kernel boot parameters in last posts, they are equal. Now the main question ( I think the trouble is because of it ).
Why then in one case system uses udev and loads fun, and in other cases it start using MDEV and fails even not mounted /dev/hda5 ( my root partition )?
I think this is the way we should think... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ilia N Ternovich n00b
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Some debug info.
System loads XFS, JFS and some other modules while boot. I have never seen this behaviour before as well as mdev...
Also because of:
Code: |
init: 216: mdev: not found
|
I think the problem may be also related to /etc/inittab...
Just I'm lame with Network and all this stuffage
I've unplugged LAN card, turned off Networking at all in kernel config, rebuilt it maybe 10-15 times...
This damned mdev do not allow me to boot correctly |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ilia N Ternovich n00b
Joined: 13 Aug 2006 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, problem was with genkernel bug... Sorry :-[
Now 8139too.ko for my LAN card loads during boot perfectly, but still have no luck with:
#ifconfig | grep eth0
#
What should I do next? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|