Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installation on the DELL Notebook
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's happened is one of 2 things:

1) You didn't build the driver that your SATA/SCSI drive controller uses into your kernel. NOTE: You can't specify it as a module, unless you are using an initrd (like you would with genkernel).
You'll need to include SCSI support and the low-level scsi driver for your controller

OR

2) You simply have a typo in your "root=/dev/sda4"

The first one is the most likely cause of your trouble.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Noven
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aha, I never knew that. Learn something new every day :)

I agree that not compiling the SCSI option in is a good bet. [EDIT - the lsmod posted earlier shows the necessary SATA drivers as modules]

However I need to clarify something. If

Code:

root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernelname


is the same as

Code:

root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/kernelname


then the directory it starts looking for the kernel image in is the one that root (hdX,X) specifies. So if you have one / partition, inside of which is /boot, then kernel would = /boot/kernelname . However if you have a seperate boot partition {as I and Onyeeman do} then it starts looking for the kernelname in the /boot directory, so kernel should = /kernelname. Onyeemans current grub config is actually looking for /boot/boot/kernelname. Is that correct?
_________________
- Novensiles divi Flamen

>---- Miles Militis Fons ----<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for that clarification.
However, I have a problem with the sda4, which is my root partition...
The boot process starts correctly. But I guess, when its time to mount the "root" partition, it is failing...

Thank you.

Sorry, please disregard.
Didn't read the second responce... :)

I will vheck and post post the relevant options from the kernel...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, hre we go:

Device Drivers ->SCSI device support

Legacy /proc/scsi support
SCSI disk support
SCSI CDROM support
SCSI generic support

Device Drivers ->SCSI device support -> SCSI low-level drivers

Serial ATA (SATA) support

Thats the only options I checked, and they compiled in the kernel.
Also, as I mentioned before, the boot process was beginning correctly. It did load grub, it did find and load kernel. Which means that it probably not this problem... :(

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you were absolutely corect.
I missed ICH support in mykernel configuration. Even though it says ICH5 and lspci gives "ICH7", after enabling it and re-compiling the kernel, I was able to boot up.

Hooray!!!!! :D

Now, all I need to do is to install X. According to the notes for the driver, I have to install the xorg-7.1, so that I will be able to use the driver. However, is anybody tried the driver with the 7.0? I don't want to use testing branch...

Thankn you, thank you, thank you.

O, no, before that I want to makle sure that my wireless network is working... I guess back to installation. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Noven wrote:
then the directory it starts looking for the kernel image in is the one that root (hdX,X) specifies. So if you have one / partition, inside of which is /boot, then kernel would = /boot/kernelname . However if you have a seperate boot partition {as I and Onyeeman do} then it starts looking for the kernelname in the /boot directory, so kernel should = /kernelname. Onyeemans current grub config is actually looking for /boot/boot/kernelname. Is that correct?


Code:
ls -l /boot/ | grep boot
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root       1 Apr  9 16:29 boot -> .


Inside /boot there's a symlink called boot that sends you back to /boot.

So in other words:
/boot/boot/kernelname is /boot/kernelname

Hell, /boot/boot/boot/boot/boot/kernelname is the same as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK,
I am a little confused on the following link, it mentions that there is a "Sleep States" opion in kernel. However, I can't find that in my 2.6.17-r4 kernel.
Is everything correct there?

[EDIT]
Also, do I have to compile the drivers mentioned as "M" as "modules"
[/EDIT]

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:
OK,
I am a little confused on the following link, it mentions that there is a "Sleep States" opion in kernel. However, I can't find that in my 2.6.17-r4 kernel.
Is everything correct there?


That option probably only appears when you first select something else.

Though, according to that link, sleep states are highly experimental.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Noven
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Inside /boot there's a symlink called boot that sends you back to /boot.

So in other words:
/boot/boot/kernelname is /boot/kernelname

Hell, /boot/boot/boot/boot/boot/kernelname is the same as well.


Ha, and I removed that cause I thought I'd made it by doing something stupid 8O

As for X, running 7.1 is highly recommended. I've seen problems people have with the driver where the solution was "use 7.1". It's running very well and isn't a scary or flaky package.

The wireless works but *is* rather flaky. Theres a great thread on ipw3945 somewhere on this forum.
_________________
- Novensiles divi Flamen

>---- Miles Militis Fons ----<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Noven wrote:
Ha, and I removed that cause I thought I'd made it by doing something stupid 8O


A long time ago they put it in the stage tarballs because of the huge number of noobs who would see grub documented somewhere else as using /boot then complain that it didn't work.

So they decided to change the tarball to make that and change the docs to make our's look similar to those for other distros.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

slycordinator wrote:

I know that with gentoo if you at least want the xorg driver then you should:
1) Put VIDEO_CARDS="i810" in make.conf
2) Unmask xorg-x11-7.1 (and the dependencies that still need unmasking) by doing
Code:
echo "=x11-base/xorg-x11-7.1 ~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords

Obviously repeat that for each of the dependencies you find.
3) do "emerge xorg-x11 --update --deep --newuse"


Ok,
I am now ready to install X Server. I will do the Wireless Setup later, or maybe even never... :)
I have a question about number 2. If I understand it corectly, than I need to unmask the X-7.1, then try to run "emerge" command and unmask every single package it will try to merge? Or am I missing something?
Also, at what stage I will have to merge the video driver? I am thinking after the X will be installed...

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Noven
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you'll need to unmask every package which it tells you it needs as a dependency. Or the easy / brave way is to just put ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" in your make.conf ;) The video card driver will be emerged as part of xorg-x11.

And do the wireless. It's easy enough to get the driver working, and some people report it works fine. I have flaky connection issues, and I'm definitely not alone, but that problem will evaporate with time.
_________________
- Novensiles divi Flamen

>---- Miles Militis Fons ----<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:
Ok,
I am now ready to install X Server. I will do the Wireless Setup later, or maybe even never... :)
I have a question about number 2. If I understand it corectly, than I need to unmask the X-7.1, then try to run "emerge" command and unmask every single package it will try to merge? Or am I missing something?
Also, at what stage I will have to merge the video driver? I am thinking after the X will be installed...

Thank you.


You specify the video cards with:
VIDEO_CARDS="your_video_card"
in make.conf

And you specify which input devices you want with:
INPUT_DEVICES="your input devices"
in the same file.

Then you do "emerge xorg-x11" and it'll install only the device drivers and video card drivers you specified.

Also, if you use INPUT_DEVICES and VIDEO_CARDS then it reduces the amount of crap you have to unmask (since the others no longer are dependencies).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

slycordinator,
I put this line in the "package.keywords" file, but it gives me following:

Code:

!!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "xorg-x11-7.1" have been masked.


It does not gioe a list of all masked packages, as I expected. What should I do? Where do I find such a list?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:
slycordinator,
I put this line in the "package.keywords" file, but it gives me following:

Code:

!!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "xorg-x11-7.1" have been masked.


It does not gioe a list of all masked packages, as I expected. What should I do? Where do I find such a list?

Thank you.


The line should've been:
"=x11-base/xorg-x11-7.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, that the line.
Sorry for the typo.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Noven,
I did a litle research, and found that for my wireless card, which is Dell Wireless 1390 802.11, the driver should be "Intel/PRO Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection". I found this link, when did further searching.
As far as I am concern, all I need to do is follow the "Requirements" part of this link. Am I right in this assumption?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Piece of advice:
When you have a question first use the search function to see if it's answered already.

There's a thread specifically on those wireless drivers.

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-434817-highlight-3945.html

And also look if it's IN PORTAGE. "emerge ipw3945"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

slycordinator,
I already saw this thread. And I already followed thru.
However, since I am working on the Gentoo install and the driver is "IN PORTAGE", I have to ask what instruction I should follow. Mostly people there talk about version 0.7.1, and on the Intel site there is a 1.0.0 version of the driver, with the instruction of how to properly install the driver.

And what about x-7.1. Does this mean I have to go to the ebuild and check the dependancy for it? Is there any other way?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm back with the following:
After some reading and thinking I decided to use the framebuffer on this laptop. Now, what I did was following:
In my krnel (2.6.17-r4 gentoo-sources), I turned on this:

Devicedrivers -> Graphics Support
[*] Support for frame buffer device
[*] Enable firmware EDID
<*> Intel 810/815 support (EXPERIMENTAL)

Console display driver support
[*] Video mode selection support
[*] Framebuffer console support

In grub.conf I have:

kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.17-r4-gentoo-sources root=/dev/sda4 vidoe=o810fb:1280x800-32@60

However, this does not work.

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:
Hi,
I'm back with the following:
After some reading and thinking I decided to use the framebuffer on this laptop. Now, what I did was following:
In my krnel (2.6.17-r4 gentoo-sources), I turned on this:

Devicedrivers -> Graphics Support
[*] Support for frame buffer device
[*] Enable firmware EDID
<*> Intel 810/815 support (EXPERIMENTAL)

Console display driver support
[*] Video mode selection support
[*] Framebuffer console support

In grub.conf I have:

kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.17-r4-gentoo-sources root=/dev/sda4 vidoe=o810fb:1280x800-32@60

However, this does not work.

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you.


Well, assuming the above is IDENTICAL to your entry:
1) It's video not vidoe.
2) It's i810 not o810.
3) And I think you just put in video=i810 and not video=i810fb (like in grub you'd use video=vesafb but if you had the radeon driver you'd use video=radeon rather than video=radeonfb). I wish they were more consistent with this.

Also when you say "this does not work" what do you mean? Gotta be more specific.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

slycordinator wrote:

ONEEYEMAN wrote:

Hi,
I'm back with the following:
After some reading and thinking I decided to use the framebuffer on this laptop. Now, what I did was following:
In my krnel (2.6.17-r4 gentoo-sources), I turned on this:

Devicedrivers -> Graphics Support
[*] Support for frame buffer device
[*] Enable firmware EDID
<*> Intel 810/815 support (EXPERIMENTAL)

Console display driver support
[*] Video mode selection support
[*] Framebuffer console support

In grub.conf I have:

kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.17-r4-gentoo-sources root=/dev/sda4 vidoe=o810fb:1280x800-32@60

However, this does not work.

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you.


Well, assuming the above is IDENTICAL to your entry:
1) It's video not vidoe.
2) It's i810 not o810.
3) And I think you just put in video=i810 and not video=i810fb (like in grub you'd use video=vesafb but if you had the radeon driver you'd use video=radeon rather than video=radeonfb). I wish they were more consistent with this.

Also when you say "this does not work" what do you mean? Gotta be more specific.


Unfortunaely, (or fortunately :)), it's not.
1. Yes, it is "video".
2. Yes, it is "i810fb"
3. I put the "i810fb" in there, since the "menuconfig" was talking about the "i810fb". Also, it is compiled in the kernel. Maybe I need to compile it as a module? I did try to put "i810" without "-fb", but with no difference.

"Doesn't work" means that the resolution is still standard text with the 24 lines. And when I run the "make menuconfig", it does not fit in one screen. I have to scroll.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3612

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I even tried the following line:

Code:

kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.17-r4-gentoo-sources root=/dev/sda4 video=i810[fb]:xres1280,yres:800,bpp:32,accel,mtrr


with and wihout fb.
No success :(
Maybe it's working only when compiled as a module?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum