View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mtascii Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Jan 2006 Posts: 87
|
Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:21 pm Post subject: [Solved] How do i tunnel my browser via ssh |
|
|
Hello
i was wondering if it is possible to tunnel my browser via ssh.
i have a root server and want so surf over it.
and is it possible to implement an exeption somehow?
for the local network.
Last edited by mtascii on Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:40 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jk3us Apprentice
Joined: 14 Mar 2005 Posts: 201 Location: Memphis, TN
|
Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ssh to the remote host specifying a "Gateway" port, this creates a secure Socks4 interface to the other end of the ssh connection.
Code: | ssh -D 9999 remote.host |
And tell your browser to use a socks4 proxy of localhost:9999. For firefox, this is in edit -> preferences -> General -> Connection Settings. You can specify exceptions to the proxy there. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mtascii Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Jan 2006 Posts: 87
|
Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thx |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gustafson Guru
Joined: 12 Aug 2004 Posts: 430
|
Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is there a way I can automatically set the firefox proxy via script or text file? When browsing over wireless, I want to go through my wired machine as proxy... but not otherwise. It is a drag to have to click around in firefox to set the proxy... it would be better if firefox would check the connection and set the proxy automatically.
Thanks, |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jk3us Apprentice
Joined: 14 Mar 2005 Posts: 201 Location: Memphis, TN
|
Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
gustafson wrote: | Is there a way I can automatically set the firefox proxy via script or text file? When browsing over wireless, I want to go through my wired machine as proxy... but not otherwise. It is a drag to have to click around in firefox to set the proxy... it would be better if firefox would check the connection and set the proxy automatically.
Thanks, |
Maybe this will do what you want: https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/125/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gustafson Guru
Joined: 12 Aug 2004 Posts: 430
|
Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 4:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|