View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Maedhros Bodhisattva
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 5511 Location: Durham, UK
|
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:35 pm Post subject: XGL (Part 6) |
|
|
Continued from XGL (Part 5). _________________ No-one's more important than the earthworm. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JerMe n00b
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 18
|
Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 4:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
My system is always on a glitz cairo upgrade downgrade. Anything I can do to alleviate this?
Code: | #emerge -uDNpvt world
These are the packages that would be merged, in reverse order:
Calculating world dependencies... done!
[ebuild U ] x11-wm/cgwd-0.55 [0.45] USE="-debug" 294 kB [1]
[nomerge ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-alsa-0.10.4
[nomerge ] gnome-base/nautilus-2.14.1 USE="X -beagle -debug -gnome"
[nomerge ] gnome-base/eel-2.14.1 USE="X -debug"
[nomerge ] gnome-base/gnome-menus-2.14.0 USE="-debug"
[nomerge ] dev-python/pygtk-2.8.6 USE="opengl -doc"
[nomerge ] dev-python/pycairo-1.0.2 USE="-gtk -numeric -svg"
[ebuild UD] x11-libs/cairo-1.0.4 [1.2.2] USE="X glitz png -doc" 0 kB
[ebuild UD] media-libs/glitz-0.4.4 [0.5.6] 0 kB |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
grimz n00b
Joined: 29 Jun 2006 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
JerMe, unfortunately the only way to find it is to go and emerge each package that emerge wants to update with emerge -vuD world with the -p flag, and see if that's the one causing it to pull in the older version of glitz and cairo, that's how I found mine anyway. The -t flag didn't help me because the program that was causing it happened to be a bit above the dependency it reported.
Also, is anybody else getting a compile error with the latest compiz-quinnstorm CVS? -quinn32 I believe it is. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JerMe n00b
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 18
|
Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 9:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Right now it's gst-plugins-alsa, which in turn depends upon a slew of gnome-base packages and python packages... which want to use the older cairo and glitz. I have a feeling that I'm going to tear half my system apart hunting down everything that depends on the older glitz and cairo. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grimz n00b
Joined: 29 Jun 2006 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 9:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
ah ok, well if it's reporting the right dependency for you, the way I solved it was by unmasking that particular package. Then the newest version should use the latest glitz. Have you tried that by any chance? Just keep unmasking them until you have all of the ones pulling in the old glitz and cairo, haha. Wish I knew exactly which ones I unmasked, and I could've given you the list. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JerMe n00b
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 18
|
Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 9:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | [nomerge ] dev-python/pycairo-1.0.2 USE="-gtk -numeric -svg"
[ebuild UD] x11-libs/cairo-1.0.4 [1.2.2] USE="X glitz png -doc" 0 kB
[ebuild UD] media-libs/glitz-0.4.4 [0.5.6] 0 kB |
It was pycairo-1.0.2 that wanted to pull in the older cairo and glitz packages. I unmasked pycairo, installed pycairo-1.2.0, and all is well (hopefully). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
xanas3712 Guru
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 455
|
Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Rather than unmasking everything hoping you get the right one, mask the package in question to prevent downgrading. Then emerge -pu world and it will tell you which package needed the older version, so you know specifically what to unmask. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Phlogiston Veteran
Joined: 27 Jan 2004 Posts: 1925 Location: Europe, Swizerland
|
Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 3:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What about the install script? Why is it renamed in the overlay to install.sh.OLD? Is it deprecated, whats the correct way to update my XGL stuff? _________________ Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JerMe n00b
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 18
|
Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 4:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
xanas3712 wrote: | Rather than unmasking everything hoping you get the right one, mask the package in question to prevent downgrading. Then emerge -pu world and it will tell you which package needed the older version, so you know specifically what to unmask. |
That's sort of what I did. I ran a few equery depends then masked pycairo to see what that would do. To make sure, I searched for "pycairo" on the forums, and sure enough I saw that a handful of other people were having the same problem I was. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Toad King n00b
Joined: 09 Jun 2006 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've had this problem ever since I started using XGL.
Whenever I run any program that uses GLX (Example: glxgears), the X server crashes. glxinfo says that everything is running fine, but this happens every time.
Here's glxinfo's output if needed:
Code: | name of display: :1.0
display: :1 screen: 0
direct rendering: No
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap, GLX_OML_swap_method,
GLX_SGI_make_current_read, GLX_SGIS_multisample, GLX_SGIX_hyperpipe,
GLX_SGIX_swap_barrier, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig
client glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
client glx version string: 1.4
client glx extensions:
GLX_ARB_get_proc_address, GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info,
GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_SGI_video_sync,
GLX_NV_swap_group, GLX_NV_video_out, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_SGIX_pbuffer,
GLX_SGI_swap_control, GLX_NV_float_buffer, GLX_ARB_fbconfig_float
GLX version: 1.2
GLX extensions:
GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_ARB_get_proc_address
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 6600/PCI/SSE/3DNOW!
OpenGL version string: 1.2 (2.0.2 NVIDIA 87.62)
OpenGL extensions:
GL_ARB_depth_texture, GL_ARB_imaging, GL_ARB_multitexture,
GL_ARB_point_parameters, GL_ARB_point_sprite, GL_ARB_shadow,
GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp, GL_ARB_texture_cube_map,
GL_ARB_texture_env_add, GL_ARB_texture_env_combine,
GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3, GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat,
GL_ARB_window_pos, GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two, GL_ARB_vertex_program,
GL_ARB_fragment_program, GL_EXT_abgr, GL_EXT_bgra, GL_EXT_blend_color,
GL_EXT_blend_func_separate, GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_EXT_blend_subtract,
GL_EXT_draw_range_elements, GL_EXT_fog_coord, GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays,
GL_EXT_packed_pixels, GL_EXT_rescale_normal, GL_EXT_secondary_color,
GL_EXT_separate_specular_color, GL_EXT_shadow_funcs, GL_EXT_stencil_wrap,
GL_EXT_texture3D, GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp, GL_EXT_texture_env_add,
GL_EXT_texture_env_combine, GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3, GL_EXT_texture_lod,
GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias, GL_EXT_texture_object, GL_EXT_vertex_array,
GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once, GL_HP_occlusion_test,
GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat, GL_NV_blend_square,
GL_NV_texgen_reflection, GL_NV_texture_rectangle,
GL_NV_texture_env_combine4, GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap, GL_SGIS_texture_lod,
GL_SGIX_depth_texture, GL_SGIX_shadow
glu version: 1.3
glu extensions:
GLU_EXT_nurbs_tessellator, GLU_EXT_object_space_tess
visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x2c 24 tc 0 32 0 r y . 8 8 8 8 0 24 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x2d 24 tc 0 32 0 r . . 8 8 8 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x2e 32 tc 0 32 0 r y . 8 8 8 8 0 24 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 Ncon
0x2f 32 tc 0 32 0 r . . 8 8 8 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Ncon |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
bosele Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 02 Apr 2005 Posts: 90
|
Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 9:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i have recently had some succes with a ati mobility m6, just one little thing remains.
half screen problem
the fix mentioned in howto xgl troubleshooting no longer works
Quote: | * patch and recompile compiz. In compiz source code (currently in file compiz/src/display.c) looking for
static void recalcNormalHints (CompWindow *window) {
...
maxSize = window->screen->maxTextureSize;
|
since this line no longer seems to be in the file mentioned. if i use 800x600 everything works well.
using:
media-libs/mesa-6.5.1_pre20060810
x11-wm/compiz-quinnstorm-0.0.13.31
open source radeon driver
does anyone know of another workaround? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stupidkid Apprentice
Joined: 17 Apr 2006 Posts: 247 Location: 127.0.0.1
|
Posted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 1:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Does anyone know how to get kiba-dock to use the icons I selected in Desktop -> Pref -> Themes instead of the default ones?
Thanks. _________________ How many people can read hex if you and dead people can read hex? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
solafidefarms n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2006 Posts: 69
|
Posted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 2:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Toad King wrote: | I've had this problem ever since I started using XGL.
Whenever I run any program that uses GLX (Example: glxgears), the X server crashes. glxinfo says that everything is running fine, but this happens every time.
Here's glxinfo's output if needed:
Code: | name of display: :1.0
display: :1 screen: 0
direct rendering: No
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap, GLX_OML_swap_method,
GLX_SGI_make_current_read, GLX_SGIS_multisample, GLX_SGIX_hyperpipe,
GLX_SGIX_swap_barrier, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig
client glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
client glx version string: 1.4
client glx extensions:
GLX_ARB_get_proc_address, GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info,
GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_SGI_video_sync,
GLX_NV_swap_group, GLX_NV_video_out, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_SGIX_pbuffer,
GLX_SGI_swap_control, GLX_NV_float_buffer, GLX_ARB_fbconfig_float
GLX version: 1.2
GLX extensions:
GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_ARB_get_proc_address
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 6600/PCI/SSE/3DNOW!
OpenGL version string: 1.2 (2.0.2 NVIDIA 87.62)
OpenGL extensions:
GL_ARB_depth_texture, GL_ARB_imaging, GL_ARB_multitexture,
GL_ARB_point_parameters, GL_ARB_point_sprite, GL_ARB_shadow,
GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp, GL_ARB_texture_cube_map,
GL_ARB_texture_env_add, GL_ARB_texture_env_combine,
GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3, GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat,
GL_ARB_window_pos, GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two, GL_ARB_vertex_program,
GL_ARB_fragment_program, GL_EXT_abgr, GL_EXT_bgra, GL_EXT_blend_color,
GL_EXT_blend_func_separate, GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_EXT_blend_subtract,
GL_EXT_draw_range_elements, GL_EXT_fog_coord, GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays,
GL_EXT_packed_pixels, GL_EXT_rescale_normal, GL_EXT_secondary_color,
GL_EXT_separate_specular_color, GL_EXT_shadow_funcs, GL_EXT_stencil_wrap,
GL_EXT_texture3D, GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp, GL_EXT_texture_env_add,
GL_EXT_texture_env_combine, GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3, GL_EXT_texture_lod,
GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias, GL_EXT_texture_object, GL_EXT_vertex_array,
GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once, GL_HP_occlusion_test,
GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat, GL_NV_blend_square,
GL_NV_texgen_reflection, GL_NV_texture_rectangle,
GL_NV_texture_env_combine4, GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap, GL_SGIS_texture_lod,
GL_SGIX_depth_texture, GL_SGIX_shadow
glu version: 1.3
glu extensions:
GLU_EXT_nurbs_tessellator, GLU_EXT_object_space_tess
visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x2c 24 tc 0 32 0 r y . 8 8 8 8 0 24 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x2d 24 tc 0 32 0 r . . 8 8 8 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x2e 32 tc 0 32 0 r y . 8 8 8 8 0 24 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 Ncon
0x2f 32 tc 0 32 0 r . . 8 8 8 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Ncon |
|
You don't get GLX visuals in Xgl. Thus things that rely on 3d glx crash Xgl. For instance, googleearth crashes my Xgl. The cure is to run the program in an Xnest :d. _________________ Ephesians 2:8-9: For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God, not of works, lest any man should boast.
Death to Brobdingnagian expressions! On with pulchritude! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
xanonymx n00b
Joined: 20 Aug 2006 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello.
Well,something wrong with my xgl,i just try to run it,but nothing happens.No messages,nothing.
maybe problem is already solved,but i even don't know what kind of problem it is,so can't use search.
i'm using latest ebuilds with nvidia card.
Help me |
|
Back to top |
|
|
KaiNeR Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 100
|
Posted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 3:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've just tried to emerge XGL (again) and now recieving this error output
i386-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../hw/xfree86/os-support -I../../hw/xfree86/os-support/bus -I../../hw/xfree86/common -I../../hw/xfree86/dri -I../../mi -I/var/tmp/portage/xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1/work/Mesa/include -DHAVE_DIX_CONFIG_H -I/usr/include/drm -I/usr/include/X11/dri -I/var/tmp/portage/xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1/work/Mesa/src/mesa/glapi -I/var/tmp/portage/xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1/work/Mesa/src/mesa/main -DXGLServer -DNO_LIBCWRAPPER -DUSE_MGL_NAMESPACE -D_BSD_SOURCE -DHAS_FCHOWN -DHAS_STICKY_DIR_BIT -I../../include -I../../include -I../../Xext -I../../composite -I../../damageext -I../../xfixes -I../../Xi -I../../mi -I../../miext/shadow -I../../miext/damage -I../../render -I../../randr -I../../fb -O2 -mtune=pentium4 -pipe -MT glxcmds.lo -MD -MP -MF .deps/glxcmds.Tpo -c glxcmds.c -fPIC -DPIC -o .libs/glxcmds.o
i386-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../hw/xfree86/os-support -I../../hw/xfree86/os-support/bus -I../../hw/xfree86/common -I../../hw/xfree86/dri -I../../mi -I/var/tmp/portage/xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1/work/Mesa/include -DHAVE_DIX_CONFIG_H -I/usr/include/drm -I/usr/include/X11/dri -I/var/tmp/portage/xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1/work/Mesa/src/mesa/glapi -I/var/tmp/portage/xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1/work/Mesa/src/mesa/main -DXGLServer -DNO_LIBCWRAPPER -DUSE_MGL_NAMESPACE -D_BSD_SOURCE -DHAS_FCHOWN -DHAS_STICKY_DIR_BIT -I../../include -I../../include -I../../Xext -I../../composite -I../../damageext -I../../xfixes -I../../Xi -I../../mi -I../../miext/shadow -I../../miext/damage -I../../render -I../../randr -I../../fb -O2 -mtune=pentium4 -pipe -MT glxcmdsswap.lo -MD -MP -MF .deps/glxcmdsswap.Tpo -c glxcmdsswap.c -fPIC -DPIC -o .libs/glxcmdsswap.o
glxcmds.c: In function `DoGetFBConfigs':
glxcmds.c:1175: error: `GLX_SWAP_METHOD_OML' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1175: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
glxcmds.c:1175: error: for each function it appears in.)
glxcmds.c: In function `__glXBindTexImageEXT':
glxcmds.c:1604: error: `GLX_FRONT_LEFT_EXT' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c: In function `DoGetDrawableAttributes':
glxcmds.c:1683: error: `GLX_TEXTURE_TARGET_EXT' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1684: error: `GLX_TEXTURE_RECTANGLE_EXT' undeclared (first use in this function)
make[2]: *** [glxcmds.lo] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1/work/xgl/GL/glx'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1/work/xgl/GL'
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
!!! ERROR: x11-base/xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1 failed.
Call stack:
ebuild.sh, line 1539: Called dyn_compile
ebuild.sh, line 939: Called src_compile
ebuild.sh, line 1248: Called x-modular_src_compile
x-modular.eclass, line 330: Called x-modular_src_make
x-modular.eclass, line 325: Called die
!!! emake failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
!!! This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/portage/local/layman/portage-xgl'
anyone any clues on what to do next ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Archangel1 Veteran
Joined: 21 Apr 2004 Posts: 1212 Location: Work
|
Posted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 8:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
stupidkid wrote: | Does anyone know how to get kiba-dock to use the icons I selected in Desktop -> Pref -> Themes instead of the default ones?
Thanks. |
It uses .desktop files which AFAIK just have a pointer to an icon, they don't do anything smart like that. You could modify them manually of course. _________________ What are you, stupid? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
SDNick484 Apprentice
Joined: 05 Dec 2005 Posts: 231
|
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
I just updated to the latest Xgl & compiz-quinnstorm (last time I updated was a few weeks ago), and noticed some minor changes which I don't particularly care for and was wondering if someone knows a way to turn them off. In particular, I noticed Shift+Backspace kill Xgl (it behaves like I just pressed Ctrl-Alt-Backspave), is there any way to disable this? Also I noticed the cube plugin has changed slightly, it now zooms out before rotating; is there a way to stop this as well? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grimz n00b
Joined: 29 Jun 2006 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
SDNick, what versions are you running? type cgwd --version and compiz --version at the console. I believe the Shift+Backspace thing was actually a bug, and it was fixed in later versions. It certainly isn't happening on mine (cgwd-0.59 and compiz 0.0.13-quinn34).
As for the zoom out/in effect when the cube rotates, you can change that in gconf-editor: Apps -> Compiz -> Plugins -> Rotate -> Screen0 -> Zoom. Set this Zoom value (right down the very bottom) to 0.
EDIT: Also, I found this solution: xmodmap -e "keycode 22 = BackSpace" Chuck this somewhere in a startup script, and you should be set to go. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
SlaYMode n00b
Joined: 08 May 2006 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:06 pm Post subject: Help!!! |
|
|
This is the normal status of Xgl on my computer:
root 6835 8.2 32.6 1240240 334828 ? SL Aug20 137:34 /usr/bin/Xgl :1
It's wasting an HUGE amount of memory: 1.2GB are too much. Running a few other apps (like firefox and amule) causes my RAM to get 80% full (800MB / 1GB total), and the Swap partition also (100% full, 1GB).
The graphic effects in compiz are _very_ slow. It also happens that some applications are killed because of the system running out of memory.
Is it a bug? I'm running xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1 with compiz-quinnstorm.
My hardware is: AMD Turion MT-32 (x86_64), 1 GB of RAM, GeForce 6200 GO 256MB turbocache
I'm running kernel 2.6.17
Thanks for help! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Toad King n00b
Joined: 09 Jun 2006 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
solafidefarms wrote: | Toad King wrote: | I've had this problem ever since I started using XGL.
Whenever I run any program that uses GLX (Example: glxgears), the X server crashes. glxinfo says that everything is running fine, but this happens every time.
Here's glxinfo's output if needed:
Code: | name of display: :1.0
display: :1 screen: 0
direct rendering: No
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap, GLX_OML_swap_method,
GLX_SGI_make_current_read, GLX_SGIS_multisample, GLX_SGIX_hyperpipe,
GLX_SGIX_swap_barrier, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig
client glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
client glx version string: 1.4
client glx extensions:
GLX_ARB_get_proc_address, GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info,
GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_SGI_video_sync,
GLX_NV_swap_group, GLX_NV_video_out, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_SGIX_pbuffer,
GLX_SGI_swap_control, GLX_NV_float_buffer, GLX_ARB_fbconfig_float
GLX version: 1.2
GLX extensions:
GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_ARB_get_proc_address
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 6600/PCI/SSE/3DNOW!
OpenGL version string: 1.2 (2.0.2 NVIDIA 87.62)
OpenGL extensions:
GL_ARB_depth_texture, GL_ARB_imaging, GL_ARB_multitexture,
GL_ARB_point_parameters, GL_ARB_point_sprite, GL_ARB_shadow,
GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp, GL_ARB_texture_cube_map,
GL_ARB_texture_env_add, GL_ARB_texture_env_combine,
GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3, GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat,
GL_ARB_window_pos, GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two, GL_ARB_vertex_program,
GL_ARB_fragment_program, GL_EXT_abgr, GL_EXT_bgra, GL_EXT_blend_color,
GL_EXT_blend_func_separate, GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_EXT_blend_subtract,
GL_EXT_draw_range_elements, GL_EXT_fog_coord, GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays,
GL_EXT_packed_pixels, GL_EXT_rescale_normal, GL_EXT_secondary_color,
GL_EXT_separate_specular_color, GL_EXT_shadow_funcs, GL_EXT_stencil_wrap,
GL_EXT_texture3D, GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp, GL_EXT_texture_env_add,
GL_EXT_texture_env_combine, GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3, GL_EXT_texture_lod,
GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias, GL_EXT_texture_object, GL_EXT_vertex_array,
GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once, GL_HP_occlusion_test,
GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat, GL_NV_blend_square,
GL_NV_texgen_reflection, GL_NV_texture_rectangle,
GL_NV_texture_env_combine4, GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap, GL_SGIS_texture_lod,
GL_SGIX_depth_texture, GL_SGIX_shadow
glu version: 1.3
glu extensions:
GLU_EXT_nurbs_tessellator, GLU_EXT_object_space_tess
visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x2c 24 tc 0 32 0 r y . 8 8 8 8 0 24 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x2d 24 tc 0 32 0 r . . 8 8 8 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x2e 32 tc 0 32 0 r y . 8 8 8 8 0 24 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 Ncon
0x2f 32 tc 0 32 0 r . . 8 8 8 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Ncon |
|
You don't get GLX visuals in Xgl. Thus things that rely on 3d glx crash Xgl. For instance, googleearth crashes my Xgl. The cure is to run the program in an Xnest :d. |
Thank you, but then how do people get those openGL screensavers as desktop wallpapers? They also crash my X server. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stupidkid Apprentice
Joined: 17 Apr 2006 Posts: 247 Location: 127.0.0.1
|
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 8:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
glxgears runs fine on my XGL. _________________ How many people can read hex if you and dead people can read hex? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Danuvius Guru
Joined: 18 Sep 2004 Posts: 375 Location: Toronto
|
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 8:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am having 2 problems...
1) OpenOffice inexplicably opens up in the second viewport. (2nd face of the cube.) It does so every time... without any concern that the second viewport is never the active one.
Any help with this would be appreciated.
2) I am having some problems getting dual-head working the way I want it...
I will not polute this thread... but if you think you might be able to help, please take pity on me here:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-3525917.html#3525917 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stupidkid Apprentice
Joined: 17 Apr 2006 Posts: 247 Location: 127.0.0.1
|
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | 1) OpenOffice inexplicably opens up in the second viewport. (2nd face of the cube.) It does so every time... without any concern that the second viewport is never the active one. |
Did you add it to /apps/compiz/plugins/state/screen0/options/viewport? _________________ How many people can read hex if you and dead people can read hex? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Danuvius Guru
Joined: 18 Sep 2004 Posts: 375 Location: Toronto
|
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
stupidkid wrote: | Quote: | 1) OpenOffice inexplicably opens up in the second viewport. (2nd face of the cube.) It does so every time... without any concern that the second viewport is never the active one. |
Did you add it to /apps/compiz/plugins/state/screen0/options/viewport? |
I was wrong.
It actually opens in Viewport 1, but only a thin thin line of it (less than 1%) is actually on viewport 1... all the rest hangs onto Viewport 2.
Is this something in KDE remembering where it was when it was shutdown for the first time? How could I change this? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jupiter1TX Guru
Joined: 24 Feb 2006 Posts: 546 Location: 3rd Rock
|
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 10:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Danuvius wrote: | stupidkid wrote: | Quote: | 1) OpenOffice inexplicably opens up in the second viewport. (2nd face of the cube.) It does so every time... without any concern that the second viewport is never the active one. |
Did you add it to /apps/compiz/plugins/state/screen0/options/viewport? |
I was wrong.
It actually opens in Viewport 1, but only a thin thin line of it (less than 1%) is actually on viewport 1... all the rest hangs onto Viewport 2.
Is this something in KDE remembering where it was when it was shutdown for the first time? How could I change this? |
Have you tried adjusting this setting and see if that helps
/apps/compiz/plugins/place/screen0/options/workarounds _________________ Core i7 920 D0 | Asus P6T DLX | Patriot Viper 1600 6GB | Antec Quattro 850W
Geforce 8800GTX OC2 768MB | Dell 22" LCD | Koolance Exos2/Swiftech GTZ
GCC 4.6.1 | 3.7.x-geek | Xorg-7.4-x | KDE-4.7.x | Compiz |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|