Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Newbie help with VNC
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CNLiberal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Location: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 5:47 pm    Post subject: Newbie help with VNC Reply with quote

I have been dabbling in Linux for several years now. I got started with Fedora Core 3 and MythTV. I recently discovered XGL and COMPIZ so I got a special "proof of concept" machine going with the specs listed below. I got XGL and Compiz working (and it's AWESOME) and now I want to try and get VNC working with my setup so I can fool around some more with bittorrent etc. My end goal is to be able to SSH into this machine from my work (which I can already do to another FC4 box at home) and get an X window. The one thing I want available is the physical screen that is sitting at home and not a virtual one (like my FC4 box). I followed the instructions here:

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Use_TightVNC_W/_JPEG_Compression_to_connect_to_existing_X_Sessions

The emerge seemed to be going well until it got to the actual:
12:33:16 (292.28 KB/s) - `/usr/portage/distfiles/X11R6.8.1-src2.tar.gz' saved [5808949/5808949]

I noticed that it was downloading the X11R6.8.1 source. I'm running XOrg 7.0r1 for Compiz. How do I get emerge to grab the correct source for my version of XOrg? Like I said, I'm a newbie, so please go slow and explain a little in depth. Thanks so much for a great community. It's been a huge help in getting XGL working on my machine.
_________________
2.6.17-gentoo-r4
P4 2.0GHz
256MB DDR266
30GB PATA
NVidia FX5200 256MB
XOrg7.0, GNOME, XGL w/Compix (w00t!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jekyll
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Newbie help with VNC Reply with quote

CNLiberal wrote:
I have been dabbling in Linux for several years now. I got started with Fedora Core 3 and MythTV. I recently discovered XGL and COMPIZ so I got a special "proof of concept" machine going with the specs listed below. I got XGL and Compiz working (and it's AWESOME) and now I want to try and get VNC working with my setup so I can fool around some more with bittorrent etc. My end goal is to be able to SSH into this machine from my work (which I can already do to another FC4 box at home) and get an X window. The one thing I want available is the physical screen that is sitting at home and not a virtual one (like my FC4 box). I followed the instructions here:

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Use_TightVNC_W/_JPEG_Compression_to_connect_to_existing_X_Sessions

The emerge seemed to be going well until it got to the actual:
12:33:16 (292.28 KB/s) - `/usr/portage/distfiles/X11R6.8.1-src2.tar.gz' saved [5808949/5808949]

I noticed that it was downloading the X11R6.8.1 source. I'm running XOrg 7.0r1 for Compiz. How do I get emerge to grab the correct source for my version of XOrg? Like I said, I'm a newbie, so please go slow and explain a little in depth. Thanks so much for a great community. It's been a huge help in getting XGL working on my machine.


It doesn't need to use your current Xorg version. It is using the 6.8.1 source to build the Xvnc and vnc.so programs. Once they are built, the 6.8.1 source and binaries are discarded.

If you want to build it using the latest source for xorg, that would involve using a portage overlay. You can see the thread here for some details.

-jekyll
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CNLiberal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Location: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I might be going about this in the wrong fashion. I want a way to view the physical display from a VNC viewer. This viewer will either be on the local LAN or SSH into the local machine and tunnel VNC through it. What should I do to make this work properly? My goal is to get rid of my WinBlowz system but I want to be able to view programs like Azureus from the physical display. I hope I'm making sense. Thanks!!
_________________
2.6.17-gentoo-r4
P4 2.0GHz
256MB DDR266
30GB PATA
NVidia FX5200 256MB
XOrg7.0, GNOME, XGL w/Compix (w00t!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jekyll
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CNLiberal wrote:
I might be going about this in the wrong fashion. I want a way to view the physical display from a VNC viewer. This viewer will either be on the local LAN or SSH into the local machine and tunnel VNC through it. What should I do to make this work properly? My goal is to get rid of my WinBlowz system but I want to be able to view programs like Azureus from the physical display. I hope I'm making sense. Thanks!!

All you need is:
Code:
echo "net-misc/vnc server" >> /etc/portage/package.use
emerge vnc

Then edit the xorg.conf file and add the password options, etc. The link that you quoted in your first message contained the information you need to get it working. My xorg.conf file contains the info: In the "Module" section, there is the option 'Load "vnc"':
Code:
Section "Module"
     Load "vnc"
     Load "freetype"
     Load "type1"
EndSection

In the Section "Screen" there is the options:
Code:
Section "Screen"
        Option "SecurityTypes" "VncAuth"
        Option "UserPasswdVerifier" "VncAuth"
        Option "PasswordFile" "/root/.vnc/passwd"
EndSection

Make sure the PasswordFile option contains a path to a passwd file. In my case, it defaults to the vnc password set for root. Restart your x-server (Ctrl-Backspace or /etc/init.d/xdm restart). The vnc module should load automatically, and vncviewer can access the console screen :0 from vncviewer command.

If I'm misunderstanding your problem, then please explain more fully.

-jekyll
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CNLiberal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Location: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So how would I access the actual physical screen from both SSH externally and from my local LAN without SSH? I have rebooted the machine and this is what is contained in Xorg.94.log

(II) LoadModule: "vnc"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/vnc.so
(II) Module vnc: vendor="RealVNC Ltd"
compiled for 4.3.99.902, module version = 1.0.0
Module class: X.Org Server Extension
ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.2
(II) Loading extension VNC

...

(II) LoadModule: "type1"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/fonts/libtype1.so
(II) Module type1: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 7.0.0, module version = 1.0.2
Module class: X.Org Font Renderer
ABI class: X.Org Font Renderer, version 0.4
(II) Loading font Type1
(II) LoadModule: "freetype"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/fonts/libfreetype.so
(II) Module freetype: vendor="X.Org Foundation & the After X-TT Project"
compiled for 7.0.0, module version = 2.1.0
Module class: X.Org Font Renderer
ABI class: X.Org Font Renderer, version 0.4
(II) Loading font FreeType


It looks like the modules loaded correctly. But I still can't get a VNC connection from my Windows box at home. I have tried

addy:0
addy:5900
addy:1
addy:5901

I believe I have followed the wiki instructions precisely. I have my ~/.vnc folder and passwd file in it. What else can I check? Can I enable a log for VNC?
_________________
2.6.17-gentoo-r4
P4 2.0GHz
256MB DDR266
30GB PATA
NVidia FX5200 256MB
XOrg7.0, GNOME, XGL w/Compix (w00t!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jekyll
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CNLiberal wrote:
So how would I access the actual physical screen from both SSH externally and from my local LAN without SSH? I have rebooted the machine and this is what is contained in Xorg.94.log

(II) LoadModule: "vnc"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/vnc.so
(II) Module vnc: vendor="RealVNC Ltd"
compiled for 4.3.99.902, module version = 1.0.0
Module class: X.Org Server Extension
ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.2
(II) Loading extension VNC

It looks like the modules loaded correctly. But I still can't get a VNC connection from my Windows box at home. I have tried

addy:0
addy:5900
addy:1
addy:5901

I believe I have followed the wiki instructions precisely. I have my ~/.vnc folder and passwd file in it. What else can I check? Can I enable a log for VNC?


If the module is loaded correctly, then there is firewall issues. I have found that the FAQ at http://faq.gotomyvnc.com/ has helped me quite a bit when resolving issues with vnc.

Your error report seems to indicate that the vnc module has loaded correctly. Do you have nmap installed on your Gentoo or FC4 box? You can try to see if the vnc port is open by using nmap $ipaddress, where $ipaddress is the external ip address of the WAN.

To use ssh with vnc, you need to set up a port forward. The command I use is:
Code:
ssh -L 8342:localhost:5900 $ipaddress

I would then connect to the vnc server at home using the vncviewer command and specify "[/url]localhost:8342" as the host to connect to.

You need to explain to me the "addy:5900" lines. I'm not sure about it.

-jekyll
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nly00471
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Breda / Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:19 am    Post subject: module load error Reply with quote

Hello I'm also a newbie to vnc.

But my module doesn't load I'm getting this
Code:

localhost ~ # grep vnc /var/log/Xorg.0.log
(II) LoadModule: "vnc"
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules//vnc.so
dlopen: /usr/lib64/xorg/modules//vnc.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
(EE) Failed to load /usr/lib64/xorg/modules//vnc.so
(II) UnloadModule: "vnc"
(EE) Failed to load module "vnc" (loader failed, 7)
localhost ~ #


but when I type "vncserver" it starts, is there something wrong and how can I fix it?
_________________
Tyan S2885ANRF, 2x opetron242, 2x 2x512MB (2GB total), Gainward 6800, 2x WD Raptor 36GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum