installing on a Gateway computer, "no bootable device"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tvar
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 1:00 am    Post subject: installing on a Gateway computer, "no bootable device&q Reply with quote

I'm trying to install Gentoo on a Gateway 7200XL I have. It's a Pentium 4 system with a gig of ram. I've installed Gentoo successfully before on a system I built, so I've got some experience doing this. However, I can't get it to work on this darn machine.

I'm using the minimalist disc, and have gone through the entire installation process outlined in the manual. I am using (or trying to use, I should say) Grub. Grub says that it installed successfully on my MBR, but when I restart I get "No bootable device" error.

Anyone have any idea why this might be happening? I know my description is kind of vague, but the entire installation process went without a hitch so I'm pretty much clueless here. Is there something built in to Gateways that would prevent me from installing Linux? Or is there some way I can inspect my MBR and make sure it's actually being written (or that I have write permissions)? Should I use fdisk to re-format my MBR (I haven't done that in a long time, I'd have to figure out how to do that again)? Would there be any point in trying LILO instead? Any other ideas?

Thanks!
jmbsvicetto

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Please boot with your live-cd and post the output of fdisk -l and the contents of /etc/fstab and /boot/grub/grub.conf.
As a first thought, I would confirm if you have set the boot flag on any partition of the disk. Did you install GRUB into the MBR of the first disk?

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran