View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
irasnyd Apprentice
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 286 Location: Placentia, CA
|
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 6:35 am Post subject: Setting Framebuffer refresh rate |
|
|
Right now my framebuffer is working, but I'd like to be able to set the refresh rate to 75Hz, instead of the 60Hz it's running it.
Thanks,
irasnyd |
|
Back to top |
|
|
M.A. Apprentice
Joined: 21 Mar 2003 Posts: 168 Location: /home/España/Valencia
|
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 9:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Play with fbset until you get what you want (man fbset).
See http://en.tldp.org/HOWTO/Framebuffer-HOWTO-18.html
In my 19" monitor I have 1280x1024 at 81 Hz using these settings:
Code: |
fbset -pixclock 6000 -left 370 -right 0 -hslen 100 -upper 120 -lower 0 -vslen 30 -xres 1280 -vxres 1280 -yres 1024 -vyres 1024
|
Hope this helps. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
allucid Veteran
Joined: 02 Nov 2002 Posts: 1314 Location: atlanta
|
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 2:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
what fb driver are you using? (i.e. does this work with vesa? radeonfb? etc.) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
irasnyd Apprentice
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 286 Location: Placentia, CA
|
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 5:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I found out the values I needed (according to that guide).
Code: |
pixclock=12714
left_margin=128
right_margin=32
upper_margin=16
lower_margin=4
hsync_len=128
vsync_len=4
|
I have tried setting these with fbset, and they do take effect, but there is no difference. My display is still at 60Hz then. I'm not really sure what I need to change to make my refresh rate higher.
irasnyd
PS - I'm using the vesa framebuffer, but I have a Radeon9700 Pro. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
peterk0 Apprentice
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 188 Location: Prague
|
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 7:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I would also like to know how to set refresh rate especially with vesa, cause it seem that with other fb drivers it is as simple as
Code: | video=<driver>fb:<resolution>-<refresh rate> |
in grub.conf ...
but does it work with vesafb? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
allucid Veteran
Joined: 02 Nov 2002 Posts: 1314 Location: atlanta
|
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 11:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i think i read in the kernel documentation that vesafb is only capable of displaying at 60hz. when i tried radeonfb i could not get it to change refresh rates through my grub.conf either. as far as i can tell, all the fb drivers just ignore the refresh rate specified in your grub.conf. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
peterk0 Apprentice
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 188 Location: Prague
|
Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2003 6:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, that thing about 60hz... not true
I got 75hz at 800x600, but only 60hz at 1024x768...
I need 85hz at 1024x768, i'm sure it's possible, but maybe not with Vesa
(My monitor is capable ofcourse... ) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|