Sugs 4 'network portgage masking' was 'architecture' flag
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dufeu
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:00 pm    Post subject: Sugs 4 'network portgage masking' was 'architecture' flag Reply with quote

Yeah I know. You read the subject and think to yourself "What! Is he nut's?"

Yep. And since I'm not a programmer, I'm free to make Joe 6-pack type suggestions. :-)

I've started trying Gentoo in late 2001. In 2002, I finally made the plunge and converted nearly all my PCs to run Gentoo. Over this time, I've noticed two kinds of cruftiness. The first, which I don't really care about that much are inadvertent left over files. The second has become nearer and dearer to my heart and is the focus of my way out there and wild suggestion.

Like many Gentoo users, I'm set to run the bleeding edge of the architectures I have on my network. These are ~x86 and ~amd64. This is great because I get to play with all the latest user packages as they get updated.

The problem, which grows progressively worse over time, is the cumlative effects caused by tool chain upgrades. I call this problem toolchain cruftiness. Basically, different packages with interdependencies are build against slightly different versions of gcc, glibc, binutils and related. These user packages with inter-dependencies end up being sublty out of whack.

So what are these effects?

Well, new packages won't compile for reasons unknow. Other packages stop working even though they appear to compile fine. Stability is threatened.

On one of my main PCs, kmail stopped opening. konqueror stopped opening. Several packages refused to compile. Firefox would have all it's processes die simultaneously at random times. Definitely weird stuff.