View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
quentin.fr n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1848369993468ca9265c285.jpg)
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 47
|
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:31 am Post subject: Problem with wireless and ethernet: devices names not const |
|
|
I got some strange behaviour with names of the network devices. I mean, sometimes the wireless device is known as eth0 and sometimes as eth1. When it turns to be eth0, none of my wireless or ethernet works. I would like to know the configuration files to take a look at in order to solve this and if someone knows how it can happen, or knows a tutorial which explains the mounting of devices, let me know.
Thanks for the replies
Last edited by quentin.fr on Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:27 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
fusion1275 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 30 Oct 2005 Posts: 185
|
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Try going through:
/etc/conf.d/net
/etc/conf.d/wireless
And double check you haven't got any duplicates of NIC names that might be confusing the startup scripts. Are you using multi NIC's? Or just the one?
Cheers _________________ AMD XP 2600+
Mem: 1gb
Disk1: 60gb
Disk2: 250gb
Disk3: 250gb
Kernel: 2.6.19-r5
KDE: 3.5.5 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
quentin.fr n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1848369993468ca9265c285.jpg)
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 47
|
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the reply.
/etc/conf.d/net is an empty file /etc/conf.d/wireless is the default one. I only change the wireless device's name to what it should be: eth1.
Do you think it can be solved by using a simple rule with udev? I wonder if I can set a stupid rule such as "the first device to be mounted (eth0) is the one named "name of my ethernet card" which should ensure that wireless is set to eth1.
Any idea is welcome. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
fusion1275 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 30 Oct 2005 Posts: 185
|
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
So do you have a built in network card & a wireless card in your machine? Please let me know if you are using 2 cards.
If you are using 2 cards and you only want 1 to come up when booting you can remove it from the rc scripts using "rc-update del <NIC> default. And then you can also remove the adapter name from /etc/conf.d/net for example "rm net.eth1".
Cheers _________________ AMD XP 2600+
Mem: 1gb
Disk1: 60gb
Disk2: 250gb
Disk3: 250gb
Kernel: 2.6.19-r5
KDE: 3.5.5 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
quentin.fr n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1848369993468ca9265c285.jpg)
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 47
|
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
thanks for the replies.
My comp is a laptop and I have 2 built-in cards (ethernet card and wireless).
I would like that if the ethernet one is not able to get an ip (not connected) then the wireless card goes up and try to connect.
So, I'm not sure that it is a good idea (in my case) to boot with only 1 card since the computer don't know yet if ethernet is ok or not.
I'm interested in how to set such an udev rule. I should take a look at tutorials and how-to but if you can give me an example it would help me greatly. (not because I'm lazy but I'm noob, and until the time I can make it properly...) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
fusion1275 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 30 Oct 2005 Posts: 185
|
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Oh ok didnt know you were on a laptop. Well you will need to Use netplug or ifplugd to manage the wired interface and wpa_supplicant for the wireless. But wpa_supplicant can be a bit of a bitch so be prepared for some brain ache.
There is another posting with similar issues as you are having my friend "https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-495231-highlight-laptop.html". Maybe take a look.
Cheers _________________ AMD XP 2600+
Mem: 1gb
Disk1: 60gb
Disk2: 250gb
Disk3: 250gb
Kernel: 2.6.19-r5
KDE: 3.5.5 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
quentin.fr n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1848369993468ca9265c285.jpg)
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 47
|
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok thank you for all. I will take a look at it.
Have a nice day |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
quentin.fr n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1848369993468ca9265c285.jpg)
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 47
|
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Another problem to solve. I set this on 50-udev.rules in /etc/udev/rules.d
Code: |
KERNEL=="eth*", SYSFS{address}=="MAC ADDRESS", NAME="wlan"
KERNEL=="eth*", SYSFS{address}=="MAC ADDRESS", NAME="lan"
|
and I suppressed all the references to eth0 and eth1 (net.eth0,net.et1).
Wlan and lan are well recognised since when I type
Code: |
ifconfig wlan
ifconfig lan
|
I don't get any error.
I can even make a iwlist and get something looking (I mean usual stuff).
But these devices are no longer brought up while the system boot, and when i make lan up I'm not able to connect on the net anymore.
Any idea? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
PaulBredbury Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/15669254994381f44a81f83.jpg)
Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 7310
|
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
quentin.fr wrote: | I set this on 50-udev.rules |
Don't edit that file, because it will be overwritten when you update udev. Create your own file in that directory, named e.g. 10-local.rules or 91-local.rules (the filename is important because the rules files are processed in alphabetical order of filename). |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
quentin.fr n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1848369993468ca9265c285.jpg)
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 47
|
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks for the tip.
But, I tried to reboot once more and now when I up wlan and then make iwlist scanning
it says:
Code: |
wlan Interface doesn't support scanning : No such device....
|
but when I do
iwconfig wlan I get
Code: |
wlan IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:off/any Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
Mode:Managed Access Point: Invalid Bit Rate=1 Mb/s
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key: off
Link quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
bla bla bla
|
I get the same problem as before... I mean the wifi is working 1/3 of the times... The only difference is that the name of wifi is constant....
At this point, with this rules, I broke my cable and wireless........ Good... Well, if any idea of what is happening.... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|