Photo Management: digikam-kphotoalbum-f-spot and Versioning
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gustafson
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:15 pm    Post subject: Photo Management: digikam-kphotoalbum-f-spot and Versioning Reply with quote

Hi,

I hate to post yet another photo management software question but I'm just getting started in digital photography and want a good tool. After reading many forums and browsing many feature lists, I think I've settled on kphotoalbum or digikam, although f-spot has one feature that I like (versioning). However, I still have some questions.

Does anybody have experience with both, and if so, which is better? Which of these tools is better at embedding the tags into the actual files themselves? (Can this even be done in kphotoalbum?) Can either of these extract tags from the files and use them? This gets to the question of eventaully moving to different software if I need to do so, and or accepting pictures sent from other people.

Is there a recommended way of keeping versions of photos around. I saw that f-spot has something like this (it basically just keeps the original and creates a second file where the file name is appended with "modified". I'd like something a little more sophisticated than that (is more sophistication needed?). Ideally, I'd like to always have the original (perhaps eventually the raw file) of some photos stored somewhere, while doing all the cropping/recoloring I want. Also, I'd love to easily maintain working copies across the many machines I use.