Getting help on Wine
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
stefandoesinger
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:20 pm    Post subject: Getting help on Wine Reply with quote

Hello,

I am a Wine developer who works on Direct3D support for Wine, and I noticed that there are a lot of Wine-Related questions in this forum. One issue Wine and Wine users have is that the information about getting apps to run is spread over hundreds of places. So I kindly ask you to check the wine resources for informations on how to get apps to run. Basically:

* If it is solely a Gentoo problem like problems with the ebuild, ask the gentoo people

* Want to know if an application works, and how to get it to work? See appdb.winehq.com . If your application is not in there, add it! You can put your experiences and tricks to get an app running there

* Also check out wiki.winehq.com, it contains more general information

* Check out http://wiki.winehq.org/KnownIssues

* Found a bug in an app? File it at bugs.winehq.com. However we need GOOD bug reports which illustrate the problem as detailed as possible(Screenshots, Crash traces). Query for bugs to see if the problem has been reported already. If you have multiple broken apps, file one report per bug. If you file a bug "My 3 favorite games(X, Y and Z) do not work", no one will look at it. Do not expect a bug fix withhin days, all the developers are pretty busy, but if there is a bug in our bug tracker it won't get lost.

If you need more help:

* There is an end-user IRC channel #winehq, and a developer channel #winehackers on freenode. YOU REALLY WANT TO ASK AT #winehq for help on getting apps to run, if you do that in #winehackers you will be ignored, kicked or banned. Also note our channel rules in #winehq:
-> Check the appdb first.
-> If you have a question, ask it, do not ask "Can someone answer me a question"