View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
slak5 n00b
Joined: 27 Jul 2006 Posts: 41
|
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:09 am Post subject: connect: Network is unreachable [SOLVED] |
|
|
from client:
Code: | ssh 192.168.0.10
ssh: connect to host 192.168.0.10 port 22: Connection refused |
apache and everything else is also unreachable
from server:
Code: | ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:29:24:19:11
inet addr:192.168.0.10 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::201:29ff:fe24:1911/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1519 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:747 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:267224 (260.9 Kb) TX bytes:113874 (111.2 Kb)
Interrupt:16 Base address:0xa000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b) |
I installed 2006.1 and selected most of the server packages in the installer. At first the machine was able to send/recieve from inside the network, but now everything is down from me trying to fix it. What do I need to setup to get a static IP working? BTW everything was working in the livecd installer.
Last edited by slak5 on Sat Oct 14, 2006 1:29 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
feiticeir0 Apprentice
Joined: 13 Jul 2005 Posts: 288 Location: Castelo Branco, Portugal
|
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello.
have you checked your /etc/resolv.conf ?
that file provides information about your DNS servers and domain to search in.
this is a typical /etc/resolv.conf
Code: |
# Generated by dhcpcd for interface eth0
search domain.com
nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
|
you need to have that file...
since you have IP and in the livecd everything was working, it could be that.
please post your /etc/conf.d/net
about the ssh, from your post, you can reach that computer, but the sshd server is not working... (the refused connection)
cheers _________________ Do It With Rhythm |
|
Back to top |
|
|
slak5 n00b
Joined: 27 Jul 2006 Posts: 41
|
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 1:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think its the resolv.conf file because it only contains:
Code: | nameserver 192.168.0.1 |
in the livecd environment I used to have to copy it over with Code: | cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf |
I'm guessing the installer didn't do that for me, so how do I go about gathering this information? I believe I can get the nameservers, thats just dns primary and dns secondary correct? I'm kindof lost on what the search ... is about. my slackware /etc/resolv.conf looks the same but Its using dhcp on a different machine.
/etc/conf.d/net:
Code: | config_eth0=( "192.168.0.10" broadcast 192.168.0.266 netmask 255.255.255.0" ) |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
slak5 n00b
Joined: 27 Jul 2006 Posts: 41
|
Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 1:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
I finally fixed it, It ended up I didn't have a default gateway, but here is how I managed to find it:
check these files:
/etc/conf.d/hostname:
/etc/conf.d/hosts: Code: | 127.0.0.1 localhost
192.168.0.10 pain.home pain |
/etc/conf.d/net Code: | config_eth0=( "192.168.0.10 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
routes_eth0=( "default gw 192.168.0.1" ) |
/etc/conf.d/resolv.conf: Code: | search home
nameserver 192.168.0.1 |
The nameserver is my router but if you are connected directly its your ISP Primary and Secondary DNS IP addresses. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|