View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
clattuc n00b

Joined: 19 Apr 2002 Posts: 57
|
Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 3:12 pm Post subject: Apache dependency on networking |
|
|
Well, it's not quite as obvious as it sounds
My situation: running Gentoo (obILoveGentoo: I love gentoo) on my laptop, as often as not connected to a network.
When I'm not on a network, my eth0 doesn't come up (because it's configured to use DHCP). Fair enough.
Because of the (actually quite wonderful) dependencies in the init-scripts, none of the network-related stuff comes up either - now, that's fine when it's 'outbound' stuff like ntpd, nfs etc., but in the case of apache it makes less sense: it's perfectly reasonable to run apache as a local service (I use it for development)
I was wondering if it would be possible to change the dependency of apache to 'net.local', rather than 'networking in general, but actually only outbound', as is the case now.
CU,
Ediwn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tod Developer


Joined: 17 Apr 2002 Posts: 136 Location: Ozarks, USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aliipule n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Wed May 28, 2003 9:13 am Post subject: Running apache without eth0 |
|
|
This question was posted a while ago, but it was a question I had myself.
So I thought that other people might want a simple solution too.
I am also a web developer, and wanted to show clients their websites
without having to be connected to a network, and I'd hate to boot windows
just for that. I'll try to make this as simple as possible, and add some extra tips
as we go.
So first go to /etc/init.d -- this is like the windows start folder in the start menu.
Gentoo runs all the scripts in here at boot time.
Next open up a text file named apache, I'm gonna use nano
Look for:
depend() {
need net
use mysql dns logger netmount
}
Add a # sign in front of "need net", this comments everything on that line after #,
so that it will be ignored. So it should look like this:
depend() {
# need net
use mysql dns logger netmount
}
Hit 'ctrl+x' to exit, hit 'y' to save your changes, then 'enter' to write to the file
That should do it, when you boot up and don't want linux to take forever to
initialize your network card, press 'ctrl+c' to end that script...I think
that would work. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
k-dub n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2003 Posts: 67 Location: Frederick, CO
|
Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 3:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm having the same problem - not able to run Apache on a laptop when not connected. I changed the init script to comment out the dependency on net .... and Apache still tries to bring eth0 up.
Is anyone else still having this problem, or did I screw something up? Is it the dhcp configuration that's the root of the problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
foofoo n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2004 Posts: 29
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nixnut Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004 Posts: 10974 Location: the dutch mountains
|
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Moved from Gentoo Chat to Networking & Security.
Networking stuff, so moved here. _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|