View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
vitae Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 Posts: 134 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:24 pm Post subject: Gnome Mac Menubar |
|
|
I was waiting for a long time, that someone would code that piece of software.
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/40625220/
I was able to patch the gtk+, but I have some problems with the applet. Here is the discussion and some help.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=241868
My problem is, that I don`t know how to compile the .c file in Gentoo. Unfortunately there are no autogen or configure in the package. Do I have to use gcc as a standalone command?
thnx and have fun with it |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kuhndog86 Apprentice
Joined: 20 Jul 2004 Posts: 271 Location: Minnesota
|
Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 5:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
As far as I know, you need to use gcc as a standalone command. a simple will compile it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
nesl247 Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2004 Posts: 1614 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Please use the http://svn.gentoo-xeffects.org/xeffects overlay (if you already use it, sync up) and USE="macmenu" emerge gtk+ gnome-macmenu-applet
Last edited by nesl247 on Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:04 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
vitae Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 Posts: 134 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wow, that is great. thnx for your overlay. does anybody have problems with the switch user applet?
it doesn`t work anymore on my system. i is not shown on the panel. strange... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agnitio Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Apr 2004 Posts: 136
|
Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I can't seem to get this to work, the applet won't work it just crashes with the standard crashed applet error message asking me to remove it or keep it. Is there something more to it? I have compiled gtk+ with macmenu and even restarted X. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nesl247 Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2004 Posts: 1614 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm going to look into it as I get it too. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agnitio Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Apr 2004 Posts: 136
|
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have created an updated ebuild for gnome-macmenu-applet-1.0.10.ebuild
It adds gconf-2.0 to gcc --libs and inherits eutils to correctly use the "built_with_use" function.
UPDATE TO EBUILD!!!! (Added exeinto and doexe for gnome-macmenu-applet instead of instinto and doinst)
Code: |
# Copyright 1999-2006 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $
inherit eutils
DESCRIPTION="Gnome Macmenu Applet"
HOMEPAGE="http://aquila.deus.googlepages.com"
SRC_URI="http://distfiles.gentoo-xeffects.org/${PN}/${P}.tar.bz2"
RESTRICT="nomirror"
LICENSE="GPL-2"
SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="~x86 ~amd64"
IUSE=""
DEPEND=">=x11-libs/gtk+-2.8.20-r1
x11-libs/libwnck"
S="${WORKDIR}/${PN}"
pkg_setup() {
if ! built_with_use x11-libs/gtk+ macmenu ; then
echo
eerror "Please rebuild x11-libs/gtk+ with USE=\"macmenu\""
fi
}
src_compile() {
cd "${S}"
gcc -std=c99 -Wall -Werror -fno-strict-aliasing -DFOR_GNOME `pkg-config --cflags --libs gconf-2.0 libwnck-1.0 libpanelapplet-2.0` ${CFLAGS} ${LDFLAGS} -o gnome-macmenu-applet macmenu-applet.c || die "make failed"
}
src_install() {
exeinto /usr/libexec
doexe gnome-macmenu-applet
insinto /usr/lib/bonobo/servers
doins GNOME_MacMenuApplet.server
}
|
I also created an updated tarball to use with the ebuild. It can be found here.
http://www.lsn.se/agnitio/files/gnome-macmenu-applet-1.0.10.tar.bz2
I still can't get the applet to work though, it crashes instantly. But the ebuild should be fine for those of you who had it working before. Maybe the xeffects maintainer can add it to the overlay?
Last edited by agnitio on Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:17 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nesl247 Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2004 Posts: 1614 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Added and the applet still crashes for me, but maybe it won't for someone else.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agnitio Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Apr 2004 Posts: 136
|
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I got it working!
If you run the gnome-macmenu-applet from a shell and then, while it is running, add it to the panel, it works like a charm! So if you add it to gnome-session it should work fine, I'm going to try that now.
UPDATE: Success!! Adding "/usr/libexec/gnome-macmenu-applet" to gnome-session got the applet working, note though that you need to use my updated ebuild or manually chmod +x /usr/libexec/gnome-macmenu-applet .
nesl247 sorry for the inconvenience, but will you add the updated ebuild with doexe and exeinto to xeffects? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agnitio Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Apr 2004 Posts: 136
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
nesl247 Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2004 Posts: 1614 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agnitio, it's a bad idea to repackage with changes. Instead can you post a diff via diff -Naur old new file.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agnitio Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Apr 2004 Posts: 136
|
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 3:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Of course you are right. I was so excited that I actually was able to contribute for once that I didn't really think before acting.
Here is the patch, I will leave the packaging for you this time and hopefully it'll all work out. Thanks for a great overlay!
Code: |
--- GNOME_MacMenuApplet.server-old 2006-11-04 15:56:27.000000000 +0100
+++ GNOME_MacMenuApplet.server 2006-11-04 15:42:35.000000000 +0100
@@ -1,6 +1,6 @@
<oaf_info>
<oaf_server iid="OAFIID:GNOME_MacMenuApplet_Factory" type="exe"
- location="/opt/gnome/libexec/gnome-macmenu-applet">
+ location="/usr/libexec/gnome-macmenu-applet">
<oaf_attribute name="repo_ids" type="stringv">
<item value="IDL:Bonobo/GenericFactory:1.0"/>
<item value="IDL:Bonobo/Unknown:1.0"/>
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
nesl247 Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2004 Posts: 1614 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 3:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Even with this change, it still doesn't load for me. I'm going to recompile gtk+ with macmenu, maybe it requires the change to even load. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agnitio Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Apr 2004 Posts: 136
|
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 3:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you use the updated ebuild of mine that uses "exeinto and doexe" ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nesl247 Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2004 Posts: 1614 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 3:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok that fixed it, changes commited. Sync up again if you did already because I just commited a fix once more. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bluekkis n00b
Joined: 09 Oct 2004 Posts: 33
|
Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 10:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I just found about mac menu and it got me really interested, nice to see it in xeffects overlay. However since I use xfce4.4_rc2 instead of gnome, I'd like to see ebuild for xfce4.4 panel plugin. here
Also it looks like gtk+ pulls gnome plugin as dependency with macmenu use flag, however gnome plugin fails with
Code: | !!! x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.6 does not actually support the macmenu USE flag!
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant. |
As the plugin comes as dependency I'm unable to compile gtk+ without --nodep option or --resume --skipfirst.
Code: | tatsu ~ # emerge -avu gtk+
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild N ] gnome-extra/gnome-macmenu-applet-1.0.11 0 kB [2]
[ebuild U ] x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.6-r1 [2.10.6] USE="X jpeg macmenu%* tiff -debug -doc -xinerama" 0 kB [2]
Total size of downloads: 0 kB
Portage overlays:
[1] /usr/local/portage
[2] /usr/local/layman/xeffects
|
After compiling gtk+ with macmenu first, gnome plugin no longer stops on same error as first encountered, instead it spills out tons of compilation errors, most likely because I don't have gnome installed.
Code: | >>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/gnome-extra/gnome-macmenu-applet-1.0.11/work/gnome-macmenu-applet ...
Package libpanelapplet-2.0 was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `libpanelapplet-2.0.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
No package 'libpanelapplet-2.0' found
macmenu-applet.c:5:22: error: gdk/gdkx.h: No such file or directory
macmenu-applet.c:6:21: error: gtk/gtk.h: No such file or directory
macmenu-applet.c:7:29: error: libwnck/libwnck.h: No such file or directory
macmenu-applet.c:21:32: error: gconf/gconf-client.h: No such file or directory
macmenu-applet.c:22:26: error: panel-applet.h: No such file or directory
macmenu-applet.c:23: error: expected ‘=’, ‘,’, ‘;’, ‘asm’ or ‘__attribute__’ before ‘AppletType’ |
(Snipped the end of the error since it just the same thing in different parts of c file)
This of course is bit annoying as gnome-macmenu-applet pops to emerge list every time I do update.
Code: | tatsu ~ # emerge --info
Portage 2.1.2_rc1-r4 (default-linux/amd64/2006.1, gcc-4.1.1, glibc-2.5-r0, 2.6.18-gentoo-r1 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.18-gentoo-r1 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
Gentoo Base System version 1.12.6
Last Sync: Tue, 07 Nov 2006 16:00:01 +0000
dev-java/java-config: 1.3.7, 2.0.30
dev-lang/python: 2.4.4
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r5
sys-apps/sandbox: 1.2.18.1
sys-devel/autoconf: 2.13, 2.60
sys-devel/automake: 1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r2, 1.10
sys-devel/binutils: 2.17
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.3.14
sys-devel/libtool: 1.5.22
virtual/os-headers: 2.6.17-r1
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe -msse3 -mfpmath=sse"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/share/X11/xkb"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/gconf /etc/java-config/vms/ /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/splash /etc/terminfo"
CXXFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe -msse3 -mfpmath=sse"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoconfig distlocks metadata-transfer sandbox sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://trumpetti.atm.tut.fi/gentoo/ http://ftp.linux.ee/pub/gentoo/distfiles/ ftp://ftp.linux.ee/pub/gentoo/distfiles/ http://trumpetti.atm.tut.fi/gentoo/ ftp://ftp.du.se/pub/os/gentoo http://mirror.pudas.net/gentoo ftp://mirrors.blueyonder.co.uk/mirrors/gentoo"
LANG="en_GB.UTF-8"
LINGUAS="en en_GB fi"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --delete-after --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage /usr/local/layman/xeffects"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="amd64 X aac alsa anthy berkdb bitmap-fonts cairo cdr cjk clamav cli cracklib crypt cups dbus dlloader dri dts dvd dvdr dvdread elibc_glibc encode ffmpeg firefox flac fortran freetype2 gdbm gif gpm gtk gtk2 hal iconv input_devices_evdev input_devices_joystick input_devices_keyboard input_devices_mouse input_devices_wacom ipv6 isdnlog java joystick jpeg kernel_linux libg++ linguas_en linguas_en_GB linguas_fi macmenu matroska mng modplug mozbranding mp3 mp4 mpeg ncurses nls nptl nptlonly nsplugin nvidia ogg oggvorbis ogm openal openexr opengl pam pcre pdf perl png ppds pppd python quicktime readline reflection sdl session sid smp spl ssl svg tcpd theora threads tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts udev unicode usb userland_GNU vcd video_cards_nv video_cards_nvidia video_cards_vesa vorbis x264 xml xorg xv xvid zlib"
Unset: CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, LDFLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS
|
EDIT:
After about 2h of hacking with ebuild files I gave up, I'm just not familiar enough with ebuilds to write my own. I manually compiled and installed the xfce plugin and I love this feature already. =) _________________ [Gentoo 64b][ASRock ALIVENF7G-HDReady][AMD Athlon64 X2 2,5GHz@1,35V][Corsair XMS2 2x 1GB@800MHz][WD Raptor 150GB][Samsung T166 500GB]
[Ubuntu LTS][VIA EPIA EN-1200EG][VIA Eden C7 1,2GHz][Kingston 1GB@533MHz][4x Samsung T166 500GB] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Theophile Apprentice
Joined: 31 Mar 2004 Posts: 285
|
Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 3:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What is the status of this? I can no longer find it in the xeffects overlay. _________________ Monopedilos |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nesl247 Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2004 Posts: 1614 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Theophile wrote: | What is the status of this? I can no longer find it in the xeffects overlay. |
It's author is overseas, so I removed it since he can't maintain it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
aidy l33t
Joined: 07 Apr 2005 Posts: 915
|
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 11:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
shit
Are there any up to date ebuilds for it then? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nesl247 Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2004 Posts: 1614 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Aidy wrote: | shit
Are there any up to date ebuilds for it then? |
You could just get the ebuilds from an older overlay revision and add it to your local portage overlay.. All I'm saying is I don't want to maintain the ebuilds since the author can't support/update the software. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
playfool l33t
Joined: 01 Jun 2004 Posts: 688 Location: Ã
rhus, Denmark
|
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I like it... now to roll some Fedora RPMs, I'll need to wake the chief SPEC file reviewer... CODERGEEK42, STOP BEING ASLEEP. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
aidy l33t
Joined: 07 Apr 2005 Posts: 915
|
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
nesl247 wrote: | Aidy wrote: | shit
Are there any up to date ebuilds for it then? |
You could just get the ebuilds from an older overlay revision and add it to your local portage overlay.. All I'm saying is I don't want to maintain the ebuilds since the author can't support/update the software. |
okay so what was the latest revision that had it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nesl247 Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2004 Posts: 1614 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 7:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Revision 251. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|