Help on Installing Gentoo for my Acer.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
TuxDevil
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 2:52 am    Post subject: Help on Installing Gentoo for my Acer. Reply with quote

I have an Acer TM 8104 laptop with Pentium M 2.0G, 1 100G HDD but it divided to C and D drive. Window files is on C and I'm using D for downloading files.
I want to install Gentoo but I'm not really sure how. Does C and D drive count as 2 different hard drive? Do I need to do partition or anything? Can I keep my files on both drivers?
I'm sorry for asking so many questions but I'm totally new to Linux so please help me out.
Thank you. :wink:
psychomunky
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, each counts as a separate hard drive. While it is possible to install and run linux on a FAT filesystem (hopefully you don't have NTFS), it is not recommend to do so. Have a look at the Gentoo Handbook for general installation instructions.

To move space on your Windows partitions around to make room for a native Linux partition, I'd recommend using to the GParted LiveCD. I have used it to resized many NTFS and FAT partitions with no problems. (However, PLEASE backup your drives first). The nice thing about GParted is that you can resize your drive without (theoretically) losing data.

If you are uncomfortable doing that, then you might try running linux under the newly free VMWare Server or VMWare Player (With the latter you'll need a pre-built VMWare Appliance). There are a few pre-installed Linux VMWare appliances here, such as Slackware 10.2, Fedora Core 6, Debian 3.1, SUSE, PCLinuxOS, Gentoo 2006.1 barebones, Ubuntu 6.06, etc, etc.