Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Mounting Windows/Linux common partition[SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guar0x
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Location: Caracas, Venezuela

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:52 pm    Post subject: Mounting Windows/Linux common partition[SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi, i have Windows installed on /dev/hda1 and Linux installed on /dev/hdb1 /hdb2 /hdb4 as u see on the fdisk, now i want to mount /dev/hdb3 (where i have movies and music and other stuff) so i can read that partition from linux.

Code:
Guar0x dan # fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 20.0 GB, 20020396032 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2434 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1        2433    19543041    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)

Disk /dev/hdb: 300.0 GB, 300090728448 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 36483 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdb1   *           1          19      152586   83  Linux
/dev/hdb2              20         385     2939895   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hdb3           13524       36483   184426200    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hdb4             386       13523   105530985   83  Linux


this is my fstab

Code:
/dev/hdb1               /boot           ext2            defaults,noatime        1 2
/dev/hdb2               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/hdb4               /               ext3            noatime                 0 1

none                    /proc           proc            defaults                0 0
none                    /dev/shm        tmpfs           nodev,nosuid,noexec     0 0
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,user             0 0


what do i need to do to the fstab to mount the /hdb3?, thanks.


Last edited by Guar0x on Sat Nov 04, 2006 6:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HeXiLeD
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 1159
Location: Online

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Create a mount point for the windows drive:

Code:
# mkdir /mnt/winblows


fstab entry:
Code:
 /dev/hdb3      /mnt/winblows    fat32    defaults,user,noauto,umask=0000        0 0


you will always need to umask it if you wish to access it with your regular user

mount it and you are good to go

Code:
#mount -t fat32 /dev/hdb3      /mnt/winblows

_________________
Do you hear the sound of inevitability?
With age, comes great grumpiness and that, was 20 years ago...

CertFP: becbbd161d5a5c31de3c45171b77bf710911db29 / d985d21f89fe2977b593c4d381a1a86802e62990d9328d893db76d59f9935244


Last edited by HeXiLeD on Sat Nov 04, 2006 6:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guar0x
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Location: Caracas, Venezuela

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why ntfs if my /dev/hdb3 is fat32?
edit: do i just change all the ntfs in your code to vfat?

re edit: nevermind i see you fixed it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guar0x
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Location: Caracas, Venezuela

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, it's fixed. and by the way, it's vfat, there's no fat32 in fstab or mount -t command.

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum