Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VMWare libpng Problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jbdubbs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:14 pm    Post subject: VMWare libpng Problem Reply with quote

Both stable and ~ releases of VMWare are refusing to start either as root or user with the following errors:

dubbs jbdubbs # /opt/vmware/workstation/bin/vmware
/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified

/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)
/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified


For fun, I downgraded to stable versions of cairo, glitz, and gtk, but nothing works as of yet.

Ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xoomix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does running revdep-rebuild -av say or suggest that you have some dependencies/libraries/modules that need to be rebuilt?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbdubbs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

revdep-rebuild comes up clean, both before and after downgrading those packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbdubbs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump... ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Seron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2002
Posts: 293
Location: Malmö, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this when I start vmware but it still works:
Code:
/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)
/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)
/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)

I do not get Xlib connection messages.
_________________
man cannot be brave without being afraid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crowe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 17
Location: University of Essex, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have solved this using:
Code:

export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK='yes'
vmware


The problem seemed to be caused after an upgrade of too many things to narrow it down to one thing but reading the VMWARE VMTN discussion it could be caused by a glib/gcc upgrade? I tried (re)emerging gtk+, libcairo and running revdep-rebuild, none of which helped.[/code]

I still get the error:
Code:

/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)

but this does not seem to cause a failure.

jbdubbs: does this help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kiesa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2005
Posts: 57
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having this error too, any solutions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crowe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 17
Location: University of Essex, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have since upgraded much since I had the problem (as part of natural emerge -D world). In particular I think I remerged as portage upgrades happen and I now have:

* app-emulation/vmware-modules 1.0.0.15-r1
* app-emulation/vmware-workstation 5.5.3.34685

I no longer need to use

Code:

export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK='yes'
vmware


But I still have the warning
Code:

/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)

this seems not to cause a problem when I run it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sgarcia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Bakersfield, CA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. After reading this thread, I added
Code:
VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK='yes'
to my .bashrc and not only did vmplayer start working, but the error message from libcairo stopped as well.

I'm using vmware-player, not vmware-workstation, but I am (and have been since this problem surfaced) using

app-emulation/vmware-modules 1.0.0.15-r1

The player version is

app-emulation/vmware-player-1.0.3.34682

which is the most current in portage. That particular combination does seem to require setting the environment variable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
younker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Feb 2004
Posts: 280
Location: China

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

crowe wrote:

But I still have the warning
Code:

/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)

this seems not to cause a problem when I run it.


I have this problem too, these days, I upgraded libpng
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
potatoface
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2004
Posts: 542
Location: ::7F00:1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

crowe wrote:
Code:
VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK='yes'


i cant start vmware, it seems that some of you have solved the problem, but how? :cry:

regards,
potatoface
_________________
The generation of random numbers is too important to be left to chance.
Adopt an unanswered post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbdubbs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ran into this problem again after upgrading VMWare to Beta 6 outside of using portage, then downgrading to portage version. Turns out that the libpng warnings aren't fatal, and deleting ~/.vmware works just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)


Just delete /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libpng12.so.0/libpng12.so.0 and it will use your gentoo installed libpng.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LoSeR_5150
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 455
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

drescherjm: now that suggestion is what i'm talking about. :D that worked great. thx
_________________
Opteron 1356@2.4Ghz
6GB DDR2 800Mhz
128MB Quadro NVS 210S
640GB Western Digital HD
*Gentoo-x86_64-2.6.30-r1

Opteron175@2.2GHz
2GB DDR 400MHz
256MB Quadro 1400 Go
(2) 80GB Segate HDs: RAID0
*Gentoo-x86_64-2.6.30-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum