Counter Strike 1.6 Linux Live?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
WheelerXp
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:08 pm    Post subject: Counter Strike 1.6 Linux Live? Reply with quote

Hey, i was wondering if anyone thinks its possible to use a live version of linux and burn it with after install files of Counter strike 1.6 , and Wine, and the CS regestry from the same OS to a disk. And use it as an on the go Counter Strike Lan disk. So u can pop it into any computer and run CS. In my head there are a few problems with regestry, and extreme lag beacuse its running off the disk, and the fact that its basicly emulating the game.
But useing a non-steam client would make it a nice tool for lan partys, and schools. Anyone else think that this would work? Or that im out of my mind. if so could you help me? im new to the use of linux and live Cds.
The non-steam client is counter strike 1.6 with out the use of steam, only good for non steam servers, and LAN use. So there would never be updating.

Is there a working Live Cd Version of Gentoo that is under 411 Mb? ( the smaller the better. More Maps)
Thanks for your help. If you are intrested you can contact me at Wheeleer@gmail.com
I will make a torrent if this becomes a popular idea.
swooshOnLn
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There might be some custom gentoo livecd's out there, but the official ones about a full cd. What about a DVD? that will provide the extra space you need to put counterstrice, your video drives, sound drivers, and just "storage" space for extra programs you might need.

FYI, the game would pretty much be unplayable.

This is my font size, color, and signature. It will change to whatever I pick. How cool is that?
swooshOnLn
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote