View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
keet Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 09 Sep 2008 Posts: 574
|
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ah, I finally got my card working!! I'm so happy! Ah, I can finally move my computer back downstairs now that I have wifi working. I followed another guide which instructed me to copy my firmware files to some RT61STA directory, but that didn't work. I kept getting the error "SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory". I've been reading forums all over the place and trying to configure ebuilds that I found on bugzilla to no avail, but finally I read what the previous poster wrote and copied my firmware files to /lib/firmware and it works!! I'm so happy. Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krovisser Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/12397173346e99920c63e1.jpg)
Joined: 01 Feb 2006 Posts: 105 Location: TX, USA
|
Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Pandaxiongmao's post helped me out! I'm using kernel 2.6.27, and I just built the drivers in the kernel, and emerge wpa_supplicant and linked wlan0 to net.lo, and tried to start it. I was getting errors about firmware in dmesg, and the "SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory", like people here had previously mentioned.
All I did was copy the .bin files to /lib/firmware (which I had to create), and restarted net.wlan0 and it worked! Using wpa-personal on my linksys wrt54g.
This is using a Rosewill RNX-300xx pci card.
Code: | CONFIG_RT2X00=y
CONFIG_RT2X00_LIB=y
CONFIG_RT2X00_LIB_PCI=y
CONFIG_RT2X00_LIB_FIRMWARE=y
CONFIG_RT61PCI=y |
CONFIG_MAC80211 is a little different in this kernel, but it's NOT enabled.
Download the latest firmware from ralink website. Put all three .bin files inside /lib/firmware.
Restart your PC, and don't forget to boot into the new kernel.
I also needed the timeout setting, since it would give up too quickly when associating.
Code: | modules="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="Dwext"
config_YourSSID=( "dhcp" )
wpa_timeout_wlan0=15 |
Phew, I got worried that I had bought a PITA card for an hour or so... _________________ http://www.krovisser.com/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Dr. Frankenbox Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 16 Jul 2005 Posts: 171 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 1:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have followed all of these directions, and I'm still getting the SIOCSIFFLAGS errors accompanied by the kernel messages about firmware. I get the same result with a Rosewill card (RT2561T) and a Linksys WMP54G (also an RT61 of some kind). I have the following firmware files in /lib/firmware:
rt2561.bin
rt2561s.bin
rt2661.bin
Edit: I just checked my kernel messages again and discovered this:
firmware: requesting rt2561s.bin
which raises the question: why can't my driver find a file that I have in /lib/firmware? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
agent_jdh Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 1783 Location: Scotland
|
Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks to pandaxiongmao for the info on setting up the kernel driver - have just moved from the ralink-rt61 ebuild. Only change was the pairwise and group settings in wpa_supplicant.conf were CCMP for me here.
@Dr. Frankenbox - emerge rt61-firmware installs the firmware files for you. _________________ Jingle Jangle Jewellery |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
n1ghtsn1p3r n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/HalfLife/Half_Life_-_Gordon_Freeman2.gif)
Joined: 12 Feb 2009 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
I got mine working also (Edimax EW-7128G). I copied the firmware files over manually (didn't have a net connection so I couldn't do it through emerge)
But mine is still open, but I'm not too worried about it though since the houses are pretty far apart where I am. My EW-7128G picks up a few networks around me [both under Windows and Linux], but my WG311v3 only gets mine and one other that's too weak to connect to anyway [only under Windows]. _________________ E8500 E0 3.16GHz @ 4.0GHz (445x9.0 @ 1.325v) | Asus P5Q Pro | 2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 | WD 500GB | HIS HD 4850 Turbo IceQ4 (650/1000) | Antec 300 | SeaSonic SS-550HT 550w | LITE-ON DVD Burner | Tuniq Tower 120 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Dr. Frankenbox Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 16 Jul 2005 Posts: 171 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agent_jdh: I already tried that, and it failed miserably. See here. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
agent_jdh Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 1783 Location: Scotland
|
Posted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Dr. Frankenbox wrote: | agent_jdh: I already tried that, and it failed miserably. See here. |
That thread you've linked to is for the ralink-rt61 driver ebuild. I'm talking about the rt61-firmware ebuild - you need this to use the in-kernel rt61pci driver. It's marked ~arch at the moment so you may have to add a line for it in /etc/portage/package.keywords
It's only a small download - 13kB or thereabouts. The firmware files themselves are also contained within the larger tarball that the ralink-rt61 ebuild downloads - you can manually extract the three firmware .bin files manually and copy them to /lib/firmware _________________ Jingle Jangle Jewellery |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Dr. Frankenbox Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 16 Jul 2005 Posts: 171 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm sorry I didn't read your post closely enough. That ebuild must be pretty new, because I had to update my portage tree before I even saw it. Anyway, I did install it, but I'm still seeing the exact same behavior. That doesn't surprise me too much since I already did manually pretty much exactly what this ebuild does automatically. I already went to the manufacturer's website, downloaded the firmware zip file, and extracted it to /lib/firmware, which is how I got the three files I mentioned above. The question still remains: why can't the driver find these files even though they are exactly where it should be looking? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
agent_jdh Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 1783 Location: Scotland
|
Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 12:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
@Dr. Frankenbox
PM me or pastebin your kernel config and I'll compare it to mine. Also your /etc/conf.d/net and /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file (minus your key, obv.) _________________ Jingle Jangle Jewellery |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
reesm n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/208993040359ff69b1c2533.jpg)
Joined: 02 Mar 2003 Posts: 39 Location: AB, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Just got this working. Was really easy actually. Using a Gigabyte rt61 based wifi desktop card.
1) Used directions @ http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/RT61 to recompile kernel
2) Noticed firmware was missing and found this thread
3) added "net-wireless/rt61-firmware" to /etc/portage/package.keywords
4) emerged rt61-firmware
5) issued /etc/init.d/wlan0 start
Everything is good, no more missing firmware from dmesg!
Dr. Frankenbox, what are the permissions on the files set to?
Code: | rees@gentoo /etc/init.d $ ls -l /lib/firmware
total 24
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 8192 2009-03-22 21:38 rt2561.bin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 8192 2009-03-22 21:38 rt2561s.bin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 8192 2009-03-22 21:38 rt2661.bin
rees@gentoo /etc/init.d $ |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Dr. Frankenbox Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 16 Jul 2005 Posts: 171 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
My permissions are exactly as shown on those three files. I'm trying to configure hostapd now; agent_jdh tells me that (or wpa_supplicant) is required even if you don't use encryption. I'm not sure if I have it configured correctly, but now that I have it installed, I'm at least getting an [OK] from the interface init script. I'm not sure the interface is actually coming up, though; the kernel errors about the firmware are still there, and I can't do an iwlist scan.
Part of the problem here is that this card doesn't support master mode, but I'm trying to make a wireless router with it. My only hope for that is if there's some way to use it in ad-hoc mode. I was trying to just test it in managed mode without encryption to see if I could get the card to work, but apparently that's not an option.
Edit: Here are some of my config files. Does anybody here know hostapd?
/etc/conf.d/net
Code:
Code: |
# Outside Interface
config_eth0=("dhcp")
# Inside Interface
config_eth1=("192.168.0.1/24")
# Wireless Card
config_wlan0=("192.168.1.1/24")
#config_wlan0=("dhcp")
mode_wlan0=("ad-hoc")
#essid_wlan0=("any")
essid_wlan0=("frankenbox_wifi")
|
/etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf (excluding comments)
Code: |
interface=wlan0
driver=hostap
logger_syslog=-1
logger_syslog_level=2
logger_stdout=-1
logger_stdout_level=4
debug=0
dump_file=/tmp/hostapd.dump
ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
ctrl_interface_group=0
ssid=frankenbox_wifi
hw_mode=g
channel=6
beacon_int=100
dtim_period=2
max_num_sta=255
rts_threshold=2347
fragm_threshold=2346
macaddr_acl=0
auth_algs=3
ignore_broadcast_ssid=0
wme_enabled=1
wme_ac_bk_cwmin=4
wme_ac_bk_cwmax=10
wme_ac_bk_aifs=7
wme_ac_bk_txop_limit=0
wme_ac_bk_acm=0
wme_ac_be_aifs=3
wme_ac_be_cwmin=4
wme_ac_be_cwmax=10
wme_ac_be_txop_limit=0
wme_ac_be_acm=0
wme_ac_vi_aifs=2
wme_ac_vi_cwmin=3
wme_ac_vi_cwmax=4
wme_ac_vi_txop_limit=94
wme_ac_vi_acm=0
wme_ac_vo_aifs=2
wme_ac_vo_cwmin=2
wme_ac_vo_cwmax=3
wme_ac_vo_txop_limit=47
wme_ac_vo_acm=0
eapol_key_index_workaround=0
eap_server=0
own_ip_addr=192.168.1.1
wpa=0
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|