View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Unclethommy Guru

Joined: 24 Jul 2006 Posts: 407
|
Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 2:49 pm Post subject: Loading module options [solved] |
|
|
Hi there, i need to run my spca5xx module as the following command line for it to produce a bright enough picture to see properly.
I was wondering what the correct way is to run these options everytime the module is asked to load.
I have tried to insert
Code: | options spca5xx GRed=500 GBlue=500 GGreen=500 gamma=4 |
command directly into my /etc/modules.conf file
I also tried to enter both spca5xx and (on another boot) spca5xx GRed=500 GBlue=500 GGreen=500 gamma=4 into my /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 neither seem to work and my webcam loads with a dark screen. However, when i rmmod spca5xx , and then manually type in modprobe spca5xx GRed=500 GBlue=500 GGreen=500 gamma=4 it works fine and dandy
Can anyone suggest a sure fire way of getting the module to load with the options I specify anytime and EVERYtime without the hassle of rooting and entering it manually ?
Last edited by Unclethommy on Sat Dec 02, 2006 6:20 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55015 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 2:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Unclethommy,
Add Code: | spca5xx GRed=500 GBlue=500 GGreen=500 gamma=4 | to /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
This works if the spca5xx is actually loaded from here.
You cannot edit /etc/modules.conf directly. Its created at every boot by concating all the files in /etc/modules.d/
To add things to /etc/modules.conf, make a new file in /etc/modules.d/ (any name you like) and put your options there.
Now run modules-update to recreate /etc/modules.conf without a reboot.
To test do Code: | modprobe -r spca5xx
modprobe spca5xx | your kernel needs to support module unloading for this to work _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wudmx Guru

Joined: 07 Aug 2002 Posts: 527
|
Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
what does dmesg say after adding your options to your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 ? Don't know any more if it's necessary, but perhaps you have to invoke a modules-update after inserting your options.
HTH
Andi |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Unclethommy Guru

Joined: 24 Jul 2006 Posts: 407
|
Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I took all the references out of the files I mentioned to see if that stopped the module loading. Spca5xx still loaded and is visible in lsmod after the reboot. I will try to change the autoload file as youve suggested and reboot to see what dmesg says too....
I have change part of my udev rules so that the camera node is /dev/mywebcam
Would this effect the module loading? Just athought.
EDIT: okay, after boot, it still is dark as reported before... I check on dmesg heres the part with the first message of spca5xx
Code: | Bluetooth: HCI USB driver ver 2.9
usbcore: registered new driver hci_usb
ieee1394: Host added: ID:BUS[0-00:1023] GUID[001106000000e332]
/var/tmp/portage/spca5xx-20060501-r2/work/spca5xx-20060501/drivers/usb/spca5xx.c: USB SPCA5xx camera found. Type QC Express (unknown CCD)
/var/tmp/portage/spca5xx-20060501-r2/work/spca5xx-20060501/drivers/usb/spca5xx.c: [spca5xx_probe:5492] Camera type GBGR
/var/tmp/portage/spca5xx-20060501-r2/work/spca5xx-20060501/drivers/usb/spca5xx.c: [spca5xx_getcapability:1768] maxw 352 maxh 288 minw 160 minh 120
usbcore: registered new driver spca5xx
/var/tmp/portage/spca5xx-20060501-r2/work/spca5xx-20060501/drivers/usb/spca5xx.c: spca5xx driver 00.60.00 registered
EXT3 FS on hda7, internal journal
Bluetooth: L2CAP ver 2.8
Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
Bluetooth: RFCOMM socket layer initialized
Bluetooth: RFCOMM TTY layer initialized
Bluetooth: RFCOMM ver 1.8 |
Could there be something else running spca5xx automatically ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55015 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Unclethommy,
I suspect its the part of udev that replaced coldplug.
Unplug the webcam, Code: | modprobe -r spca5xx | Now plug in the cam again. With modules.conf updated to include the options, I expect they will be applied. If so, that confirms its udev loading modules for equipment attached at start up.
In a corner of my mind, I have an inkling that udev can apply module params too. It can certainly run scripts, which would be a messy way to do the same thing. Its all here _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Unclethommy Guru

Joined: 24 Jul 2006 Posts: 407
|
Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Neddyseagoon,
Your hunch was right. The module seems to be automatically loaded.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Webcam unplugged and ran modprobe -r spca5xx
Code: |
Module Size Used by
raw1394 20084 0
rfcomm 26780 0
l2cap 15876 5 rfcomm
bttv 147060 0
video_buf 17540 1 bttv
ir_common 24068 1 bttv
compat_ioctl32 1280 1 bttv
nvidia 4542292 12
btcx_risc 3848 1 bttv
tveeprom 12432 1 bttv
ohci1394 26288 0
videodev 18432 1 bttv
v4l1_compat 11396 1 videodev
ieee1394 70836 2 raw1394,ohci1394
v4l2_common 18560 2 bttv,videodev
sis900 17152 0 |
<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<webcam plugged in again
Code: |
heaven mark # lsmod
Module Size Used by
spca5xx 641616 0
raw1394 20084 0
rfcomm 26780 0
l2cap 15876 5 rfcomm
bttv 147060 0
video_buf 17540 1 bttv
ir_common 24068 1 bttv
compat_ioctl32 1280 1 bttv
nvidia 4542292 12
btcx_risc 3848 1 bttv
tveeprom 12432 1 bttv
ohci1394 26288 0
videodev 18432 2 spca5xx,bttv
v4l1_compat 11396 1 videodev
ieee1394 70836 2 raw1394,ohci1394
v4l2_common 18560 2 bttv,videodev
sis900 17152 0 |
EDIT: I've tried the suggestion by neddyseagoon and it works (for now ) just did what he/she suggested hope it helps others Thanks again for the help
Quote: | to add things to /etc/modules.conf, make a new file in /etc/modules.d/ (any name you like) and put your options there.
Now run modules-update to recreate /etc/modules.conf without a reboot.
To test do
Code:
modprobe -r spca5xx
modprobe spca5xx
your kernel needs to support module unloading for this to work |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|