Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
libGL errors... messed up drivers?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Toonytony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:53 am    Post subject: libGL errors... messed up drivers? Reply with quote

I have just installed the ATI Proprietary Drivers, and I noticed something funky. when I run the command glxinfo | grep render, I get this message:
Code:
libGL error: failed to open DRM: Operation not permitted
libGL error: reverting to (slow) indirect rendering
direct rendering: No
     GLX_ATI_pixel_format_float, GLX_ATI_render_texture
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect


My video card is a Radeon X300 SE, if that helps...

Thank you in advance.
_________________
-Tony McCoy
(www.MySpace.com/TonyMcCoy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
/dev/random
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 704
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you run eselect opengl set ati? Also, post your xorg.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toonytony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when I run eselect opengl set ati, I get this:
Code:
!!! Error: unrecognized option: ati
exiting.


And here is my xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "Simple Layout"
   Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"

   Load  "dbe"
   SubSection "extmod"
      Option       "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
   EndSubSection
   Load  "freetype"
   Load  "dri"
   Load  "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard1"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option       "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
   Option       "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option       "XkbModel" "microsoft"
   Option       "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse1"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "Auto"   # Auto detect
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
   Option       "Emulate3Buttons"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Generic Gateway LCD"
   HorizSync    36.8 - 82.0
   VertRefresh  50.0 - 70.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Standard VGA"
   Driver      "vga"
   VendorName  "Unknown"
   BoardName   "Unknown"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "X300"
   Driver      "radeon"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]"
   Driver      "fglrx"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen 1"
   Device     "X300"
   Monitor    "Generic Gateway LCD"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     8
      Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     16
      Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
   Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]"
   Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection

_________________
-Tony McCoy
(www.MySpace.com/TonyMcCoy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madisonicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 1130

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Toonytony wrote:
when I run eselect opengl set ati, I get this:
Code:
!!! Error: unrecognized option: ati
exiting.
Try
Code:
# eselect opengl list
Hopefully one of them will be ati related. If not then there are drivers missing.

Incidentally... eselect is one of those commands with many options. You can see them all with eselect list-modules. Each one of those in turn can be listed with, for instance, eselect kernel list. Useful command to know about.

HTH,
m
_________________
Please add [SOLVED] to your message title if you feel that your question has been answered.
------
Intel Q9300 Core2 Quad * Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
Samsung x360
AMD64 x2 4200+ * TF7050-M2 * HTPC
ZOTAC ION A-U Mini-ITX * HTPC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toonytony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

madisonicus wrote:
Toonytony wrote:
when I run eselect opengl set ati, I get this:
Code:
!!! Error: unrecognized option: ati
exiting.
Try
Code:
# eselect opengl list
Hopefully one of them will be ati related. If not then there are drivers missing.

Incidentally... eselect is one of those commands with many options. You can see them all with eselect list-modules. Each one of those in turn can be listed with, for instance, eselect kernel list. Useful command to know about.

HTH,
m

Huh...none are ATI related. All I get is this:
Code:
[1]     xorg-x11*


So... what should I do? How do get the appropriate drivers?
_________________
-Tony McCoy
(www.MySpace.com/TonyMcCoy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
/dev/random
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 704
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I assume you used the ati-drivers ebuild...If so was the opengl USE flag set?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toonytony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/dev/random wrote:
I assume you used the ati-drivers ebuild...If so was the opengl USE flag set?

well... I didn't use the ebuild. I went to the website and downloaded the installer.

I am trying to recompile using the ebuild now, and I get this:
Code:
...make: leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-2.6.18-gentoo-r3'
   *DRM module not built
>>> Source compiled.
>>> Test phase [not enabled]: x11-drivers/ati-drivers-8.27.10.r1

>>> Install ati-drivers-8.27.10-r1 into /var/tmp/portage/ati-drivers-8.27.10-r1/image/ category x11-drivers
   *Installing fglrx module
install: cannot stat 'fglrx.ko': No such file or directory

!!! ERROR: x11-drivers/ati-drivers-8.27.10-r1 failed.
Call stack:
   ebuild.sh, line 1546:     Called dyn_install
   ebuild.sh, line 1020:     Called src_install
   ati-drivers-8.27.10-r1.ebuild, line 205:     Called linux-mod_src_install
   linux-mod.eclass, line 540:     Called die

!!! doins fglrx.ko failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.

_________________
-Tony McCoy
(www.MySpace.com/TonyMcCoy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toonytony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone?
_________________
-Tony McCoy
(www.MySpace.com/TonyMcCoy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
/dev/random
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 704
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In your kernel config make sure Direct Rendering Manager (it's under Device Drivers --> Character Devices) is being compiled as a module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toonytony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/dev/random wrote:
In your kernel config make sure Direct Rendering Manager (it's under Device Drivers --> Character Devices) is being compiled as a module.

Hmm...apparently it was already selected as a module.
_________________
-Tony McCoy
(www.MySpace.com/TonyMcCoy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toonytony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Toonytony wrote:
/dev/random wrote:
In your kernel config make sure Direct Rendering Manager (it's under Device Drivers --> Character Devices) is being compiled as a module.

Hmm...apparently it was already selected as a module.

And it still doesn't work... :)
_________________
-Tony McCoy
(www.MySpace.com/TonyMcCoy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madisonicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 1130

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Toonytony wrote:
Huh...none are ATI related. All I get is this:
Code:
[1]     xorg-x11*

That really implies you haven't successfully emerged the ati drivers yet. Otherwise, it would give you ati as an option. I would suggest going through the guide again very closely.

In particular (although the problem could be anywhere along the line), there must be a VIDEO_CARDS="fglrx" line in your make.conf file, you must have emerged the driver package, and you must be sure the agpgart, ati driver, and drm modules are loaded. Doing an lsmod should show whether they are. Doing a modprobe -l should show you what's available.

-m
_________________
Please add [SOLVED] to your message title if you feel that your question has been answered.
------
Intel Q9300 Core2 Quad * Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
Samsung x360
AMD64 x2 4200+ * TF7050-M2 * HTPC
ZOTAC ION A-U Mini-ITX * HTPC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toonytony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK... I followed all the steps in the guide and set those modules to run at boot, but I still get the same error as I did before:

Code:
...make: leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-2.6.18-gentoo-r3'
   *DRM module not built
>>> Source compiled.
>>> Test phase [not enabled]: x11-drivers/ati-drivers-8.27.10.r1

>>> Install ati-drivers-8.27.10-r1 into /var/tmp/portage/ati-drivers-8.27.10-r1/image/ category x11-drivers
   *Installing fglrx module
install: cannot stat 'fglrx.ko': No such file or directory

!!! ERROR: x11-drivers/ati-drivers-8.27.10-r1 failed.
Call stack:
   ebuild.sh, line 1546:     Called dyn_install
   ebuild.sh, line 1020:     Called src_install
   ati-drivers-8.27.10-r1.ebuild, line 205:     Called linux-mod_src_install
   linux-mod.eclass, line 540:     Called die

!!! doins fglrx.ko failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.

_________________
-Tony McCoy
(www.MySpace.com/TonyMcCoy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madisonicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 1130

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure that /usr/src/linux points to the correct sources for the kernel you're currently using?
_________________
Please add [SOLVED] to your message title if you feel that your question has been answered.
------
Intel Q9300 Core2 Quad * Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
Samsung x360
AMD64 x2 4200+ * TF7050-M2 * HTPC
ZOTAC ION A-U Mini-ITX * HTPC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toonytony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

madisonicus wrote:
Are you sure that /usr/src/linux points to the correct sources for the kernel you're currently using?

I think so. It worked when I added the module for my network card...

If it's not the right directory, how do I find out which IS the right directory?

*EDIT* I compiled my kernel with genkernel, if that helps.
_________________
-Tony McCoy
(www.MySpace.com/TonyMcCoy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum