View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ExecutorElassus Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/15750694344835dc870e988.jpg)
Joined: 11 Mar 2004 Posts: 1471 Location: Berlin, Germany
|
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 6:20 pm Post subject: ath0 can't see anything, can't connect |
|
|
so, i followed the gentoo guide for setting up my netgear wg311t (with atheros chipset). i'm running wpa_supplicant, and nothing seems able to connect to the access point (a netgear wireless router, wgt624) that's sitting on the desk right next to it. all kernel options are correctly enabled, and wpa_supplicant is running with the following command, initiated from /etc/init.d/net.ath0:
Code: | wpa_supplicant -Dmadwifi -iath0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -B |
iwconfig shows this:
Code: | # iwconfig
eth0 no wireless extensions.
lo no wireless extensions.
wifi0 no wireless extensions.
ath0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power:18 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=0/94 Signal level=-95 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:5973 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0 |
the "Rx invalid nwid" number keeps going up. the card isn't connecting to any access point, and its status light just keeps blinking. here are the following commands i've tried, and their result:
Code: |
ukiyo elassus # iwconfig ath0 key s:<my human-readable key>
Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
SET failed on device ath0 ; Invalid argument.
ukiyo elassus # iwconfig ath0 nwid any
Error for wireless request "Set NWID" (8B02) :
SET failed on device ath0 ; Operation not supported.
ukiyo elassus # iwconfig ath0 mode auto
Error for wireless request "Set Mode" (8B06) :
SET failed on device ath0 ; Invalid argument. |
here's /etc/conf.d/net.ath0:
Code: | # This is a network block that connects to any unsecured access point.
# We give it a low priority so any defined blocks are preferred.
network={
essid="TOADHALL"
ssid="TOADHALL"
priority=0
key_mgmt=NONE
wep_key0="my wep key, same as above"}
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1
config_ath0=(192.168.0.7 broadcast 192.168.2.255 netmask 255.255.255.0)
gateway=ath0/192.168.0.1 |
so that's all i have. dmesg shows this:
Code: | ath_hal: 0.9.17.2 (AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413)
wlan: 0.8.4.2 (0.9.2)
ath_rate_sample: 1.2 (0.9.2)
ath_pci: 0.9.4.5 (0.9.2)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:0b.0[A] -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
wifi0: 11b rates: 1Mbps 2Mbps 5.5Mbps 11Mbps
wifi0: 11g rates: 1Mbps 2Mbps 5.5Mbps 11Mbps 6Mbps 9Mbps 12Mbps 18Mbps 24Mbps 36Mbps 48Mbps 54Mbps
wifi0: turboG rates: 6Mbps 12Mbps 18Mbps 24Mbps 36Mbps 48Mbps 54Mbps
wifi0: H/W encryption support: WEP AES AES_CCM TKIP
wifi0: mac 7.9 phy 4.5 radio 5.6
wifi0: Use hw queue 1 for WME_AC_BE traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 0 for WME_AC_BK traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 2 for WME_AC_VI traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 3 for WME_AC_VO traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 8 for CAB traffic
wifi0: Use hw queue 9 for beacons
couldn't load module 'wlan_scan_sta' (-38)
unable to load wlan_scan_sta
wifi0: Atheros 5212: mem=0xe6020000, irq=21
couldn't load module 'wlan_wep' (-38)
couldn't load module 'wlan_wep' (-38)
couldn't load module 'wlan_wep' (-38) |
the router doesn't show the card as an attached device, and the card doesn't see the router (or doesn't show it). i've double-checked all the setup steps, and i've followed them all. so, can somebody help me figure out what i'm doing wrong? i've tried setting my ssid to the ssid of the network, or to "any." i've tried setting my wep key to the human-readable one, or to the 10-digit hex number that the router generates.
previously, i was using an SMC card, that managed to see the router, and connect, but which i couldn't use as a network interface (that is, unplugging eth0 resulted in no throughput).
any help would be much appreciated.
thanks,
EE |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
smlgbl Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/22687439542888b1409002.jpg)
Joined: 10 Feb 2005 Posts: 305
|
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Do you actually have the wlan_scan_sta module and the other one it isn't able to find? Maybe you have to recompile the madwifi-ng packages. Maybe also reemerge the baselayout, as there might have been a change in the initscripts. But beware of updating baselayout, meaning be sure to do an "etc-update" afterwards. _________________ samuel.
'Do not let one girding on boast about himself like one unfastening' |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
ExecutorElassus Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/15750694344835dc870e988.jpg)
Joined: 11 Mar 2004 Posts: 1471 Location: Berlin, Germany
|
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
hmm... so, i re-emerged madwifi-ng, after re-emrging baselayout. modprobed wlan_scan_sta, and wlan_wep. now, it shows that it sees the access point, and i get these:
Code: | Trying to associate with <MAC address, correct ssid>
Association request to the driver failed
Authentication with <MAC address> timed out |
over and over in wpa_gui's log files.
so, thanks for helping me fix the modules. now what's wrong? did i not compile a driver option?
thanks for the help; at least i'm making progress.
EE |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
smlgbl Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/22687439542888b1409002.jpg)
Joined: 10 Feb 2005 Posts: 305
|
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Usually I have to modprobe only ath_pci, that pulls all the other necessary modules in as well. _________________ samuel.
'Do not let one girding on boast about himself like one unfastening' |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
ExecutorElassus Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/15750694344835dc870e988.jpg)
Joined: 11 Mar 2004 Posts: 1471 Location: Berlin, Germany
|
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
for me, it doesn't: i have to modprobe wlan_wep and wlan_scan_sta manually.
that still doesn't get to why the driver doesn't seem able to associate with an access point. i can't seem to connect, and the router still doesn't see the card.
EE |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
ExecutorElassus Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/15750694344835dc870e988.jpg)
Joined: 11 Mar 2004 Posts: 1471 Location: Berlin, Germany
|
Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
anybody have any other suggestions? my wifi is still unable to associate with the router. here's what i get now:
Code: | Trying to associate with <MAC address, correct ssid>
Association request to the driver failed
Authentication with 00:00:00:00:00:00 timed out |
over and over. what am i doing wrong here?
thanks,
EE |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
fernercc n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 01 Dec 2006 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 2:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Im using an Orinoco 8470-wd with madwifi-ng drivers.
However, for some reason i cant get wpa_supplicant to work
i get this:
ioctl[IEEE80211_IOCTL_SETMLME]: Invalid argument
Association request to the driver failed
Any suggestion? How did you guys get yours working? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|