Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
EVE Online
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CrazyIvanMN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2007
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never written an ebuild before, and I probably didn't do his right, but here it is:

games-rpg/eveonline-000062.ebuild
Code:
# Copyright 1999-2006 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $

DESCRIPTION="Eve-online!!!"
SRC_URI="http://ccp.vo.llnwd.net/o2/linux/eve-${PV}.tgz"
HOMEPAGE="Http://eve-online.com"
KEYWORDS="~x86"
SLOT="0"
LICENSE="evelicense"
IUSE=""

RDEPEND=">=x11-base/xorg-x11-7.2
  >=net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r5
  >=dev-lang/python-2.4.4-r4
  >=x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.14
  >=dev-util/glade-2.12.1
  >=dev-python/pygtk-2.10.4
  >=dev-python/dbus-python-0.80.2"
DEPEND="${RDEPEND}"

src_install() {
        cd "${WORKDIR}/"
        cp -R "./" "${D}/" || die "Install failed!"
}


the RDEPEND I just guessed and based it on : http://support.eve-online.com/Pages/KB/Article.aspx?id=379

put it in your overlay..
in my case /usr/local/portage/games-rpg/eveonline/
then:
$su
%cd /usr/local/portage/games-rpg/eveonline/
%ebuild eveonline-000062.ebuild digest
%emerge eveonline
%exit
$eve

and it starts an installer gui, and downloads the client.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowIce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 20
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hehe, I wrote one as well... https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=198274

My RDEPEND is mostly what is included in the cedega ebuild. I just removed glade, because it seems to work without that as well.
_________________
Go on, prove me wrong. Destroy the fabric of the universe. See if I care.
-- Terry Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CrazyIvanMN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2007
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like yours better :)

except.. I think you should name it with the version number of the download..

then update your SRC_URI to
SRC_URI="http://ccp.vo.llnwd.net/o2/linux/eve-${PV}.tgz"

i.e. change the name from
eve-online-0.62-r1.ebuild
to
eve-online-000062-r1.ebuild

just a thought anyway :)

I unmerged mine, and emerged yours.. but.. I think I certainly screwed something up.. I'd deleted the EVE Online directory outta my ~/.cedega directory.. but appearently there some other stuff that gets setup..

I did already have a full cedega installation and subscription.. which is why I didn't delete the whole ~/.cedega folder.. Now I'm backing up my ~/.cedega folder, to remove the whole thing, and I'll try running it again.

(appearently it takes a while to bzip2 3.5 gigs)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowIce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 20
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, you are right. Changed it. :D

And there are some hidden files and directorys in ~/.cedega/ so "rm * -R" in it won't delete everything. ;)
_________________
Go on, prove me wrong. Destroy the fabric of the universe. See if I care.
-- Terry Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CrazyIvanMN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2007
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay.. after removing my entire ~/.cedega directory, and using your latest ebuild (that uses the ${PV} in the SRC_URI)..

now it works fine.. and I noticed the 'EVE Online Configuration' thing in the Gnome Applications->Games.. w00t.

I run eve in a window, instead of full screen (the default), so in configure, on the general tab, I set 'Run In Window" to 1680x1050 (just type it in it's not an option.. I have a widescreen monitor, a pair of em actually), and unchecked DXGrab, so my mouse can leave the window.

and w00t.. exactly how eve was running before as far as screen layout..

I did notice in my first tests, some issues still haven't been resolved, or didn't appear to be anyway.. Numpad still doesn't work for typing numbers *cries*, and I still can't copy/paste from eve.. but I've been living with that for about a year now anyway, so I guess it's not a big deal.

:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JeffBlair
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 175
Location: USA, Lone star state

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the ebuild guy's.. I'm downloading the package now. I've been using Wine to run it and it was running ok most of the time. I guess we'll see if this one is any better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vputz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 310
Location: Oxford, England

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, tried the ebuild and it just sits there if I execute eve from the command line:
Quote:
vputz@yakprime /usr/local/portage $ eve
ARGS are -GAME EveOnline-linux
Looking for log.ini file. No CEDEGA_PATH; trying CEDEGA_UPDATER_PATH.
F1 2007-11-07 04:29:37,690 WARNING Don't forget to set up skins for the game EveOnline-linux


Nothin'. A little flash of screen and that's about it.

and this guy in ps ax :

Quote:

27624 pts/2 S+ 0:00 python /usr/lib/eve/cedega_installer.py -GAME EveOnline-linux


Just sittin' there doing nothing. Weird!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowIce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 20
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try to run "eve -config" and see if you get anything there. If yes you can run some tests there that might give a clue why eve won't start.
_________________
Go on, prove me wrong. Destroy the fabric of the universe. See if I care.
-- Terry Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vputz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 310
Location: Oxford, England

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

yakprime vputz # eve -config
ARGS are -config -GAME EveOnline-linux
Looking for log.ini file. No CEDEGA_PATH; trying CEDEGA_UPDATER_PATH.
F1 2007-11-07 06:05:20,694 WARNING Don't forget to set up skins for the game EveOnline-linux



HANG.

Think it could be an x86_64 problem? Maybe a problem with dwm as my WM?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowIce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 20
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm maybe....I have an AMD64 (dual core) and use Xfce. I have some minor problems (e.g. the client only uses one core, even if I start a second client and the mouse only works in the last started client if I start more then one) but it's playable.
_________________
Go on, prove me wrong. Destroy the fabric of the universe. See if I care.
-- Terry Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CrazyIvanMN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2007
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm

So now I'm trying to get the multiple clients to work.. I followed these instructions:
Multiple clients

The part I'm hung up on.. is can you create a gnome launcher that will do the 'export CEDEGA_PATH=...' first?

I put that command line in the 'command' property of a gnome launcher.. and.. no dice :(

it does work from the command line however.

So.. short of modifying the startup script in /usr/bin/eve to take like command line arguments or something (which I may do), is there a way in gnome to run that command from a launcher?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kate Monster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 226
Location: Clarkston, Michigan

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xaero wrote:
...

Nevermind. The "native" client works, but only with audio=0, voiceenabled=0 in prefs.ini.

And did anyone else notice they raised the system requirements? 1.0 ghz->1.8 ghz, 512 MB Ram ->1024 MB Ram 8O I was hoping I could squeak by with my laptop, but I guess not :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PEETIE
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I won't be purchasing the Linux version of Eve from Transgaming, nor anything from them for that matter. They've taken a dump on their Linux Cedega subscribers lately, as shown here in the lack of support(I guess maybe their too busy supporting new native app ports to Mac).

http://www.cedega.com/postlist.php?forum=1262

This seems to be the consensus from other users as well.

http://www.cedega.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8924
http://www.cedega.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9034


I urge all Linux users to avoid Transgaming and vote with your wallets, these guys aren't very community friendly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowIce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 20
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I won't be purchasing the Linux version of Eve from Transgaming, nor anything from them for that matter.


Luckily the Linux version of Eve is completely free. :P
_________________
Go on, prove me wrong. Destroy the fabric of the universe. See if I care.
-- Terry Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PEETIE
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

only for 14 days according to their website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowIce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 20
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes of course you still have to pay CCP for eve after your trial runs out (which is 14 days). But that's a different thing and it won't cost more just because you are playing under Linux/MacOS instead of Windows.
_________________
Go on, prove me wrong. Destroy the fabric of the universe. See if I care.
-- Terry Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5935

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i crash while undocking... have reason to believe it's partially ati at fault... anyone else crashing?
_________________
Neddyseagoon wrote:
The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence.

banned from #gentoo since sept 2017
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bos_mindwarp
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 275
Location: stockholm, sweden

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I played since 2003 (old school ftw), was pirate, then joined BoB. Got burned out after Great Northern War, it wasn't healthy how much we played, so I stopped. Gave my main character to one of the mates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CrazyIvanMN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2007
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bunder wrote:
i crash while undocking... have reason to believe it's partially ati at fault... anyone else crashing?


I don't have this problem, but I've heard it might be remedied by turning off sound in your prefs.ini I think..

Also I know it was an issue with the cedega engine a while back if your running the FPS monitor you'll crash when you undock... I've heard anyway, never tried it myself.

I however don't have an ATI card.. (nVidia ftw).. I do hope you get your issue resolved though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meeneque
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm i'm getting somethink like that

Code:
>>> Emerging (1 of 1) games-rpg/eve-online-000062-r1 to /
 * eve-000062.tgz MD5 ;-) ...                                                                                                                     [ ok ]
 * eve-000062.tgz RMD160 ;-) ...                                                                                                                  [ ok ]
 * eve-000062.tgz SHA1 ;-) ...                                                                                                                    [ ok ]
 * eve-000062.tgz SHA256 ;-) ...                                                                                                                  [ ok ]
 * eve-000062.tgz size ;-) ...                                                                                                                    [ ok ]
 * checking ebuild checksums ;-) ...                                                                                                              [ ok ]
 * checking auxfile checksums ;-) ...                                                                                                             [ ok ]
 * checking miscfile checksums ;-) ...                                                                                                            [ ok ]
 * checking eve-000062.tgz ;-) ...                                                                                                                [ ok ]
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking eve-000062.tgz to /var/tmp/portage/games-rpg/eve-online-000062-r1/work

gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
 *
 * ERROR: games-rpg/eve-online-000062-r1 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *                     ebuild.sh, line 1695:  Called dyn_unpack
 *                     ebuild.sh, line  811:  Called qa_call 'src_unpack'
 *                     ebuild.sh, line   44:  Called src_unpack
 *   eve-online-000062-r1.ebuild, line   29:  Called unpack 'eve-000062.tgz'
 *                     ebuild.sh, line  458:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *                              tar xozf "${srcdir}${x}" ${tar_opts} || die "$myfail"
 *  The die message:
 *   failure unpacking eve-000062.tgz


Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowIce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 20
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the file size and md5, they should be: 874.212 / 28f806f29b4e40c8acdc11c411f2342d
If they are the same try to manually unpack the tgz (tar -xzvf eve-000062.tgz).
_________________
Go on, prove me wrong. Destroy the fabric of the universe. See if I care.
-- Terry Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meeneque
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed it manually beforem but couldn't get it running anyway, I thought this trick with the ebuild may help me :D
I also tried to start EVE under wine-0.9.48 but there seems be some problem with d3d, eve is very slow and i 'm getting text focused in every other window except EVE :(.

Code:
fixme:d3d_draw:drawPrimitive Using software emulation because not all material properties could be tracked


edit: the problem was with the missing nvidia module which i accidentally deleted :) Now its ~30FPS with my lowend rig. But it works!!! Goodbye windows :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vputz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 310
Location: Oxford, England

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Incidentally my problem was indeed with wmii. Emerged fluxbox and started a session of that and it started downloading like mad and threatening to bust my college network bandwidth limit, so once I learn how to throttle I'll give it another go. Somewhat frustrating, but maybe Eve proper will play in wmii so I can push it around like everything else (muhaha).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meeneque
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just updated to .49 and it works great with minor problems. Audio is perfect and It even works with ventrilo :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terrylava
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I try to install it with the ebuild it says that the ebuild is corrupted. Since nobody else has reported this problem, I believe I must be doing something wrong. Does anyone have any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 5 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum