View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tomeck3145 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 07 Jan 2007 Posts: 3 Location: Warszawa
|
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:47 pm Post subject: [solved] Can't use wireless network interface |
|
|
Hi,
I am running gentoo on nc6120 notebook. I have successfully installed wireless network drivers (bcm43xx) - well, almost successfully. I can bring the wireless interface (eth0) up and down, I can bind to certain network, I get IP, ifconfig shows that some data goes through the iface. But, I cannot use it:
Code: |
localhost conf.d # ping 192.168.0.1
PING 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.168.0.3 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
|
(this is the adresss of the wireless accesspoint). I'll post some outputs then:
Code: |
localhost conf.d # ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:14:A5:1E:5D:D1
inet addr:192.168.0.3 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:151839 errors:0 dropped:18934 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:261 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:97095466 (92.5 Mb) TX bytes:13394 (13.0 Kb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0x8000
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:14:38:1E:6C:B2
inet addr:192.168.0.169 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:714 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:668 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:701579 (685.1 Kb) TX bytes:122199 (119.3 Kb)
Interrupt:11
|
You must note, that these are two different networks, even they have the same subnet address. I have tried booting with eth1 completely down (no initscripts, no cable plugged, nothing).
Some more output:
Code: |
localhost conf.d # iwlist scan
lo Interface doesn't support scanning.
eth0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:09:5B:CD:F3:F8
ESSID:"NETGEAR"
Protocol:IEEE 802.11bg
Mode:Master
Channel:11
Encryption key:off
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
11 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
Quality=80/100 Signal level=-64 dBm Noise level=-73 dBm
Extra: Last beacon: 110ms ago
eth1 Interface doesn't support scanning.
|
And, finally, modules:
Code: |
localhost conf.d # lsmod | grep bcm
bcm43xx 379872 0
firmware_class 5760 1 bcm43xx
ieee80211softmac 15360 1 bcm43xx
ieee80211 21320 2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac
|
Lastly, the config:
Code: |
localhost conf.d # cat /etc/conf.d/net
iface_eth1="dhcp"
dhcpcd_eth1=""
iface_eth0="dhcp"
dhcpcd_eth0=""
|
Does anybody have any idea? I would be pleased. I spent some time browsing the web. It could be some stupid misake of mine.
Bye!
PS - I did one more test: I booted with eth1 unplugged (but starting initscripts). I did ping then, and that's what I got:
Code: |
localhost tomek # ping onet.pl
PING onet.pl (213.180.130.200) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from f1virt.onet.pl (213.180.130.200): icmp_seq=1 ttl=60 time=20.1 ms
64 bytes from f1virt.onet.pl (213.180.130.200): icmp_seq=1 ttl=60 time=21.6 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from f1virt.onet.pl (213.180.130.200): icmp_seq=1 ttl=60 time=23.1 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from f1virt.onet.pl (213.180.130.200): icmp_seq=1 ttl=60 time=24.6 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from f1virt.onet.pl (213.180.130.200): icmp_seq=2 ttl=60 time=86.0 ms
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=2 ttl=60 time=87.7 ms (DUP!)
--- onet.pl ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, +4 duplicates, 0% packet loss, time 15582ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 20.117/43.900/87.719/30.443 ms, pipe 2
|
Please consider huge time (15582 ms) and duplicates.
Now, the same host, but through its numerical address:
Code: |
localhost tomek # ping 213.180.130.200
PING 213.180.130.200 (213.180.130.200) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=1 ttl=60 time=577 ms
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=1 ttl=60 time=578 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=1 ttl=60 time=580 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=1 ttl=60 time=581 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=2 ttl=60 time=13.6 ms
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=2 ttl=60 time=15.1 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=2 ttl=60 time=16.9 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=2 ttl=60 time=19.0 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=3 ttl=60 time=20.9 ms
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=3 ttl=60 time=22.9 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=3 ttl=60 time=24.6 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=3 ttl=60 time=27.1 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=4 ttl=60 time=18.8 ms
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=4 ttl=60 time=20.3 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=4 ttl=60 time=22.1 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=4 ttl=60 time=23.8 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=5 ttl=60 time=12.9 ms
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=5 ttl=60 time=14.6 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=5 ttl=60 time=16.6 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=5 ttl=60 time=18.3 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=6 ttl=60 time=14.5 ms
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=6 ttl=60 time=17.4 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=6 ttl=60 time=19.3 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=6 ttl=60 time=20.9 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=7 ttl=60 time=19.0 ms
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=7 ttl=60 time=20.6 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=7 ttl=60 time=22.7 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=7 ttl=60 time=24.2 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=8 ttl=60 time=21.8 ms
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=8 ttl=60 time=23.3 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=8 ttl=60 time=24.9 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 213.180.130.200: icmp_seq=8 ttl=60 time=26.4 ms (DUP!)
--- 213.180.130.200 ping statistics ---
8 packets transmitted, 8 received, +24 duplicates, 0% packet loss, time 7001ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 12.996/90.068/581.877/185.055 ms
|
Now there are more duplicates, but the time is little less.
I have no idea of what is wrong. Could it be the drivers' matter?
Last edited by tomeck3145 on Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:44 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Telemin l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/14625081734b55c874a3922.png)
Joined: 25 Aug 2005 Posts: 753 Location: Glasgow, UK
|
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It is possibly to do with the way your network connections are being routed (wired first it seems), try adding the following line to your /etc/conf.d/net file.
Code: |
routes_eth0="default gw 192.168.0.1"
|
This should route communications with the gateway through your wireless interface not your wired interface.
--EDIT--
Also if that fails can you post your routing table "route -n" anyway please. _________________ The Geek formerly known as -Freestyling-
When you feel your problem has been solved please add [Solved] to the topic title.
Please adopt an unanswered post |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
tomeck3145 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 07 Jan 2007 Posts: 3 Location: Warszawa
|
Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Nope, adding line to conf.d/net did not help, the symptomps are the same - I get duplicate packets during ping.
My route -n:
Code: |
localhost tomek # route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 2000 0 0 eth0
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth1
0.0.0.0 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 2000 0 0 eth0
|
Is gateway set inproperly? I am not sure if I have mentioned it, I use dhcp for both interfaces.
--EDIT:
My problem seems to be similar to:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-530247.html?sid=41197cb276faa2f4eea8553465cd9af2 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
tomeck3145 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 07 Jan 2007 Posts: 3 Location: Warszawa
|
Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Finally, I brought the wireless to work properly.
What I did is:
The interfaces seem to have problems when working simultaneoulsy, so I use only at one time;
To get rid of the duplicate packets (which slow connection down), I must:
Select KDE->Control Center->Network configuration ;
Turn off all interfaces
Turn on desired interface.
I will se what KDE scripts do when I do invoke the Control Center functions, maybe there is something I have misses
Bye! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|