Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mount local filesystems problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MasterDragon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:57 am    Post subject: mount local filesystems problem Reply with quote

Note: I am very new to Linux, as such this is probably a very noobish problem. But, I have been through an ungodly amount of documentation and searched the forums several times and have yet to find an answer. I will attempt to provide as much relevant information as possible and hopefully this will get solved, thanks.

My system has 4 SATA hard drives, Linux recognizes them as sda, sdb, sdc, and sdd. Gentoo is installed on sdc with /boot on sdc1 swap on sdc2 and / on sdc3. The other 3 drives are used as storage; sda and sdd are formated as ext3 while sdb is formatted as ntfs (leftover from when I used Windows). The problem is that I can't seem to mount my storage drives at boot. Using this fstab file gentoo itself boots fine, but sda sdb and sdd do not. The folders /media/sda1 /media/sdb1 and /media/sdd1 all exist. Also, when I attempt to mount said drives using this fstab while booted (I make a trivial change such as adding a space and then save, though I am sure there is a better way to do this) I get a screen saying it found the drive and asks what action to take (actually 3, one for each drive). When I select open two things happen:
1. It opens a window with the location media:/sda1 (or sdb1, sdd1 depending on which window I clicked). Going up one level I am in the location "media:/" which I can only seem to get to via the KDE "storage media" shortcut (i.e. I cannot seem to find it anywhere under /, cannot get to it via a command prompt, and it is evidently not a link to /media as the contents are different). I don't know if this is normal or not, I must as that you please forgive my ignorance in this case.
2. It gives me an error saying "feature only available with HAL". After searching the forums and all the documentation I could find I was merely able to confirm my assumption that HAL stood for hardware abstraction layer. I tried "emerge hal" which did not fix it.

Furthermore I can manually mount the partitions without any problems to the directories /media/sda1, /media/sdb1, and /media/sdd1 by doing:
Code:
mount -t ext3 /dev/sda1 /media/sda1
mount -t ntfs /dev/sdb1 /media/sdb1
mount -t ext3 /dev/sdd1 /media/sdd1

After doing that, I can access the contents of the drives through their respective directories in /media/ or media:/
But, that still leaves the problem of them not mounting at boot.
My fstab:
Code:
/dev/sda1   /media/sda1   ext3   defaults   0 0
/dev/sdb1   /media/sdb1   ntfs   defaults        0 0
/dev/sdd1   /media/sdd1   ext3   defaults        0 0
/dev/sdc1   /boot           ext2    defaults        1 2
/dev/sdc2   none            swap    sw              0 0
/dev/sdc3       /           ext3    defaults        0 1
none            /proc        proc    defaults        0 0
none            /dev/shm     tmpfs   defaults        0 0

Hopefully I was clear enough in describing the problem, how do I fix this?

(Also, if anyone could explain the difference between "/media" and "media:/" it would be greatly appreciated)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IQgryn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try changing the order of your fstab, so that / is first, followed by boot, swap, and then the rest. The mount may be failing because there is no /media until / is mounted.

The difference between /media and media:/ is that /media is the physical folder where removable media are normally mounted, but media:/ is the konqueror/kde-specific protocol for accessing all removeable devices. SATA drives might be shown as removeable because usb drives also show up under sd*, but i'm not really sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterDragon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Changed the order of fstab as instructed and it works perfectly now.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IQgryn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad I could help. Please add "[SOLVED]" to the end of the topic, so that other people will know you've been answered.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum