View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jschweg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:53 pm    Post subject: X11 Video Driver Confusion Reply with quote

Hi guys, I'm not new to linux in general, however I am new to Gentoo and have also never really used Linux as anything other than a server OS (Until now that is). I'm confused about a few things and hope to have some of these questions cleared up.

I got a little ahead of myself and compiled xorg-x11 without reading the How-To first. I didn't set the VIDEO_CARD variable in the make.conf (I have an nvidia card). Can I go back and add that variable, then re-emerge xorg-x11?

Also I don't really understand the whole video driver thing :oops: . Do I need to emerge the nvidia-driver package to get X working (or do you need it to use the above variable?), or is this just for hardware acceleration? When I used to use linux years ago, I thought that I just built the support for the video card into the kernel.
wah
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

I got a little ahead of myself and compiled xorg-x11 without reading the How-To first. I didn't set the VIDEO_CARD variable in the make.conf (I have an nvidia card). Can I go back and add that variable, then re-emerge xorg-x11?

Yes - just add that variable to your make.conf and do an emerge -vuDNa

Quote:

Also I don't really understand the whole video driver thing :oops: . Do I need to emerge the nvidia-driver package to get X working (or do you need it to use the above variable?), or is this just for hardware acceleration? When I used to use linux years ago, I thought that I just built the support for the video card into the kernel.