Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
few questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
b.rutkovsky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 10:15 pm    Post subject: few questions Reply with quote

hi I am new to gentoo and I have some problems...

1. sound icon is always muted when gentoo starts...is there possibility to change it to unmuted on start?
2. maybe a stupid question...I don't know how to browse cd. I put the cd into the cd-rom and nothing happens. Where's the cd-rom located?
3. there's no sound on youtube:/

...please help me;P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cride5
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 21
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
1. sound icon is always muted when gentoo starts...is there possibility to change it to unmuted on start?

I think when the volume is adjusted by root then it remains persistent between reboots, try>
Code:
$ su
# alsamixer

(if you are using the alsa sound systen)
then adjust the volume


Quote:
2. maybe a stupid question...I don't know how to browse cd. I put the cd into the cd-rom and nothing happens. Where's the cd-rom located?

You need to mount the CD device which is usually at /dev/cdrom, simplest way to do this is:
Code:
$ su
# mkdir /mnt/cdrom
# mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom

This will change you to root. You then need to create the directory you are going to mount the cd onto and finally you do the mount. You need to remember to to umount /mnt/cdrom to unmount it when you are finnished.
If you want to be able to mount the cd without being root you should add a line like the following to /etc/fstab
Code:
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro,user  0 0

Then it is just a case of typing (as any user): mount /mnt/cdrom


Quote:
3. there's no sound on youtube:/

I'm assuming you have flash and the appropriate codecs installed. I would imagine it relates to your previous problem with sound being muted. Fixing problem 1 should probably fix this one...
_________________
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe + AMD Athlon 64 3700 + GeForce 6 6600GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:20 pm    Post subject: Re: few questions Reply with quote

b.rutkovsky wrote:
1. sound icon is always muted when gentoo starts...is there possibility to change it to unmuted on start?

Unmute and raise the volume to the desired levels using whatever mixer you like, I just use alsamixer. Then run
Code:
/etc/init.d/alsasound save

As root to save the mixer levels. They should be restored when ALSA is started

b.rutkovsky wrote:
2. maybe a stupid question...I don't know how to browse cd. I put the cd into the cd-rom and nothing happens. Where's the cd-rom located?

Are you using kde, gnome, something else? If you are using an automounter of some sort the cdrom is automatically mounted to /media/cdrom. You can check what devices are mounted and what their mount points are by running
Code:
mount
from the shell. If auto-mounting isn't working for you please let me know what you are using for a DE/WM so I can give the proper advice/help. Thanks.

b.rutkovsky wrote:
3. there's no sound on youtube:/

Was anything else using the soundcard at the time? What sound card do you have? This could be a mixing problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI: If you're in the "audio" group you won't need to be root to run alsamixer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

True, but he will need to be root to run
Code:
/etc/init.d/alsasound save
afterwards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b.rutkovsky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 3:17 pm    Post subject: Re: few questions Reply with quote

Zepp wrote:

/etc/init.d/alsasound save

It doesn't work. Maybe the problem is that even if I change volume in alsamixer it is still muted until I unmute it in the Volume Applet 2.14.2 (I've it on my panel so it's probably used as a default volume controller).

Cride5 wrote:
mkdir /mnt/cdrom

"mkdir: cannot create directory `/mnt/cdrom': No such file or directory"

Zepp wrote:
If auto-mounting isn't working for you please let me know what you are using for a DE/WM so I can give the proper advice/help.
I'm using Gnome

Zepp wrote:

Was anything else using the soundcard at the time? What sound card do you have? This could be a mixing problem.

Nothing was using the soundcard at that time. I have Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW High Definition Audio Controller.
I have flash installed...codecs...hm I don't know which codecs are required...but I can play sound files like mp3 or wave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 3:29 pm    Post subject: Re: few questions Reply with quote

b.rutkovsky wrote:
Zepp wrote:

/etc/init.d/alsasound save

It doesn't work. Maybe the problem is that even if I change volume in alsamixer it is still muted until I unmute it in the Volume Applet 2.14.2 (I've it on my panel so it's probably used as a default volume controller).

pressing 'm' should mute/unmute the selected channel in alsamixer. /etc/init.d/alsasound save errors or just doesn't restore the mixer settings when you restart alsa?

b.rutkovsky wrote:

Cride5 wrote:
mkdir /mnt/cdrom

"mkdir: cannot create directory `/mnt/cdrom': No such file or directory"

What does ls / return, do you don't have a /mnt directory....?



b.rutkovsky wrote:
Zepp wrote:
If auto-mounting isn't working for you please let me know what you are using for a DE/WM so I can give the proper advice/help.
I'm using Gnome
emerge gnome-volume-manager if it isn't installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b.rutkovsky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 5:22 pm    Post subject: Re: few questions Reply with quote

Zepp wrote:

pressing 'm' should mute/unmute the selected channel in alsamixer. /etc/init.d/alsasound save errors or just doesn't restore the mixer settings when you restart alsa?


ok, now when I unmute sound in alsamixer it's also unmuted on the panel, but after adding the "/etc/init.d/alsasound save" and reboot the sound is muted again:/


Zepp wrote:

What does ls / return, do you don't have a /mnt directory....?

I don't know:P...I installed gentoo from livecd (I mounted /, /boot, /home etc on partitions)

Code:
# mount
/dev/hda8 on / type reiserfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
/dev/hda1 on /boot type ext2 (rw)
/dev/hda5 on /opt type reiserfs (rw)
/dev/hda6 on /var type reiserfs (rw)
/dev/hda7 on /usr type reiserfs (rw)
/dev/hda9 on /home type ext3 (rw)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devmode=0664,devgid=85)



Zepp wrote:
emerge gnome-volume-manager
Wasn't installed, emerged it and when I insert cd also nothing happens:D

When I enter the volume management in Gnome menu I get:
Code:
Volume management not supported
The "hald" service is required but not currently running. Enable the service and rerun this application, or contact your system administrator.
Note: You need Linux kernel 2.6 for volume management to work.

I'm 100% sure I have 2.6 kernel

Two other questions;) :
- what will happen to previously emerged applications if I recompile kernel?
- is there possibility to reemerge applications with new USE flags without loosing configuration (for example if I forgotten to add some flags before first emerge)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
float-
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try adding alsa to your boot runlevel
Code:
rc-update add alsasound boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:09 am    Post subject: Re: few questions Reply with quote

b.rutkovsky wrote:

Zepp wrote:

What does ls / return, do you don't have a /mnt directory....?

I don't know:P...I installed gentoo from livecd (I mounted /, /boot, /home etc on partitions)

Code:
# mount
/dev/hda8 on / type reiserfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
/dev/hda1 on /boot type ext2 (rw)
/dev/hda5 on /opt type reiserfs (rw)
/dev/hda6 on /var type reiserfs (rw)
/dev/hda7 on /usr type reiserfs (rw)
/dev/hda9 on /home type ext3 (rw)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devmode=0664,devgid=85)

mkdir /mnt if you don't have the directory already, you should but I don't know how the livecd works as I don't use it.

b.rutkovsky wrote:

Zepp wrote:
emerge gnome-volume-manager
Wasn't installed, emerged it and when I insert cd also nothing happens:D

When I enter the volume management in Gnome menu I get:
Code:
Volume management not supported
The "hald" service is required but not currently running. Enable the service and rerun this application, or contact your system administrator.
Note: You need Linux kernel 2.6 for volume management to work.

I'm 100% sure I have 2.6 kernel

If you don't have HAL you should emerge it.

b.rutkovsky wrote:

Two other questions;) :
- what will happen to previously emerged applications if I recompile kernel?
- is there possibility to reemerge applications with new USE flags without loosing configuration (for example if I forgotten to add some flags before first emerge)?

- Nothing unless they depend on some kernel feature that you do not include in the new kernel
- Yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b.rutkovsky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
localhost bartek # mkdir /mnt
localhost bartek # mkdir /mnt/cdrom
localhost bartek # mount /dev/cdrom mnt/cdrom
mount: mount point mnt/cdrom does not exist


wtf?:P

float- , it helped..thanks ;)

Zepp wrote:
If you don't have HAL you should emerge it.

ok I emerged it but how to enable it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b.rutkovsky wrote:
Code:
localhost bartek # mkdir /mnt
localhost bartek # mkdir /mnt/cdrom
localhost bartek # mount /dev/cdrom mnt/cdrom
mount: mount point mnt/cdrom does not exist


wtf?:P

float- , it helped..thanks ;)

Zepp wrote:
If you don't have HAL you should emerge it.

ok I emerged it but how to enable it?


For the first bit (the mount command) you forgot the leading / it should read "/mnt/cdrom" (unless you are actually currently in / which you are not judging by your $PS1 :P)


To start HAL
Code:
/etc/init.d/hald start
rc-update add hald default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b.rutkovsky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BIG THANKS!!!:)

I've run hald and cdrom is working fine:D

and...no way:P...the sound on youtube started to work also:P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum