Some questions about Gentoo...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
TheNewOsiris
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:24 pm    Post subject: Some questions about Gentoo... Reply with quote

The other day a friend of mine told me that I should switch to Gentoo. I have been using Kubuntu for about 2 years and everything "just worked" after the install. I asked my friend why and he said that Gentoo offers you more of a choice or more control or something like that. At any rate, he wasn't able to explain it very well, and so I find myself here, asking "IF (for whatever reason) I wanted to make a switch from Kubuntu to Gentoo, what would be the benefits and drawbacks of Gentoo over Kubuntu?"

Thanks.
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheNewOsiris,

Welcome to gentoo. The major difference between Gentoo and the binary distros, including Kubuntu is that Gentoo is a meta-distribution. Gentoo provides a package manager (portage) and a set of scripts that describe how to build the software you choose to install. As a result, you use Gentoo to make your own distro. This means yo only get the packages you ask for and teh things needed to support them. Gentoo exposes all the controls and demands that you use them. Binary distros come preconfigured with the controls obscured.

You need to make up your own mind if these Gentoo features are benefits or drawbacks to you

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
TheNewOsiris
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote