Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[einit] versions 0.14.0.500 - 0.15.2 -- happy new year
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15 ... 17, 18, 19  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="rmh3093"]for anyone with >=udev-103 that wants udev in einit to behave like sysvinit can try the script below, it replaces net.sh in /lib/udev which gets called by /etc/udev/rules.d/95-net.rules when you modprobe a nic module

/lib/udev/net.sh:
really cool script


This is sooo much more functional than the crappy udev rule I wrote. Now I'll be able to boot into sysv for troubleshooting w/o udev trying to start einit!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. We have a problem. I just booted into sysv to check on my dhcpcd issue. As of right now, einit is taking >40 seconds longer to reach a usable state than sysvinit. I'm going to debug my configs to make sure I haven't screwed anything up, but I think we should check and compare to be sure.
Also, my issue with dhcpcd not setting the routing table only occurs in einit. It works properly in sysv.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberPinguin wrote:
OK. We have a problem. I just booted into sysv to check on my dhcpcd issue. As of right now, einit is taking >40 seconds longer to reach a usable state than sysvinit. I'm going to debug my configs to make sure I haven't screwed anything up, but I think we should check and compare to be sure.
Also, my issue with dhcpcd not setting the routing table only occurs in einit. It works properly in sysv.


i've gone back to using this:
Code:
    <node mountpoint="/var/tmp" fs="tmpfs" options="critical" />
    <node mountpoint="/var/run" fs="tmpfs" options="critical" />
    <node mountpoint="/var/log" fs="tmpfs" options="critical" />
in my fstab section lately so that einit dosent touch anything sysvinit related and vise versa

EDIT: and thanks about that script
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AAARRRG! I want to rip my hair out...

im trying to write this apache2 module...
this will not start apache:
     <shell id="shell-apache2"
      name="apache2"
      provides="apache"
      requires="mount/local"
      enable="apache2 ${configuration_apache_apache2_opts} -d ${configuration_apache_serverroot} -f {configuration_apache_configfile} -k start"
      disable="apache2 -k stop"
      vairables="configuration-apache/.*"/>



this version starts apache in debug mode(only way to not fork), it starts but dosent stop properly:
     <daemon id="daemon-apache2"
      name="apache2"
      provides="apache"
      requires="mount/local"
      command="apache2 -X ${configuration_apache_apache2_opts} -d ${configuration_apache_serverroot} -f {configuration_apache_configfile} -k start"
      vairables="configuration-apache/.*"/>

running in debug mode only creates 1 worker thread instead of many so this is not a good solution... also when the this module is disabled the server closes but the worker stays open and I cant kill it with 'killall'


any help would be appreciated

EDIT: I got apache to start properly as a shell module by adding "pexec-options safe-environment", that was a lucky shot as I have no idea what safe-environment does :wink:
Code:
     <shell id="shell-apache2"
      name="apache2"
      provides="apache"
      requires="mount/local"
      enable="pexec-options safe-environment; apache2 ${configuration_apache_apache2_opts} -d ${configuration_apache_serverroot} -f {configuration_apache_configfile} -k start"
      disable="apache2 -k stop"
      vairables="configuration-apache/.*"/>
however I still cant kill this damn thing.... the onlything that works is "killall -9 apache2" from cli, this wont work if I put it in the disable= line it just times out
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
f0rk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adding some lines in <prefer> section didn't help me... :(
Here is my local.xml:
Code:

...
 <prefer>
   <xdm s="daemon-entrance" />
   <x11 s="daemon-xorg" />
   <kern-alsa s="shell-kern-audio-alsa" />
  </prefer>
...
<enable services="sysconf:swap:ipc:mount/local:hostname:mpd:tty:keyboard:dbus:hal:utmp:acpi:audio:xdm" critical="mount/critical" />

But entrance doesn't start at all.
einit doesn't try to start it (as I can see)...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1740
Location: Emerald Isles, observing Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
EDIT: I got apache to start properly as a shell module by adding "pexec-options safe-environment", that was a lucky shot as I have no idea what safe-environment does :wink:
Code:
     <shell id="shell-apache2"
      name="apache2"
      provides="apache"
      requires="mount/local"
      enable="pexec-options safe-environment; apache2 ${configuration_apache_apache2_opts} -d ${configuration_apache_serverroot} -f {configuration_apache_configfile} -k start"
      disable="apache2 -k stop"
      vairables="configuration-apache/.*"/>
however I still cant kill this damn thing.... the onlything that works is "killall -9 apache2" from cli, this wont work if I put it in the disable= line it just times out

wickedness...
i'm going to look into it later (got some uni assignments left.. meh...)

pexec-options safe-environment; should make sure that the environment is somewhat sane....

f0rk wrote:
Adding some lines in <prefer> section didn't help me... :(
Here is my local.xml:
Code:

...
 <prefer>
   <xdm s="daemon-entrance" />
   <x11 s="daemon-xorg" />
   <kern-alsa s="shell-kern-audio-alsa" />
  </prefer>
...
<enable services="sysconf:swap:ipc:mount/local:hostname:mpd:tty:keyboard:dbus:hal:utmp:acpi:audio:xdm" critical="mount/critical" />

But entrance doesn't start at all.
einit doesn't try to start it (as I can see)...

could you post your complete local.xml again so i can have another look? does "einit --wtf" say anything? ;)
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
f0rk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, einit --wtf says nothing:
Code:

andy@void ~ $ sudo einit --wtf
eINIT 0.15.2-svn-677: Initialising: Linux
 >> parsing "/etc/einit/einit.xml".
 >> parsing "/etc/einit/local.xml".
NOTICE: configuration variable "services-external" not found. (not a problem)
andy@void ~ $


my local.xml: http://slil.ru/23817968

Thanks in advance! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1740
Location: Emerald Isles, observing Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

f0rk wrote:
No, einit --wtf says nothing:
Code:

andy@void ~ $ sudo einit --wtf
eINIT 0.15.2-svn-677: Initialising: Linux
 >> parsing "/etc/einit/einit.xml".
 >> parsing "/etc/einit/local.xml".
NOTICE: configuration variable "services-external" not found. (not a problem)
andy@void ~ $


my local.xml: http://slil.ru/23817968

Thanks in advance! ;)

weird, the file does look in order and the relevant sections are exactly the same as mine (i'm using entrance myself)

how far does it get on tty1? anything marked as FAIL? anything suspicious on tty11?
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
f0rk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, on tty1 all marked as ENAB.
But entrance or x11 are absent at all...
On tty11 - nothing suspicious: some info about dbus, tty's etc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try going to tty2 and typing 'erc xdm disable; erc x11 disable; erc xdm enable', hit enter, then rapidly switch to tty11 and watch for unusual messages. Sometimes dbus can flood tty11 and make it nearly impossible to catch error messages until it is finished initializing. Also, sometimes tty12 has a clue or two.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1740
Location: Emerald Isles, observing Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberPinguin wrote:
Try going to tty2 and typing 'erc xdm disable; erc x11 disable; erc xdm enable', hit enter, then rapidly switch to tty11 and watch for unusual messages. Sometimes dbus can flood tty11 and make it nearly impossible to catch error messages until it is finished initializing. Also, sometimes tty12 has a clue or two.

i'm working on catching and categorizing those messages, hope to have something useful tomorrow or so ;)
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
f0rk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberPinguin wrote:
Try going to tty2 and typing 'erc xdm disable; erc x11 disable; erc xdm enable', hit enter, then rapidly switch to tty11 and watch for unusual messages. Sometimes dbus can flood tty11 and make it nearly impossible to catch error messages until it is finished initializing. Also, sometimes tty12 has a clue or two.


ok, I tried it.
I have on tty11:
Code:

WARNING: unavailable services x11
WARNING: unavailable services xdm

8O
Rather interesting why...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

f0rk wrote:
UberPinguin wrote:
Try going to tty2 and typing 'erc xdm disable; erc x11 disable; erc xdm enable', hit enter, then rapidly switch to tty11 and watch for unusual messages. Sometimes dbus can flood tty11 and make it nearly impossible to catch error messages until it is finished initializing. Also, sometimes tty12 has a clue or two.


ok, I tried it.
I have on tty11:
Code:

WARNING: unavailable services x11
WARNING: unavailable services xdm

8O
Rather interesting why...


give me a few minutes to emerge entrance and i will see if I can make a better module for entrance... i had a feeling it was those weird deps (x11 xdm)....

EDIT: entrance should definately not require xdm... and it should auto start x11 so you dont need either of those
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
f0rk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:

EDIT: entrance should definately not require xdm... and it should auto start x11 so you dont need either of those


Well, I also have:
Code:
WARNING: unavailable services entrance

(when I try to start entrance manually: erc entrance enable)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
give me a few minutes to emerge entrance and i will see if I can make a better module for entrance... i had a feeling it was those weird deps (x11 xdm)....

EDIT: entrance should definately not require xdm... and it should auto start x11 so you dont need either of those
Yeah, entrance should 'provide="xdm"' and 'requires="x11"', so it should start X as a dependency, and not actually require xdm. I have 'xdm' in my default mode, without specifying 'x11', and entrance works great for me. Additionally, x11 requires 'video', so if you haven't setup the video module x11 won't start (I cheat and remove the dependency on video. Shhhh! :twisted:).
Also, I think X has been starting slowly because my DRI modules weren't being loaded. Due to an experiment gone bad, I had to rebuild all of my modules and modprobe them manually, and now X loads much faster.


Last edited by UberPinguin on Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:04 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

f0rk wrote:
rmh3093 wrote:

EDIT: entrance should definately not require xdm... and it should auto start x11 so you dont need either of those


Well, I also have:
Code:
WARNING: unavailable services entrance

(when I try to start entrance manually: erc entrance enable)

That's because 'entrance' is not defined as a service; it provides 'xdm'.
Just FYI, in the interim if you really really need GUI:
Code:
# X :0 & entrance -d :0.0
should do the trick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

einit --wtf:
eINIT 0.15.2-svn-678: Initialising: Linux
 >> parsing "/etc/einit/einit.xml".
 >> parsing "/etc/einit/local.xml".
einit_config_xml_expat_parse_configuration_file(): cannot open directory "/etc/einit/modules/": No such file or directory
einit_config_xml_expat_parse_configuration_file(): cannot open directory "/etc/einit/local/": No such file or directory
 * cannot stat device "router:/srv" from node "/remote/router", the error was "No such file or directory".
 * cannot stat device "router:/mp3" from node "/remote/music", the error was "No such file or directory".
NOTICE: configuration variable "services-external" not found. (not a problem)

The stuff about my remote FS is normal, but IDK about the /etc/einit/ lines.... :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberPinguin wrote:
einit --wtf:
eINIT 0.15.2-svn-678: Initialising: Linux
 >> parsing "/etc/einit/einit.xml".
 >> parsing "/etc/einit/local.xml".
einit_config_xml_expat_parse_configuration_file(): cannot open directory "/etc/einit/modules/": No such file or directory
einit_config_xml_expat_parse_configuration_file(): cannot open directory "/etc/einit/local/": No such file or directory
 * cannot stat device "router:/srv" from node "/remote/router", the error was "No such file or directory".
 * cannot stat device "router:/mp3" from node "/remote/music", the error was "No such file or directory".
NOTICE: configuration variable "services-external" not found. (not a problem)

The stuff about my remote FS is normal, but IDK about the /etc/einit/ lines.... :?:

yeah thats because the magnus broke out a bunch of modules, i need to fix the einit ebuild to create /etc/einit/modules so that it dont bitch... but its nothing to worry about
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I knew that; in fact, those directories were created the last time I installed. I guess they got removed in this latest update.
Nevermind my speculation about Xorg's slow start...still researching that one :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberPinguin wrote:
I knew that; in fact, those directories were created the last time I installed. I guess they got removed in this latest update.
Nevermind my speculation about Xorg's slow start...still researching that one :roll:


something about the ebuild removes those dirs if they are empty
... i have created the local dir many times and it always disapears
... i have something in modules so it stays
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modified_bessel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 101
Location: Cote d'Azur, France

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to change subject; do you have any info as to when the wiki will be re-opened? It was up a few days ago, and now...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1740
Location: Emerald Isles, observing Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
EDIT: entrance should definately not require xdm... and it should auto start x11 so you dont need either of those

yeh, but entrance *is* an xdm. entranceD will autostart x11, entrance itself will not :)

f0rk wrote:
rmh3093 wrote:

EDIT: entrance should definately not require xdm... and it should auto start x11 so you dont need either of those


Well, I also have:
Code:
WARNING: unavailable services entrance

(when I try to start entrance manually: erc entrance enable)

xdm is the service you want to start. entrance is one implementation of the xdm concept, thus the service is called xdm. same with gentoo's baselayout, the script to get entrance up is xdm as well, you need to make it use entrance in a configuration file -- which is related to the <prefer-xdm /> variable i posted.

rmh3093 wrote:
UberPinguin wrote:
einit --wtf:
eINIT 0.15.2-svn-678: Initialising: Linux
 >> parsing "/etc/einit/einit.xml".
 >> parsing "/etc/einit/local.xml".
einit_config_xml_expat_parse_configuration_file(): cannot open directory "/etc/einit/modules/": No such file or directory
einit_config_xml_expat_parse_configuration_file(): cannot open directory "/etc/einit/local/": No such file or directory
 * cannot stat device "router:/srv" from node "/remote/router", the error was "No such file or directory".
 * cannot stat device "router:/mp3" from node "/remote/music", the error was "No such file or directory".
NOTICE: configuration variable "services-external" not found. (not a problem)

The stuff about my remote FS is normal, but IDK about the /etc/einit/ lines.... :?:

yeah thats because the magnus broke out a bunch of modules, i need to fix the einit ebuild to create /etc/einit/modules so that it dont bitch... but its nothing to worry about

yeh, but the makefile creates them? that used to work fine here (?)

well, the dirs stay on my box, anyway.. maybe i should add a touch */.keep ...

modified_bessel wrote:
Sorry to change subject; do you have any info as to when the wiki will be re-opened? It was up a few days ago, and now...?

lol, you know, i friggen hate my isp ;)

it's not that i deliberately took it down, for some reason apache doesn't want to start anymore 'cause someone on that server (not me) messed up memory handling in virtual machines ><
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
f0rk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I'm running erc xdm enable and I see on tty11:
WARNING: unavailable services: video, video, video, video, video, video
What does it mean?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

f0rk wrote:
So, I'm running erc xdm enable and I see on tty11:
WARNING: unavailable services: video, video, video, video, video, video
What does it mean?

Read up a little bit - I already addressed that ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1740
Location: Emerald Isles, observing Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

f0rk wrote:
So, I'm running erc xdm enable and I see on tty11:
WARNING: unavailable services: video, video, video, video, video, video
What does it mean?

that means you need to set up something to provide the video service for you...
with the default local.xml, there's a <video group="" /> entry that would provide this, normally you only need to modify that (i see you removed that entry -- how come? i really did try to only put stuff in there that would be required for most people...)

anyway, what exactly to put there depends on your graphics card, it should be one of kern-nvidia, kern-ati or video-intel-resolution. if you use the open-source driver for nvidia or ati cards, put something arbitrary in that'll get up anyway, like ipc:
Code:
<video group="ipc" seq="all" />


btw: UberPinguin: you wouldn't have needed to modify the daemon-entrance module, you could as well have written a dependency override to remove the video-requirement ;)
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15 ... 17, 18, 19  Next
Page 14 of 19

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum