View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Ahri Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:45 pm Post subject: 1280x800 resolution with intelfb? |
|
|
I have intelfb compiled in and it's working to the extent that I can add vga=791 and get 1024x768. I can't seem to get my full resolution though.
If I dump the vga= part and just leave the kernel boot params as
Code: | kernel /boot/bzImage_suspend2 real_root=/dev/sda2 splash=silent root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 udev resume2=swap:/dev/sda3 video=intelfb:mode=1280x800-32@60,accel,hwcursor | then I don't get a hi res console.
If I add vga=864 (which should correspond to 0x360 and therefore 1280x800 - I think) then I just get an 'unsupported' message and have to select a different mode.
My laptop has an Intel 945GM card in it, which is apparently supported by the intelfb driver, so I'm stumped. What do I need to do to get a 1280x800 console?
For reference here's what lspci says about my card; Code: | 00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03) |
Incidentally X11's working fine at 1280x800 with the i810 driver. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
olger901 l33t
Joined: 17 Mar 2005 Posts: 625
|
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 4:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've been searching for this answer too for quite a while and found nothing, so I guess it's not possible for now.
From what I know is the video BIOS needs to support the resolution in order for it to work on the console, and the BIOS found on Intel chips does not support this resolution natively (This is where you use 915resolution for during boot-up. To patch the video BIOS in your memory.) I guess it's just not possible to run in 1280x800 mode in the console and if we would like to make it possible, someone who need to write a similar 915resolution program that initializes during kernel boot and would. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ahri Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm, I think I understand what you mean, and I've seen mention of this 915resolution package, however what I don't understand is that I don't have it installed - yet I still have 1280x800 res in X. Does this mean that my card's bios supports this resolution natively? That's the impression I get - but I don't know anything about this subject. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bLUEbYTE84 Guru
Joined: 21 Jul 2006 Posts: 566 Location: universe.tar.gz, src/earth.h, struct homo_sapiens_table
|
Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Use fbset.
Code: | * sys-apps/fbset
Available versions: 2.1
Installed: none
Homepage: http://users.telenet.be/geertu/Linux/fbdev/
Description: A utility to set the framebuffer videomode
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ahri Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 4:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've been messing with fbset, I get Code: | mode "1024x768-60"
# D: 62.360 MHz, H: 47.530 kHz, V: 60.013 Hz
geometry 1024 768 1024 768 32
timings 16036 128 32 16 4 128 4
accel true
rgba 8/16,8/8,8/0,8/24
endmode
Frame buffer device information:
Name : Intel(R) 945GM
Address : 0xe0000000
Size : 8122368
Type : PACKED PIXELS
Visual : TRUECOLOR
XPanStep : 8
YPanStep : 1
YWrapStep : 0
LineLength : 4096
MMIO Address: 0xffd80000
MMIO Size : 524288
Accelerator : Unknown (42) | from `fbset -i' but trying to change the resolution with `fbset -xres 12800 -yres 800' doesn't work because /etc/fb.modes doesn't exist. I've looked for information to create this file and add my own 1280x800 resolution but I can't find much of use.
How do I make this file? Are the timings going to be the same for 1280x800 as for 1024x768?
Anyway I had a go myself and made the file as follows: Code: | mode "1024x768-60"
# D: 62.360 MHz, H: 47.530 kHz, V: 60.013 Hz
geometry 1024 768 1024 768 32
timings 16036 128 32 16 4 128 4
accel true
# rgba 8/16,8/8,8/0,8/24
endmode
mode "1280x800-60"
# D: 62.360 MHz, H: 47.530 kHz, V: 60.013 Hz
geometry 1280 800 1280 800 32
timings 16036 128 32 16 4 128 4
accel true
# rgba 8/16,8/8,8/0,8/24
endmode |
I commented out those rgba lines because fbset complained about syntax errors.
I tried again to set the resolution; Code: | $ fbset -xres 1280 -yres 800
ioctl FBIOPUT_VSCREENINFO: Invalid argument |
The same happens with Code: | $ fbset 1280x800-60
ioctl FBIOPUT_VSCREENINFO: Invalid argument |
So again, I'm stumped. Any pointers at all? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bLUEbYTE84 Guru
Joined: 21 Jul 2006 Posts: 566 Location: universe.tar.gz, src/earth.h, struct homo_sapiens_table
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ahri Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
string.h needs including in that code: Code: | $ gcc gtf.c -o gtf -lm -Wall
gtf.c: In function 'parse_command_line':
gtf.c:665: warning: implicit declaration of function 'strcmp' |
So I added Code: | #include <string.h> | and that seemed to do the job.
I ran `gtf 1280 800 60 -f' and got: Code: | mode "1280x800 60.00Hz 32bit (GTF)"
# PCLK: 83.46 MHz, H: 49.68 kHz, V: 60.00 Hz
geometry 1280 800 1280 800 32
timings 11981 200 64 24 1 136 3
hsync low
vsync high
endmode |
But using that mode still doesn't work: Code: | $ sudo fbset "1280x800 60.00Hz 32bit (GTF)"
ioctl FBIOPUT_VSCREENINFO: Invalid argument |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
bLUEbYTE84 Guru
Joined: 21 Jul 2006 Posts: 566 Location: universe.tar.gz, src/earth.h, struct homo_sapiens_table
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ahri Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 4:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, but I'm not sure this is directly relevant to me; there is a 915resolution package to add some resolutions but I have not needed to do this to get 1280x800 in xorg (which is what people appear to install that package for) - I'm just using the i810 driver. So surely this means that my card's bios already supports this resolution? My xorg.conf is really simple and I had absolutely no difficulty in running it at the correct res; Code: | Section "Device"
Identifier "Intel 945GM"
Driver "i810"
Option "DPI" "96 x 96"
Option "DRI"
VendorName "Intel Corporation"
BoardName "Mobile 945GM/GMS/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Intel 945GM"
Monitor "Integrated LCD"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1280x800"
EndSubSection
EndSection |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ahri Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is so irritating. Why does the xorg i810 driver work fine at 1280x800 yet the intelfb driver which explicitly claims support for the 945GM doesn't seem to do the job? Why can I switch from VT7 to 1 and lose so many pixels?
It's worth noting that I can't even use fbset to go to the 1024x768-60 mode described above (which is in my /etc/fb.modes file) - I get the exact same error. I don't even really know what that error means.
Code: | $ fbset -xres 1024 -yres 768
ioctl FBIOPUT_VSCREENINFO: Invalid argument
$ sudo fbset -xres 1024 -yres 768
ioctl FBIOPUT_VSCREENINFO: Invalid argument |
.....wtf? It's on fking 1024x768 _already_ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bLUEbYTE84 Guru
Joined: 21 Jul 2006 Posts: 566 Location: universe.tar.gz, src/earth.h, struct homo_sapiens_table
|
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmmm, is there DDC stuff listed under this fb driver in menuconfig? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ahri Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, I have it enabled: Code: | <*> Intel 830M/845G/852GM/855GM/865G/915G/945G support (EXPERIMENTAL)
[ ] Intel driver Debug Messages
[*] DDC/I2C for Intel framebuffer support |
I have no idea what it's for though; should I remove support? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bLUEbYTE84 Guru
Joined: 21 Jul 2006 Posts: 566 Location: universe.tar.gz, src/earth.h, struct homo_sapiens_table
|
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, try if removing it helps.
DDC=Your vid. card queries your monitor and it provides resolution/rate limits to your card.
It might be the case that this is somewhat enforcing the resolutions, thus preventing you to set another resolution. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ahri Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 1:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
I dropped the DDC/I2C setting and it doesn't seem to have made any difference, I still get the weird error using fbset
Code: | $ zcat /proc/config.gz | grep INTEL_I2C
# CONFIG_FB_INTEL_I2C is not set |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DocFX n00b
Joined: 08 Aug 2004 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 5:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
I'm running into the same problem as Ahri did, is there a solution yet?
cheers,
DocFX |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|