Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Raid Array not detected: How to remount it?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
a_smartboy8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 9:54 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Raid Array not detected: How to remount it? Reply with quote

Recently One of my hard disks got disconnected and i booted my system without knowing that and then afterwards my raid array is not mounting. I was using raid0 on sata disks and the raids were created using mdadm. How can i remount it without losing the existing data.

This is my earlier fstab configuration

Code:

# <fs>             <mountpoint>    <type>     <opts>            <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/sda1      /boot      ext2      noauto,noatime      1 2
/dev/md0      /      ext3      noatime         0 1
/dev/sda2      none      swap      sw,pri=1      0 0
/dev/sdb2      none      swap      sw,pri=1      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom   iso9660      noauto,ro      0 0
#/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy   auto      noauto         0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none         /proc      proc      defaults      0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:

none         /dev/shm   tmpfs      defaults      0 0




fdisk on dev/sda gives the following

Code:

Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB  80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track   , 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot      Start    End        Blocks     Id    System
/dev/sda1         1       4         32098+   83    Linux
/dev/sda2         5      97        747022+   82    Linux
/dev/sda3        98      9729    77369040    fd     Linux raid autodetect


fdisk on dev/sdb also gives the same output


When i try to mount /dev/sda3 manually it gives the following output

Code:

#mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
EXT3-fs error (device sda3): ext3_check_descriptors: Block Bitmap for group 896 not in group ( block 0)!
EXT3-fs : group descriptors corrupted !

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on dev/sda3




Initially i thought the problem to be different and that was posted here
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-3829459.html#3829459

One of the gentoo experts replied to that post but since i am not an expert in gentoo still i wasn't able to start the raid and mount the raid array from livecd. Can anyone please help me out of this situation. Any help will be really appreciated. Thanks in Advance


Last edited by a_smartboy8 on Mon Jan 15, 2007 2:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apberzerk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 278
Location: kansas...

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do not try to directly mount a device that is part of a raid array.

Check the status of the array:
Code:
cat /proc/mdstat


If you need to add a device back into the array because it is marked as failed, you can do something like this to remove it and then add it again
Code:
mdadm --manage /dev/md0 --remove /dev/sda3
mdadm --manage /dev/md0 --add /dev/sda3


Or, if the raid array isn't even assembled anymore, re-assemble it:
Code:
mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sda3 /dev/sdb3


Do not use the "build" option! I know from personal experience that it can ruin your array. Only use the "build" option if you're creating a brand new array.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a_smartboy8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

apberzerk wrote:

Or, if the raid array isn't even assembled anymore, re-assemble it:
Code:
mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sda3 /dev/sdb3


Do not use the "build" option! I know from personal experience that it can ruin your array. Only use the "build" option if you're creating a brand new array.


Thanks for your reply, apberzerk. Neddyseagoon also helped me in this as stated in this post
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-528023-highlight-.html

Finally i managed to remount the raid array.

Thanks very much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum