View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
a_smartboy8 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 21 Nov 2006 Posts: 69
|
Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 9:54 pm Post subject: [Solved] Raid Array not detected: How to remount it? |
|
|
Recently One of my hard disks got disconnected and i booted my system without knowing that and then afterwards my raid array is not mounting. I was using raid0 on sata disks and the raids were created using mdadm. How can i remount it without losing the existing data.
This is my earlier fstab configuration
Code: |
# <fs> <mountpoint> <type> <opts> <dump/pass>
# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/sda1 /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 2
/dev/md0 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/sda2 none swap sw,pri=1 0 0
/dev/sdb2 none swap sw,pri=1 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0
#/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto 0 0
# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
# use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
|
fdisk on dev/sda gives the following
Code: |
Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track , 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 4 32098+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 5 97 747022+ 82 Linux
/dev/sda3 98 9729 77369040 fd Linux raid autodetect
|
fdisk on dev/sdb also gives the same output
When i try to mount /dev/sda3 manually it gives the following output
Code: |
#mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
EXT3-fs error (device sda3): ext3_check_descriptors: Block Bitmap for group 896 not in group ( block 0)!
EXT3-fs : group descriptors corrupted !
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on dev/sda3
|
Initially i thought the problem to be different and that was posted here
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-3829459.html#3829459
One of the gentoo experts replied to that post but since i am not an expert in gentoo still i wasn't able to start the raid and mount the raid array from livecd. Can anyone please help me out of this situation. Any help will be really appreciated. Thanks in Advance
Last edited by a_smartboy8 on Mon Jan 15, 2007 2:40 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
apberzerk Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/1684173241414576805f51e.jpg)
Joined: 11 Jan 2004 Posts: 278 Location: kansas...
|
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Do not try to directly mount a device that is part of a raid array.
Check the status of the array:
If you need to add a device back into the array because it is marked as failed, you can do something like this to remove it and then add it again
Code: | mdadm --manage /dev/md0 --remove /dev/sda3
mdadm --manage /dev/md0 --add /dev/sda3 |
Or, if the raid array isn't even assembled anymore, re-assemble it:
Code: | mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sda3 /dev/sdb3 |
Do not use the "build" option! I know from personal experience that it can ruin your array. Only use the "build" option if you're creating a brand new array. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
a_smartboy8 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 21 Nov 2006 Posts: 69
|
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 2:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
apberzerk wrote: |
Or, if the raid array isn't even assembled anymore, re-assemble it:
Code: | mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sda3 /dev/sdb3 |
Do not use the "build" option! I know from personal experience that it can ruin your array. Only use the "build" option if you're creating a brand new array. |
Thanks for your reply, apberzerk. Neddyseagoon also helped me in this as stated in this post
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-528023-highlight-.html
Finally i managed to remount the raid array.
Thanks very much |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|