Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo doesn't want to do WLan anymore
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BloX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:12 pm    Post subject: Gentoo doesn't want to do WLan anymore Reply with quote

Hi folks,

over night my Gentoo doesn't want to do Wlan anymore. I just started the Computer this morning and dmesg says:
Code:
ADDRCONF (NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready


As far as I can see i didn't do no updates which could had have such a result (pci-utils maybe?). The link seems to come up properly, also ndiswrapper isn't complaining about anything. I can also do a
Code:
# iwlist wlan0 scan


With no probs. Only when I try to assign an IP I get the message above.

I am using a WG311v3 (Netgear) with ndiswrapper (ver. 1.25). The Kernel is build out of the Gentoo-Sources (2.6.17-r8).

Does anyone have an idea (or maybe even a clue) to this?[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InsaneHamster
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 435

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo doesn't want to do WLan anymore Reply with quote

BloX wrote:
Hi folks,

over night my Gentoo doesn't want to do Wlan anymore. I just started the Computer this morning and dmesg says:
Code:
ADDRCONF (NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready


As far as I can see i didn't do no updates which could had have such a result (pci-utils maybe?). The link seems to come up properly, also ndiswrapper isn't complaining about anything. I can also do a
Code:
# iwlist wlan0 scan


With no probs. Only when I try to assign an IP I get the message above.

I am using a WG311v3 (Netgear) with ndiswrapper (ver. 1.25). The Kernel is build out of the Gentoo-Sources (2.6.17-r8).

Does anyone have an idea (or maybe even a clue) to this?[/code]


id reccomend u make a simple script for bringing wireless up and down

*** being to match your settings
Code:

--up--
iwconfig
iwlist wlan0 scan
iwconfig wlan0 essid *your ID*
iwconfig wlan0 mode &Managed*
iwconfig wlan0 *key restricted *******
ifconfig wlan0 up
dhcpcd wlan0

--down--
ifconfig wlan0 down
killall dhcpcd


that whay u can bring it up and down with ease even as a rc-script

i found mine would go randomly through the nite too sometimes so i had to elaborate with ping tests to keep it alive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BloX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo doesn't want to do WLan anymore Reply with quote

InsaneHamster wrote:

id reccomend u make a simple script for bringing wireless up and down

*** being to match your settings
Code:

--up--
iwconfig
iwlist wlan0 scan
iwconfig wlan0 essid *your ID*
iwconfig wlan0 mode &Managed*
iwconfig wlan0 *key restricted *******
ifconfig wlan0 up
dhcpcd wlan0

--down--
ifconfig wlan0 down
killall dhcpcd



Wouldn't run properly i guess....

I just tried to reinstall the Windows-Driver. The result was that everything worked out fine until I did a simple
Code:
# ifconfig wlan0 up


and dmesg again brought the above message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InsaneHamster
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 435

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo doesn't want to do WLan anymore Reply with quote

BloX wrote:
and dmesg again brought the above message.


id recommend u run a 'ifconfig wlan0 down' and kill any type of dhcpcd servers or anything then reinstall. it could be possible a process is still using it

i think ? ndiswrapper has a remove command ? did u run that before ur ndiswrapper -i windriver.inf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BloX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo doesn't want to do WLan anymore Reply with quote

InsaneHamster wrote:

id recommend u run a 'ifconfig wlan0 down' and kill any type of dhcpcd servers or anything then reinstall. it could be possible a process is still using it

i think ? ndiswrapper has a remove command ? did u run that before ur ndiswrapper -i windriver.inf


Yepp, here is what I just did:

Code:
# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
nls_iso8859_1           3776  1
isofs                  23172  1
nls_base                6016  2 nls_iso8859_1,isofs
kqemu                 105412  0
ide_cd                 35716  1
cdrom                  37856  1 ide_cd
i2c_amd756              5444  0
i2c_core               16464  1 i2c_amd756
# ndiswrapper -l
no drivers installed
# ls             
TRANS.TBL  WG311v3.INF  WG311v3.cat  WG311v3.sys  WG311v3XP.sys
# ndiswrapper -i WG311v3.INF
installing wg311v3 ...
# modprobe ndiswrapper


At this point dmesg says:
Code:
ndiswrapper version 1.25 loaded (preempt=no,smp=no)
ndiswrapper: driver wg311v3 (NETGEAR,02/22/2005,3.1.1.7) loaded
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:08.0[A] -> Link [LNKA] -> GSI 9 (level, low) -> IRQ 9
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:08.0 to 64
ndiswrapper: using IRQ 9
wlan0: vendor: ''
wlan0: ethernet device 00:14:6c:31:5a:b1 using NDIS driver wg311v3, 11AB:1FAA.5.conf
wlan0: encryption modes supported: WEP; TKIP with WPA, WPA2, WPA2PSK; AES/CCMP with WPA, WPA2, WPA2PSK


So, everything seems to be fine, going on:
Code:
# iwconfig wlan0
wlan0     IEEE 802.11FH  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Channel:0  Access Point: Not-Associated   
          Bit Rate:1 Mb/s   Sensitivity=-200 dBm 
          RTS thr:2346 B   Fragment thr:2346 B   
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

# iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0     Scan completed :
[...]
          Cell 04 - Address: 00:15:0C:A2:AC:3F
                    ESSID:"Speedport W 501V"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality:0/100  Signal level:-87 dBm  Noise level:-256 dBm
                    Encryption key:off
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 22 Mb/s
                              6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s
                              36 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Extra:bcn_int=100
                    Extra:atim=0
[...]

# iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
# iwconfig wlan0 essid "Speedport W 501V"
# ifconfig wlan0 up


Then again dmesg says:
Code:
ADDRCONF (NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InsaneHamster
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 435

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo doesn't want to do WLan anymore Reply with quote

BloX wrote:
ADDRCONF (NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready


with a reboot & unload the nsdiswapper before hand assumed, i would have to say possibly re-emerge the ndiswrapper and check kernel modules configuration if its in place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BloX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:23 am    Post subject: Re: Gentoo doesn't want to do WLan anymore Reply with quote

Yeah, re-emerge-ing ndiswrapper is perhaps the last chance I have. I really can't imagine why all these weird things are happening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InsaneHamster
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 435

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:30 am    Post subject: Re: Gentoo doesn't want to do WLan anymore Reply with quote

BloX wrote:
Yeah, re-emerge-ing ndiswrapper is perhaps the last chance I have. I really can't imagine why all these weird things are happening.


my first guess is simply that another process or application is hogging it down. make sure ndiswrapper is completely unemerged before re-emerging it cause i once had a problem where it would hold the old driver inside it. if u cleaned it and re-tryed it still doesnt go hardware is what u need to check kernel straight modules recompiled and updated maybe even internet permissions on users ? im assuming u have been doing this all with correct privillages for bringing it up. just tweak with it one step a time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BloX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 9:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo doesn't want to do WLan anymore Reply with quote

Argh! No use at all.

I think I completely removed everything related to ndiswrapper. At least i unmerged it, deleted /etc/modules.d/ndiswrapper and /etc/ndiswrapper/, re-emerged pciutils (just to be sure), emerged ndiswrapper again and installed the Windows XP-drivers.

Same result as above.

BTW: The Card is OK (it does it job under windows), I tried all other versions of the driver (for ME, 2000, 98) also.

Does someone know what effects an update of pciutils can have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraix
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off I noticed with my forays into using ndiswrapper on my bcm43xx wireless card that unmerging ndiswrapper doesn't always remove the module itself. So my suggestion to do is to make sure you rm /lib/modules/<kernel version>/net/ndiswrapper.ko before you re-emerge. A couple time when I tried to upgrade it didn't seem to upgrade until after I removed the driver manually. If it is removed when you unermeg then grats to you, mine didn't seem to want to even when it was a fresh reboot and it wasn't included in my /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6.

Also, I've been having this problem with my wireless card and I am going to ask for help since I haven't been able to find an answer to it yet, sometimes my card will completely stop working after boot. Have you tried having it come up at boot? Just a suggestion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BloX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think i am going to install Gentoo freshly these days. Hopefully the problem will dissappear with this. I really don't know what else to do. Usually I'm hacking on things like these till it works again but this problem is far beyond my logic....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum