View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
lyonsd Apprentice
Joined: 02 Mar 2005 Posts: 153 Location: Flowery Branch, GA
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 5:46 pm Post subject: No network accessibility from command line |
|
|
This is weird. I have networking. I am posting and can access the Internet via HTTP.
But I can't ping anything from the command line.
Code: |
# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:36:9E:AF:D9
inet addr:192.168.38.95 Bcast:192.168.38.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:47923 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:18262 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:46101434 (43.9 Mb) TX bytes:1624066 (1.5 Mb)
Interrupt:22 Base address:0x8000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:400 (400.0 b) TX bytes:400 (400.0 b)
|
Code: |
# ping google.com
PING google.com (64.233.167.99) 56(84) bytes of data.
|
emerge times out too.
No FTP to external sites either.
What's going on here? _________________ Dave |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JRV Apprentice
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 291
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 5:54 pm Post subject: Re: No network accessibility from command line |
|
|
lyonsd wrote: | This is weird. I have networking. I am posting and can access the Internet via HTTP.
But I can't ping anything from the command line.
...
emerge times out too.
No FTP to external sites either.
What's going on here? |
Are you behind a firewall that forbids anything but HTTP? Is your browser using a proxy? Does
work? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bLUEbYTE84 Guru
Joined: 21 Jul 2006 Posts: 566 Location: universe.tar.gz, src/earth.h, struct homo_sapiens_table
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 5:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Check two things:
1- /etc/resolv.conf includes a line: nameserver a.b.c.d (your modem or router)
2- /etc/conf.d/net includes a line: routes_eth0=("default gw a.b.c.d") (your modem or router) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JRV Apprentice
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 291
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bLUEbYTE84 wrote: | Check two things:
1- /etc/resolv.conf includes a line: nameserver a.b.c.d (your modem or router)
2- /etc/conf.d/net includes a line: routes_eth0=("default gw a.b.c.d") (your modem or router) |
1- According to his post, google.com resolves just fine
2- Might really be missing (perhaps he's using a web proxy, which is why HTTP seems to be working)
Please give the outputs of:
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
lyonsd Apprentice
Joined: 02 Mar 2005 Posts: 153 Location: Flowery Branch, GA
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
[quote="JRV"] lyonsd wrote: |
Are you behind a firewall that forbids anything but HTTP? Is your browser using a proxy? Does
work? |
Yes, I am behind a firewall, but it has always worked before.
Yes, I can telnet to google.
JRV wrote: | bLUEbYTE84 wrote: | Check two things:
1- /etc/resolv.conf includes a line: nameserver a.b.c.d (your modem or router)
2- /etc/conf.d/net includes a line: routes_eth0=("default gw a.b.c.d") (your modem or router) |
1- According to his post, google.com resolves just fine
2- Might really be missing (perhaps he's using a web proxy, which is why HTTP seems to be working)
Please give the outputs of:
|
Code: |
$ route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.38.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
192.133.204.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 2000 0 0 wlan0
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 192.168.38.254 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 192.133.204.254 0.0.0.0 UG 2000 0 0 wlan0
|
Code: |
# env
MANPATH=/usr/local/share/man:/usr/share/man:/usr/share/binutils-data/i686-p ux-gnu/2.17/man:/usr/share/gcc-data/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.6/man:/usr/share/ ata/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.6/man:/opt/ati/man:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/man:/etc -config/system-vm/man/:/usr/qt/3/doc/man:/opt/vmware/server/man
KDEWM=kwin
SHELL=/bin/bash
TERM=rxvt
QTDIR=/usr/qt/3
ANT_HOME=/usr/share/ant-core
USER=root
LS_COLORS=no=00:fi=00:di=01;34:ln=01;36:pi=40;33:so=01;35:do=01;35:bd=40;33 d=40;33;01:or=01;05;37;41:mi=01;05;37;41:su=37;41:sg=30;43:tw=30;42:ow=34;4 37;44:ex=01;32:*.tar=01;31:*.tgz=01;31:*.arj=01;31:*.taz=01;31:*.lzh=01;31: =01;31:*.z=01;31:*.Z=01;31:*.gz=01;31:*.bz2=01;31:*.bz=01;31:*.tbz2=01;31:* 1;31:*.deb=01;31:*.rpm=01;31:*.jar=01;31:*.rar=01;31:*.ace=01;31:*.zoo=01;3 pio=01;31:*.7z=01;31:*.rz=01;31:*.jpg=01;35:*.jpeg=01;35:*.gif=01;35:*.bmp= :*.pbm=01;35:*.pgm=01;35:*.ppm=01;35:*.tga=01;35:*.xbm=01;35:*.xpm=01;35:*. 1;35:*.tiff=01;35:*.png=01;35:*.mng=01;35:*.pcx=01;35:*.mov=01;35:*.mpg=01; mpeg=01;35:*.m2v=01;35:*.mkv=01;35:*.ogm=01;35:*.mp4=01;35:*.m4v=01;35:*.mp ;35:*.vob=01;35:*.qt=01;35:*.nuv=01;35:*.wmv=01;35:*.asf=01;35:*.rm=01;35:* =01;35:*.flc=01;35:*.avi=01;35:*.fli=01;35:*.gl=01;35:*.dl=01;35:*.xcf=01;3 wd=01;35:*.yuv=01;35:*.pdf=00;32:*.ps=00;32:*.txt=00;32:*.patch=00;32:*.dif 32:*.log=00;32:*.tex=00;32:*.doc=00;32:*.aac=00;36:*.au=00;36:*.flac=00;36: =00;36:*.midi=00;36:*.mka=00;36:*.mp3=00;36:*.mpc=00;36:*.ogg=00;36:*.ra=00 .wav=00;36:
PRELINK_PATH_MASK=/usr/lib/gstreamer-0.10:/usr/lib/gstreamer-0.8
LIBGL_DRIVERS_PATH=::/usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri::/usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri
GDK_USE_XFT=1
CPATH=/usr/include/libffi
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK=/etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/gconf /etc/java-config /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/terminfo
VMHANDLE=sun-jdk-1.4
PAGER=/usr/bin/less
FLTK_DOCDIR=/usr/share/doc/fltk-1.1.7/html
PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/opt/bin: i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/3.4.6:/opt/ati/bin:/opt/ati/sbin:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4 /bin:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/jre/bin:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/jre/javaws:/usr/kd /sbin:/usr/kde/3.5/bin:/usr/qt/3/bin:/opt/vmware/server/bin:/var/qmail/bin
PWD=/root
JAVA_HOME=/etc/java-config-2/current-system-vm
GENERATION=2
EDITOR=/usr/bin/vim
JAVAC=/etc/java-config-2/current-system-vm/bin/javac
KDEDIRS=/usr/kde/3.5:/usr:/usr/local
QMAKESPEC=linux-g++
PS1=\[\e]2;\u@\H:\w (\l) \d \t\a\e[31;1m\][\j,\!]#\[\e[0m\]
HISTCONTROL=ignoredups
JDK_HOME=/etc/java-config-2/current-system-vm
SHLVL=1
HOME=/root
JAVACC_HOME=/usr/share/javacc/
QMAIL_CONTROLDIR=/var/qmail/control
LESS=-R -M --shift 5
G_FILENAME_ENCODING=UTF-8
PYTHONPATH=/usr/lib/portage/pym
LOGNAME=root
GCC_SPECS=
CVS_RSH=ssh
CLASSPATH=.
PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/qt/3/lib/pkgconfig
LESSOPEN=|lesspipe.sh %s
INFOPATH=/usr/share/info:/usr/share/binutils-data/i686-pc-linux-gnu/2.17/in sr/share/gcc-data/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.6/info:/usr/share/gcc-data/i686-pc- -gnu/3.4.6/info
DISPLAY=:1.0
USB_DEVFS_PATH=/dev/bus/usb
OPENGL_PROFILE=xorg-x11
SANE_CONFIG_DIR=/etc/sane.d
LDPATH=/usr/local/lib://usr//lib/opengl/xorg-x11/lib:/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu /usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.6:/usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.1.1:/ ib/nspr:/usr/lib/nss:/usr/lib/seamonkey:/usr/lib/openmotif-2.2:/opt/sun-jdk 2.13/jre/lib/i386/:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/jre/lib/i386/native_threads/:/opt/ dk-1.4.2.13/jre/lib/i386/classic/:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/jre/lib/i386/server r/lib/qt4:/usr/kde/3.5/lib:/usr/qt/3/lib:/usr/games/lib:/usr/lib/fltk-1.1:/ ib/libffi:/usr/lib/libstdc++-v3/
G_BROKEN_FILENAMES=1
CONFIG_PROTECT=/etc /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5 down /usr/share/X11/app-defaults /usr/share/X11/xkb /usr/share/config /var/ /alias /var/qmail/control
XAUTHORITY=/root/.xauthQGZq4h
_=/usr/bin/env
|
_________________ Dave |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lyonsd Apprentice
Joined: 02 Mar 2005 Posts: 153 Location: Flowery Branch, GA
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
As far as http & the browser goes, it's set to "direct connection to internet". _________________ Dave |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bLUEbYTE84 Guru
Joined: 21 Jul 2006 Posts: 566 Location: universe.tar.gz, src/earth.h, struct homo_sapiens_table
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So, did you check your config files(mentioned above)? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JRV Apprentice
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 291
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bLUEbYTE84 wrote: | So, did you check your config files(mentioned above)? |
No need, his name resolution is working and he has a default gateway. You can see this in the routing table and from the fact that he can telnet to Google's port 80... so a ping and maybe FTP are getting blocked? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bLUEbYTE84 Guru
Joined: 21 Jul 2006 Posts: 566 Location: universe.tar.gz, src/earth.h, struct homo_sapiens_table
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
JRV wrote: | bLUEbYTE84 wrote: | So, did you check your config files(mentioned above)? |
No need, his name resolution is working and he has a default gateway. You can see this in the routing table and from the fact that he can telnet to Google's port 80... so a ping and maybe FTP are getting blocked? |
Right, my bad |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JRV Apprentice
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 291
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:32 pm Post subject: Re: No network accessibility from command line |
|
|
What kind of mirror are you using for portage?
Code: | $ grep GENTOO_MIRRORS /etc/make.conf |
If you are using an FTP mirror, try an HTTP one and see if that works... if yes, FTP is probably blocked. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lyonsd Apprentice
Joined: 02 Mar 2005 Posts: 153 Location: Flowery Branch, GA
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
JRV Apprentice
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 291
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:01 pm Post subject: Re: No network accessibility from command line |
|
|
Ok, wait. Does emerge fail while trying to emerge an ebuild or does is fail while doing a --sync (the rsync protocol gets blocked by your firewall)? How does it fail? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lyonsd Apprentice
Joined: 02 Mar 2005 Posts: 153 Location: Flowery Branch, GA
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Now I'm at the college and it's working fine.
Code: |
# route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
10.3.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.254.0 U 2000 0 0 wlan0
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 10.3.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 2000 0 0 wlan0
|
I supposed it definitely has something to do with the setup at work. _________________ Dave |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lyonsd Apprentice
Joined: 02 Mar 2005 Posts: 153 Location: Flowery Branch, GA
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:03 pm Post subject: Re: No network accessibility from command line |
|
|
JRV wrote: | Ok, wait. Does emerge fail while trying to emerge an ebuild or does is fail while doing a --sync (the rsync protocol gets blocked by your firewall)? How does it fail? |
rsync is blocked. I can't connect to anything from a unix prompt. Can't ping anything. Can't FTP anywhere. Nothing.
But...hostnames seem to get resolved to IP addresses correctly. _________________ Dave |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JRV Apprentice
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 291
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:12 pm Post subject: Re: No network accessibility from command line |
|
|
lyonsd wrote: | JRV wrote: | Ok, wait. Does emerge fail while trying to emerge an ebuild or does is fail while doing a --sync (the rsync protocol gets blocked by your firewall)? How does it fail? |
rsync is blocked. I can't connect to anything from a unix prompt. Can't ping anything. Can't FTP anywhere. Nothing. |
Ok, so the only port (you tried) which isn't blocked seems to be port 80. So it's most definitely a firewall/gateway thing. Who is administering the firewall or is it your own? Are you using netfilter/iptables on the host itself?
Quote: | But...hostnames seem to get resolved to IP addresses correctly. |
Either UDP port 53 (domain) is still allowed or you are using an internal nameserver (for example, in your gateway). Ok, which nameserver is set in the /etc/resolv.conf (maybe that's interesting after all). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rlittle Apprentice
Joined: 17 Dec 2003 Posts: 200
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If is IS a firewall and you can't get the rules changed (as in my situation), you can always
_________________ I need a better signature... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|