half-newbie install info
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pedepy
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:20 pm    Post subject: half-newbie install info Reply with quote

hello; I have been running linux (pclinuxos, to be more precise), for about 6 months now. I have come to like this operating system, and am now feeling ready to install a more "hardcore" version of the OS. PCLinuxOS is nice, but I have a rather old, 733 Mhz PC with about 128mb of RAM. I am planning on purchasing a laptop sometime maybe next summer, but in the meanwhile I have to do with what I have.

So gentoo is from what I've heard one of the fastest distros outthere. I've also heard it's one of the most customizable, and when you compile from source, most "optimizable" to your hardware.

What I'd like to achieve is this: I want to install my gentoo to run a desktop computer, with openoffice installed, KDE, a few multimedia apps like amarok, kaffeine; also the gimp, a few games perhaps down the road, but really, not much else. I do not use at least 90% of all the software that comes packed with most "desktop friendly" distros. In the future, with my laptop, I would like to create a media center machine, complete with TV tuner, games, etc. But I'll post on that when I get there. Oh, and if I could get a working wine installation to run all the software I currently want to run, I would ditch windows. But I ain't there yet (most notably my N64 emulator -- my linux one seem to be able to do 3D quite as well as directx 9 under win2000).

when you install from the 650mb livecd of gentoo, does it come with all of that software ? can I choose which ones I'd want ? like I said, I have a small machine I want the least possible stuff running in the background or lying around in my swap or harddrive for no good use...