[solved] livecd networkless install + ndiswrapper
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
isfalse
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:44 am    Post subject: [solved] livecd networkless install + ndiswrapper Reply with quote

Hi all,

I've been searching through this forum about the problem that I'm having right now, but did not find clear answer what to do with my machine. I'm new to linux and all this gentoo stuff..

I'm trying to install gentoo on my AMD 64 Dual core 4200+ machine. I've downloaded amd64 version of 2006.1 livecd at first but it did not boot with both of gentoo/gentoo-nofb kernel.
So I downloaded amd64 for 2006.0 and it boots fine now. I wanted to connect to the internet to download stages, portage and etc, but I got in to a problem that my wireless network card is not detected.
lspci shows that my network card is:
Code:
11ab:1faa | Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88w8335 [Libertas] 802.11b/g Wireless (rev 03)

which means that I need ndiswrapper to install a driver for it.

Since installing ndiswrapper requires kernel, I downloaded kernel 'linux-2.6.15.tar.gz' from kernels.org (livecd had 2.6.15-gentoo-r5) and extracted it. I read installation of kernel as I need to proceed with 'make menuconfig', 'make modules' and etc. But those 'make' does not exist in the livecd and now I'm completely lost. Some people seem to installed their gentoo with installation cd first and then installed ndiswrapper after, but I wonder if there's any way that I can configure the network first and start installing by downloading from the network. I also wonder why the 2006.1 livecd is not working correctly, and if using 2006.0 livecd makes much difference.

Thanks so much in advance!!

Last edited by isfalse on Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
dpshak
Apprentice
Apprentice