0%  [ 1 ]
Not sure yet
3%
 3%  [ 5 ]
Total Votes : 142

Korean Ian
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 2:49 am    Post subject: Is Gentoo worth the work? Reply with quote

Hi,

I've been using different distro's of Linux for a couple of months now. I have tried most of the major distro's (Redhat, Mandrake, Slack) and been completly unimpressed by 'dependency hell'... i keep thinking my computer is dependent on me dickin around for hours to find all the required RPM's... for one program! It's crazy.

I started to use linux to learn. The idea of solid software is very appealing to me. I have grown bored of the standard Windows 9x, Windows NT interfaces, although I am still dependent on them.

I came to Gentoo as a suggestion of a buddy of mine in a CCNA Year 1 at my high school. He told me how long it took to setup for his system (a full build.. 3 days) and I thought it was mad, although, I admit:

emerge 'whatever prog you need'

Seemed really appealing. So I started reading the Gentoo Install Guide and have decided to go with a stage 3 install, updated to the newest sources.

If I like it alot, if I make it through my first install. I might go back and do a custom build.

One question.

Is it worth it? (Funny place to ask that question...)

Korean Ian

By the way, PHPbb is sexy. I ran it on a webserver for a while. GPL rocks.
puggy
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The initial hassle of setting up is offset massively by the portage system. Even my parents could use this once its set up(Although they would phone me before doing anything...just to be sure that the computer won't explode:-D).

Also, its just generally worth it, as I've learnt a lot from Gentoo and these forums especially.

Puggy
taskara
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there a poll option "HELL YES!" ?? if so I'd surely have picked that one.