Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Problems viewing a webpage from a specific domain
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
linuxn00bie255
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 2:54 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Problems viewing a webpage from a specific domain Reply with quote

Hello, I have what seems to me, a really strange problem. With a specific domain I cannot goto it's website, or its' web based mail server on my computer. However if I boot up my laptop and connect it to the same network, it works fine. Additionally the first computer can go to every other domain I can think of, just not one in particular. (it happens to be the one for the college I attend). At any rate, what could be causing this strange problem? I can even resolve the ip address...

Code:
lightflame ~ # ping www.moravian.edu
PING www.moravian.edu (204.186.176.71) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from www.moravian.edu (204.186.176.71): icmp_seq=1 ttl=114 time=56.8 ms
64 bytes from www.moravian.edu (204.186.176.71): icmp_seq=2 ttl=114 time=57.2 ms
64 bytes from www.moravian.edu (204.186.176.71): icmp_seq=3 ttl=114 time=57.5 ms

--- www.moravian.edu ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2007ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 56.894/57.226/57.514/0.376 ms


But wget will do this:
Code:
lightflame ~ # wget www.moravian.edu
--09:51:32--  http://www.moravian.edu/
           => `index.html'
Resolving www.moravian.edu... 204.186.176.71
Connecting to www.moravian.edu|204.186.176.71|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... Read error (Connection reset by peer) in headers.
Retrying.


...?


Last edited by linuxn00bie255 on Sat Jan 13, 2007 2:50 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried it and it looks like they have a fancy fire wall on 80.[/code]


Code:
wget www.moravian.edu/index.html
--10:58:59--  http://www.moravian.edu/index.html
           => `index.html'
Resolving www.moravian.edu... 204.186.176.71
Connecting to www.moravian.edu|204.186.176.71|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... Read error (Connection reset by peer) in headers.
Retrying.

--10:59:52--  http://www.moravian.edu/index.html
  (try: 2) => `index.html'
Connecting to www.moravian.edu|204.186.176.71|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... Read error (Connection reset by peer) in headers.
Retrying.

--11:00:43--  http://www.moravian.edu/index.html
  (try: 3) => `index.html'
Connecting to www.moravian.edu|204.186.176.71|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response...


it works from
Code:
wget www.think-electric.com
--10:59:53--  http://www.think-electric.com/
           => `index.html'
Resolving www.think-electric.com... 66.33.197.216
Connecting to www.think-electric.com|66.33.197.216|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 5,986 (5.8K) [text/html]

100%[==============>] 5,986         --.--K/s

10:59:55 (68.17 KB/s) - `index.html' saved [5986/5986]


_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxn00bie255
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, thank you. I guess I'll have a chat with the network admin and see what he says...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madisonicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 1130

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't get to that website either with default set up, but it's not a firewall thing. It's due to a faulty router somewhere in between us and that website. The router isn't properly handling window scaling. That's why it fails so strangely.

The technical wherefores and whatnots can be found here. But, the simple solution is to try the following from a terminal:
Code:
# echo 0 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_window_scaling
The fix should be immediate and not require rebooting or anything. If it solves the problem you can try contacting your ISP to inform them of the issue, but it's unlikely that either of you will have any control over the problem router. Instead if you're going to be visiting that site often, you just might want to add this line to your /etc/sysctl.conf:
Code:
net.ipv4.tcp_window_scaling = 0
I have a window scaling on/off script that I run whenever I have an odd internet problem like this. To turn scaling back on, just echo 1 to that same proc location.

HTH,
m
_________________
Please add [SOLVED] to your message title if you feel that your question has been answered.
------
Intel Q9300 Core2 Quad * Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
Samsung x360
AMD64 x2 4200+ * TF7050-M2 * HTPC
ZOTAC ION A-U Mini-ITX * HTPC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxn00bie255
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, well thank you, that is very useful information. I won't have a chance to test that fix for a while, but I will save it for when I need it.

Thanks all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MathFreak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jul 2002
Posts: 217
Location: Bethlehem, PA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:20 pm    Post subject: Can't get to some websites when in linux. Reply with quote

I have this really odd problem trying to get to certain websites. I can connect to the site, but then it just sits there saying that it's waiting. It doesn't matter which browser I use. One such website is http://www.moravian.edu. I saw some topics on here about decreasing mtu size, but I dropped it all the way down to 1200 and still no joy. If I boot into Windows or load up Windows in VMWare, everything works wonderfully. The thing is, my network setup is kind of weird. I'm connected to a Linksys wrt54g which is acting as a bridge with openwrt. That, in turn, connects to my landlady's Netgear mr814v2 router. However, I used to be able to connect to Moravian's site until part way through last semester and nothing changed at that time on my end.

Another site that gives me a similar problem is www.accountonline.com. With this site, though, firefox can't even look it up, but the text-based browser links can get to it no problem.
_________________
"You probably wouldn't worry about what people think of you if you could know how seldom they do."
-Olin Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madisonicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 1130

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See my post here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-531332.html.

HTH,
m
_________________
Please add [SOLVED] to your message title if you feel that your question has been answered.
------
Intel Q9300 Core2 Quad * Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
Samsung x360
AMD64 x2 4200+ * TF7050-M2 * HTPC
ZOTAC ION A-U Mini-ITX * HTPC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4735
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[mod]Merged above 2 posts here.[/mod]
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MathFreak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jul 2002
Posts: 217
Location: Bethlehem, PA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woah, I didn't even think to search for moravian :oops:. This did fix it, though.

linuxn00bie255, what's your ISP? I'm on Verizon and it hasn't worked for a while.
_________________
"You probably wouldn't worry about what people think of you if you could know how seldom they do."
-Olin Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxn00bie255
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My ISP is Verison as well. I hadn't noticed this problem until the last break I was on because I didn't used to check my moravian e-mail from home...(this is how I first discovered the problem)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum