View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Griffon n00b

Joined: 23 Nov 2005 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:17 am Post subject: Port routing & iptables |
|
|
Hello,
I have a network with one router and four computers behind. I have a web server on one of them on the port 9999.
I would like to route the port 80 of the router to the port 9999 of the web server. In fact, I would like to access the web server from anywhere on the internet with just typing http://my-public-ip/ in a navigator.
To do that, I used that command :
/sbin/iptables -t nat -I PREROUTING -p tcp --dport 80 -j DNAT --to 192.168.0.3:9999
At the beginning, everything was working fine. I could access the web server from the outside with http://my-public-ip/ , and the computers behind the server could access the web normally. After some times, everything was going wrong. I couldn't access the web server from the outside, and the four computers couldn't access the web (the other services were working well).
I guess that my command is not the good one, and that the requests from the local network are routed to the host 192.168.0.3 instead of being routed to the internet (is that right ?). I'm wondering two things :
- Why was it working fine at the beginning ?
- What is the good command ?
I just tried this one a few minutes ago :
/sbin/iptables -t nat -I PREROUTING -p tcp --dport 80 -i eth1 -j DNAT --to 192.168.0.3:9999
Maybe the "-i eth1" (my internet interface) could specify when the requests should be routed to the specified host, and when they should'nt. But when I do a "iptables -t nat -L" I can't see any difference with the previous command.
Thanks for your help ! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Rob1n l33t

Joined: 29 Nov 2003 Posts: 714 Location: Cambridge, UK
|
Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Your new command looks to be the correct one (assuming eth0 is your external interface). You'll need to add the -v switch to your iptables command to see this extra info listed. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Griffon n00b

Joined: 23 Nov 2005 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 9:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you !
Indeed, I don't have any problem since I tried this command. I guess when you say "assuming eth0 is your external interface" you mean eth1 ? (eth0 = LAN eth1 = internet)
And thanks too for the -v ! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Rob1n l33t

Joined: 29 Nov 2003 Posts: 714 Location: Cambridge, UK
|
Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, of course I mean eth1 - I must've be having reading difficulties when I wrote that as you quite plainly wrote that eth1 was your external interface. Oh well  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|