View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
flamingpi6C73 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:30 pm Post subject: Error, dhcpStart: ioctl SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or direct |
|
|
Hey, I am using a Linksys WPC54GS card and when I try
# dhcpcd wlan0
Error, dhcpStart: ioctl SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
Anywhere I've gone they either say that the driver is broken or the kernel doesnt have it built in. I updated the kernel a while ago, and it was working before the update, and I am using the same driver, but I dont know what else I could build into the kernel that would make it right.
/usr/src/linux/.config:
Code: |
#
# Wireless LAN (non-hamradio)
#
CONFIG_NET_RADIO=y
CONFIG_NET_WIRELESS_RTNETLINK=y
#
# Obsolete Wireless cards support (pre-802.11)
#
CONFIG_STRIP=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_WAVELAN=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_NETWAVE=y
#
# Wireless 802.11 Frequency Hopping cards support
#
CONFIG_PCMCIA_RAYCS=y
#
# Wireless 802.11b ISA/PCI cards support
#
CONFIG_IPW2100=y
# CONFIG_IPW2100_MONITOR is not set
# CONFIG_IPW2100_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_IPW2200=y
# CONFIG_IPW2200_MONITOR is not set
# CONFIG_IPW2200_QOS is not set
# CONFIG_IPW2200_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_AIRO=y
CONFIG_HERMES=y
CONFIG_PLX_HERMES=y
CONFIG_TMD_HERMES=y
CONFIG_NORTEL_HERMES=y
CONFIG_PCI_HERMES=y
CONFIG_ATMEL=y
CONFIG_PCI_ATMEL=y
#
# Wireless 802.11b Pcmcia/Cardbus cards support
#
CONFIG_PCMCIA_HERMES=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_SPECTRUM=y
CONFIG_AIRO_CS=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_ATMEL=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_WL3501=y
#
# Prism GT/Duette 802.11(a/b/g) PCI/Cardbus support
#
CONFIG_PRISM54=y
CONFIG_USB_ZD1201=y
CONFIG_HOSTAP=y
# CONFIG_HOSTAP_FIRMWARE is not set
CONFIG_HOSTAP_PLX=y
CONFIG_HOSTAP_PCI=y
CONFIG_HOSTAP_CS=y
CONFIG_BCM43XX=y
CONFIG_BCM43XX_DEBUG=y
CONFIG_BCM43XX_DMA=y
CONFIG_BCM43XX_PIO=y
CONFIG_BCM43XX_DMA_AND_PIO_MODE=y
# CONFIG_BCM43XX_DMA_MODE is not set
# CONFIG_BCM43XX_PIO_MODE is not set
CONFIG_ZD1211RW=y
# CONFIG_ZD1211RW_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_NET_WIRELESS=y
#
# PCMCIA network device support
#
CONFIG_NET_PCMCIA=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_3C589=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_3C574=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_FMVJ18X=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_PCNET=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_NMCLAN=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_SMC91C92=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_XIRC2PS=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_AXNET=y
|
If anyone has any ideas I would appreciate it
oh, yeah, I am also using ndiswrapper |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
erik258 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/18778702754589d89edad52.gif)
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hi! I think I know what your problem might be. You updated the kernel sources, and broke compatibility with your out-of-kernel-sources (externally provided, i mean) modules such as ndiswrapper. Try rebuilding them, that may well be your problem. If you have any other externally provided modules you may need to rebuild them too. But start with ndiswrapper.
I had this problem a bit ago. I was really worried about my wireless AP until I realized that all i needed to do was sync up the madwifi package with my kernel. Then, the problem 'magically' disappeared. _________________ Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flamingpi6C73 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That would make sense, but since the kernel update I have actually done
# emerge -e world
because a bunch of other things broke. This still isnt working though.
I'll try anyway though. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flamingpi6C73 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
nope... still get the same error message. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
erik258 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/18778702754589d89edad52.gif)
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 1:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
emerge -e world isn't going to recompile kernel i don't think. _________________ Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flamingpi6C73 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
right... but that's not what you said... I already recompiled the kernel, and after doing so, I have done the emerge -e world. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
erik258 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/18778702754589d89edad52.gif)
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 4:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
oh, right. sorry, i guess i was confused.
I guess it must be some config in your kernel. You could compare the two configurations i guess... _________________ Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flamingpi6C73 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 4:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
heh, here's the problem with that... i stupidly deleted the old kernel config. and also I posted the config for the wireless cards, and I have all card possibilities enabled, at least the ones in that section of the config. There's got to be something else that I'm not aware of. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
erik258 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/18778702754589d89edad52.gif)
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Could it be neither the kernel nor wifi driver, but something else? pcmcia-cs maybe? _________________ Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flamingpi6C73 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 4:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dhcpcd-3.0.9 gives the exact same error message.
I think my pcmcia is working fine because ndiswrapper -l outputs this:
lsbcmnds : driver installed
device (14E4:4318) present |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
erik258 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/18778702754589d89edad52.gif)
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 6:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
are all the modules loaded? _________________ Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flamingpi6C73 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
wow... I'm brilliant... no... ndiswrapper is not... how do I get it to load at boot again? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
erik258 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/18778702754589d89edad52.gif)
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 4:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Googling implies that although the driver is fine, there is a problem loading the firmware for your card. Check your logs for any firmware related errors. |
Certainly possible, UberLord, but consider whether this doesn't suggest that it's not the case:
Code: |
lsbcmnds : driver installed
device (14E4:4318) present |
at any rate, firmware hasn't changed i don't think in this case.
[/i]
flamingpi6C73, i'm not sure how to get ndiswrapper running at boot, but if it's anything like every kernel module I ever had to load at boot time, just putting the name of the module in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 should do it. If you need options passed to the kernel you'll have to put them somewhere else, maybe /etc/modules.d/ or something, but i just don't remember. _________________ Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 4:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
erik258 wrote: | Quote: | Googling implies that although the driver is fine, there is a problem loading the firmware for your card. Check your logs for any firmware related errors. |
Certainly possible, UberLord, but consider whether this doesn't suggest that it's not the case:
Code: |
lsbcmnds : driver installed
device (14E4:4318) present |
at any rate, firmware hasn't changed |
That has no indication whether firmware was loaded successfully or not.
There have been some recent upheavals in udev regarding firmware.
I would try udev-104-r7 and any udev version <90 to see if that fixes. _________________ Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
erik258 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/18778702754589d89edad52.gif)
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 4:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: |
That has no indication whether firmware was loaded successfully or not.
There have been some recent upheavals in udev regarding firmware.
I would try udev-104-r7 and any udev version <90 to see if that fixes. |
I've always considered the developers the experts, so I'll take your word for it ; ) I don't have any firmware-requirements myself and don't need ndiswrapper for my Atheros wifi cards; madwifi-ng takes good care of me.
however, before you go through too much of that, flamingpi6C73, you might want to start by seeing if it works right now if the module is loaded ; )) _________________ Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flamingpi6C73 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 6:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well, when the module is loaded, dhcpcd wlan0 gives me another error... but I understand and can handle this one
Error, wlan0: dhcpcd already running (/var/run/dhcpcd-wlan0.pid)
So that seems to have been the problem. I also realized why I thought it was running. I had ndiswrapper in /etc/modules which is incorrect. However, it doesnt seem to work properly with it in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 either. It loads but for some reason dhcpcd wlan0 gives me the same error, I decided I would try the ndiswrapper -m that supposedly makes it so it loads every time wlan0 is called. We shall see...
well... that didn't work either... oh well at least I know what the problem was now |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
erik258 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/18778702754589d89edad52.gif)
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 6:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
you know more than that my friend. is this akin to the error message displayed prominently at the console?
Code: | dan@pascal ~ $ su -
Password:
pascal ~ # dhcpcd eth0
**** dhcpcd: already running
**** dhcpcd: if not then delete /var/run/dhcpcd-eth0.pid file
pascal ~ #
|
do the same thing again after trying this line
Code: | # killall -KILL dhcpcd |
and if that doesn't work try again after
Code: | rm /var/run/dhcpcd-wlan0.pid |
I highly recommend you make sure that pid (cat the file /var/run/dhcpcd-wlan0.pid to see the pid) isn't still a running process. If it is, use kill to kill it.
this has nothing to do with your wlan card, and is totally isolated to dhcpcd !!! Yay!!! _________________ Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flamingpi6C73 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 6:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yes, however I would still like to get ndiswrapper working at boot... I have tried a number of things, and none of them work. I have to run modprobe ndiswrapper to get it working even though lsmod shows that ndiswrapper is running. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
erik258 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/18778702754589d89edad52.gif)
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So, the module gets loaded at boot. But either it isn't getting loaded properly, or maybe the module is fine and the device just needs to be started with something analogous to /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start ? _________________ Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flamingpi6C73 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
# dhcpcd wlan0
Error, wlan0: ioctl SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
# dhcpcd wlan0
Error, wlan0: dhcpcd already running (/var/run/dhcpcd-wlan0.pid)
# rm /var/run/dhcpcd-wlan0.pid
# dhcpcd wlan0
Error, wlan0: ioctl SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
# rm /var/run/dhcpcd-wlan0.pid
# modprobe ndiswrapper
# dhcpcd wlan0
Error, wlan0: ioctl SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
# lsmod
Module Size Used by
ndiswrapper 132980 0
Ok... so apparently that was not entirely the problem... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
erik258 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/18778702754589d89edad52.gif)
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
nope. guess not.
maybe it's time to move on to
Uberlord wrote: | That has no indication whether firmware was loaded successfully or not.
There have been some recent upheavals in udev regarding firmware.
I would try udev-104-r7 and any udev version <90 to see if that fixes. |
_________________ Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flamingpi6C73 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 6:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok, well the newest version of udev still gives the same error. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|