Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
CUPS Error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Effigiem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Location: Wroclaw,PL

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:13 am    Post subject: CUPS Error Reply with quote

When I try to run printer configuration utility in kde I've error like that:
Code:

Unable to retrieve the printer list. Error message received from manager:
Connection to CUPS server failed. Check that the CUPS server is correctly installed and running. Error: the IPP request failed for an unknown reason.


Cups is configured to run on correct port (as I suppose). I'm not the only person who has this error message - my friend too ;) .
Cups is installed (I emerged it once more to be sure).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desertViking
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 69
Location: Tempe, Arizona

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use KDE, but gnome. Very limited experience with CUPS, but I usually work with printers from a web browser. You should be able to enter "http://localhost:631/" and attach to the CUPS server if everything is OK. Give that a try and see if you learn something more.
Sorry I can't be of more help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2421
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:52 am    Post subject: Re: CUPS Error Reply with quote

Effigiem wrote:
When I try to run printer configuration utility in kde I've error like that:
Code:

Unable to retrieve the printer list. Error message received from manager:
Connection to CUPS server failed. Check that the CUPS server is correctly installed and running. Error: the IPP request failed for an unknown reason.


Cups is configured to run on correct port (as I suppose). I'm not the only person who has this error message - my friend too ;) .
Cups is installed (I emerged it once more to be sure).
Could you check that it is running by
Code:
/etc/init.d/cupsd status
If it says "stopped" then you can start it by
Code:
etc/init.d/cupsd start
and then you should run
Code:
rc-update add cupsd default
to make sure it is always started.
_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Effigiem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Location: Wroclaw,PL

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is, that it says that cups is started;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2421
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you trying to use CUPS on the same machine the printer is connected to?
_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Can you connect with a browser to http://localhost:631 ?
What's the output of netstat -tan?
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Effigiem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Location: Wroclaw,PL

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The output is:
Code:

localhost michal # netstat -tan
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State     
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:587             0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN     
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:139             0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN     
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:631           0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN     
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:25              0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN     
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:445             0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN     
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.100:3751      209.85.135.99:80        ESTABLISHED
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.100:2685      72.14.217.104:80        ESTABLISHED
tcp        1      0 192.168.1.100:2518      140.211.166.170:80      CLOSE_WAIT 
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.100:3429      209.85.129.104:80       ESTABLISHED
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.100:3431      209.85.129.104:80       ESTABLISHED
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.100:4078      217.74.64.235:110       TIME_WAIT   
tcp        1      0 192.168.1.100:2661      64.202.163.78:80        CLOSE_WAIT 
tcp        1      0 192.168.1.100:2497      64.202.163.78:80        CLOSE_WAIT 
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.100:4609      217.17.41.88:8074       ESTABLISHED
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.100:3912      66.102.9.104:80         TIME_WAIT   
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.100:3540      66.102.9.99:80          ESTABLISHED
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.100:1470      72.14.215.111:995       TIME_WAIT   
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.100:4775      209.85.135.99:80        ESTABLISHED
tcp        0      0 ::1:631                 :::*       



And of course printer is conected to the same mashine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2421
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you are having difficulty with KDE, the following warning from the cups-1.2.7 ebuild might help in solving your problem
Code:
"The configuration changed with cups-1.2, you may want to save the old"
"one and start from scratch:"
"# mv /etc/cups /etc/cups.orig; emerge -va1 cups"

"You need to rebuild kdelibs for kdeprinter to work with cups-1.2"


"/usr/lib/cups exists - You need to remerge every ebuild that"
"installed into /usr/lib/cups and /etc/cups, qfile is in portage-utils:"
"# FEATURES=-collision-protect emerge -va1 \$(qfile -qC /usr/lib/cups /etc/cups | sed \"s:net-print/cups$::\")"

"FEATURES=-collision-protect is needed to overwrite the compatibility"
"symlinks installed by this package, it wont be needed on later merges."
"You should also run revdep-rebuild"

_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Effigiem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Location: Wroclaw,PL

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got one more error :twisted:
Code:

FEATURES=-collision-protect emerge -va1 \$(qfile -qC /usr/lib/cups /etc/cups | sed \"s:net-print/cups$::\")
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `('
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2421
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Effigiem wrote:
I've got one more error :twisted:
Code:

FEATURES=-collision-protect emerge -va1 \$(qfile -qC /usr/lib/cups /etc/cups | sed \"s:net-print/cups$::\")
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `('
That was copied from the ebuild text, it appears to have some characters escaped to allow ewarn to work properly. This works
Code:
FEATURES=-collision-protect emerge -va1 $(qfile -qC /usr/lib/cups /etc/cups | sed "s:net-print/cups$::")

_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum