View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
plato n00b
Joined: 20 Dec 2006 Posts: 5 Location: Boston, Massachusetts
|
Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 8:22 am Post subject: Hotplug scripting |
|
|
I've been scouring the net for hours trying to find a way to have my lovely little Gentoo box figure out a way to keep itself connected to the internet. I have a wired net.eth0 interface and a wireless net.eth1 interface. The goal is to have the following scenarios take place:
1.) If I remove the ethernet cable, call
Code: | /etc/init.d/net.eth0 stop && /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start |
and have it restart all the cached dependencies of net.eth0.
In other words, the goal is to formally stop the eth0 interface and start the eth1 interface like nothing ever happened whenever the cable is removed.
2.) If I plug in the ethernet cable, do the opposite: stop eth1 and start eth0, restart cached dependencies.
All the documentation I've read is a bit too technical to digest. If someone could point me in the right direction, I'd be mighty appreciative. _________________ Never put off today what you can put off tomorrow. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Lloeki Guru
Joined: 14 Jun 2006 Posts: 437 Location: France
|
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
emerge either netplug or ifplugd (I use the latter).
then, it's automagic: plugged in? eth0 goes up. unplugged? eth0 goes down.
if you use wpa_supplicant (along with WPA APs, it can be used also for unencrypted and WEP), it'll basically do just the same with eth1.
there's nothing wrong with having both eth0 and eth1 up at the same time. software will just use the first resolved route (type route in a console to see the current order)
your concern may be that if you have ethernet, then you may want the system to favor routing over ethernet, because it's either more reliable, or has more throughput. there are solutions to that, where the one with the highest metrics is favored, but I can't recall exactly.
personally, I don't care and just do the above, since all I want is connectivity, and wifi is stable enough and performant enough for me. and if I really want eth0, I just stop eth1 manually or slap the rf kill switch. _________________ Moved to using Arch Linux
Life is meant to be lived, not given up...
HOLY COW I'M TOTALLY GOING SO FAST OH F*** |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|