Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Should I install Gentoo now or wait for 2007.0?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
klees
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:50 pm    Post subject: Should I install Gentoo now or wait for 2007.0? Reply with quote

I'm debating with myself whether to install Gentoo (2006.1) now or wait for the upcoming release. I'm new to Gentoo but not linux. I've tried every major distro out there and was looking for a change. What worries me are the compile times but that's a different story. Back to my topic... will I need to reinstall Gentoo when 2007.0 comes out if I were to install 2006.1 now? If so, then I guess I should wait.

Also, I have an Athlon XP 2800+, 1gb RAM (dual channel) and two SATA drives. Based on these specs, how long will it take me to have a full operating system with X and KDE? Are there compile charts out there that would give me an idea? Should I emerge X and KDE from the LiveCD install or should I emerge after I've done the minimal install (if I were to install Gentoo now). Thanks in advanced.
Paapaa
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, Gentoo doesn't have different versions: Gentoo is always up to date (if you remember to update it)! There is no logical reason to wait for 2007.0 as it is only the installation medium. If you install now you will end up with identical installation. You just have to switch to 2007.0 profile when it becomes available.
gr8fuljames
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Should I emerge X and KDE from the LiveCD install or should I emerge after I've done the minimal install

Every install I've done you wait untill after you have a working system. If you follow the handbook that's the order...
klees
n00b
n00b