Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Performance Problems with KDE
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
-leliel-
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 5:27 pm    Post subject: Performance Problems with KDE Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm on an Athlon XP 2000+ with 512 MB DDR Ram, a Nvidia GeForce 4 Ti 4200 and a Soundbaster Audigy Player.

If I emerge some programs or open about 10 Konqueror's for web browsing the mouse begins to stagnate.

I've installed Unreal Tournament 2003, but the sound was very poor. :(

Is there a way to get a bit more power out of KDE, and some better quality out of my soundcard?

btw. there are about 400 MB ram in use, is this regular?

thanks
_________________
- carpe noctem -

dunkelelf@jabber.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Posts: 2380
Location: Atlanta, Universe

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Do you have DMA on?
2. What version of the NVIDIA drivers do you have?
3. What sound card drivers are you using? (OSS or alsa?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Khan Artist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 210
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also: What kernel are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xcable
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 424
Location: College Station, Texas

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 6:41 pm    Post subject: desktop performance Reply with quote

Running KDE on a P3 1GHz works good for me, after some tweaking. A couple of things you can do...

1 - use ck sources (kernel sources)
2 - make sure your kernel is compiled for the correct sound chip
3 - make sure acpi is enabled in the kernel
4 - make sure low-latency is enabled in the kernel
5 - make sure preemption is enabled in the kernel
6 - make sure your C/C++ flags are set to optimize for your processor (if not then set and recompile KDE, XFree86, binutils, and glibc)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-leliel-
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I've emerged the 2.4.20-gaming-r3 kernel, soundsystem is ALSA (+ KDE aRts). These are my CFLAGS:

Quote:

CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O3 -pipe -mmmx -m3dnow -msse -mfpmath=sse,387"

# If you set a CFLAGS above, then this line will set your default C++ flags to
# the same settings.
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"


DMA is enabled, but I don't know how to check this. The system also goes down on copying large files a.s.o.

The nvidia drivers are emerged, too. So they should be actual.

I'll try low-latency and preemption the next time I compile my kernel.

thanks
_________________
- carpe noctem -

dunkelelf@jabber.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hdparm /dev/hdX should show you (for example hdparm /dev/hda)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-leliel-
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

bash-2.05b# hdparm /dev/hda

/dev/hda:
multcount = 16 (on)
IO_support = 0 (default 16-bit)
unmaskirq = 0 (off)
using_dma = 0 (off)
keepsettings = 0 (off)
readonly = 0 (off)
readahead = 8 (on)
geometry = 7476/255/63, sectors = 120103200, start = 0


damn. What I have to do to get in DMA mode?
_________________
- carpe noctem -

dunkelelf@jabber.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe it is like this:
Code:

hdparm -d1 /dev/hda

You also might want to look at /etc/init.d/hdparm and /etc/conf.d/hdparm
Code:

rc-update add hdparm boot

Relevant sections of my /etc/conf.d/hdparm:
Code:

disc0_args="-u1 -c1 -d1 -X66"
cdrom0_args="-d1"


/Daniel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

instead of using hdparm, you could also make sure you have compiled in support for your chipset in the kernel, if you have, it should enable dma properly automaticaly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RangerDude
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 12:19 pm    Post subject: Ranger Reply with quote

As for UT2003, I remember having chopy sound too. It was solved by a
Code:

less README

It had something to do with an SDL option, as I recall.


Last edited by RangerDude on Thu May 15, 2003 2:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-leliel-
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

for i in ${all_discs}
do
tmp_args=${i}_args
eval hd_args=\$${tmp_args}

if [ -n "${hd_args}" ]
then
drives="$drives $i"
fi
done


this is the disk section of my hdparm init script. Where I should insert -d1 -u1 a.s.o.?

thanks
_________________
- carpe noctem -

dunkelelf@jabber.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The /etc/init.d/hdparm script uses /etc/conf.d/hdparm for configuration. So you should not modify /etc/init.d/hdparm, only /etc/conf.d/hdparm

/Daniel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum