Need help Installing on G3 PPC
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
doolbneerg
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:39 pm    Post subject: Need help Installing on G3 PPC Reply with quote

I am new to Power PCs, and have been playing with Gentoo(on an x86 machine) on and off for about a year. I just got an old Mac G3 PowerPC, and it didn't have a Harddrive, Keybaord, Mouse, or Memory. I slapped some memory in it, and booted it up. I get a nifty little grey screen with a Disk at the center of the screen flashing a question mark. So I think everything works.

I need help on figuring out what the minimal I'll need to do to get Gentoo up and running on the machine. Is there any trick to boot off of a CD when there is a cleaned harddrive? A lot of what I have been seeing says I need to load a Bootx program from a Mac OS. Is there a way someone can give me an Image to put onto my harddrive to get me started? Dows anyone know if I will need to find a keyboard before I can do anything, or should I be able to just use SSH to remote in and do everything from there?

Thanks for any help anyone can give me.
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you identify what kind of G3 this is? Is it a new world machine or an old world machine?
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml#powerpc
Gustav IV
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

(How old is old?)

I don't know what info about BootX you've been reading, but if its a new world machine running ybin or mkofboot will break the Open Firmware path's device tree to where BootX is located, (system/library/CoreService or something like that) and only use the bootstrapped partition where the Linux bootloader exists.