Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox with kde'ish dialogs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
haukew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Location: Hamburg - Germany

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 7:42 pm    Post subject: Firefox with kde'ish dialogs Reply with quote

Hi!
Is there a possibility to make the dialogs in the firefox (which look gnome'ish) look more kde'ish (like in konqueror)? There was a program when i used Ubuntu which did just that but i can't remember it's name...
Thanks in advance, hauke
_________________
http://www.MySpace.com/TheAgeOfSound - my band :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ezhdeha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 60
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:50 am    Post subject: Firefox KDE dialog Reply with quote

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Integrate_Firefox_with_KDE

* Firefox 2.0 It's very simple. Enter "about:config" in the address bar, look for the "ui.allow_platform_file_picker" key and change its value to "false".
* Firefox 1.5 It's a little bit more complex !

File: /opt/firefox/components/nsFilePicker.js (on AMD64 /usr/lib64/mozilla-firefox/components/nsFilePicker.js)

Change:

Code:
function (compMgr, fileSpec, location, type)
 {
     debug("registering (all right -- a JavaScript module!)");
     compMgr = compMgr.QueryInterface(Components.interfaces.nsIComponentRegistrar);
 
     compMgr.registerFactoryLocation(FILEPICKER_CID,
                                     "FilePicker JS Component",
 //@line 278 "/builds/tinderbox/Fx-Mozilla1.8.0....
                                     "",
 //@line 280 "/builds/tinderbox/Fx-Mozilla1.8.0....
                                     fileSpec,
                                     location,
                                     type);
 }

to:
Code:
 function (compMgr, fileSpec, location, type)
 {
     debug("registering (all right -- a JavaScript module!)");
     compMgr = compMgr.QueryInterface(Components.interfaces.nsIComponentRegistrar);
 
     compMgr.registerFactoryLocation(FILEPICKER_CID,
                                     "FilePicker JS Component",
 //@line 278 "/builds/tinderbox/Fx-Mozilla1.8.0....
                                     FILEPICKER_CONTRACTID,
 //@line 280 "/builds/tinderbox/Fx-Mozilla1.8.0....
                                     fileSpec,
                                     location,
                                     type);
 }

_________________
http://www.crossnet.com.au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haukew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Location: Hamburg - Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, that's it - thank you. Can i make the GIMP have KDE dialogs, too?
_________________
http://www.MySpace.com/TheAgeOfSound - my band :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oldcodger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 5:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Firefox KDE dialog Reply with quote

Ezhdeha wrote:
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Integrate_Firefox_with_KDE

* Firefox 2.0 It's very simple. Enter "about:config" in the address bar, look for the "ui.allow_platform_file_picker" key and change its value to "false".
* Firefox 1.5 It's a little bit more complex !

File: /opt/firefox/components/nsFilePicker.js (on AMD64 /usr/lib64/mozilla-firefox/components/nsFilePicker.js)

Change:

Code:
function (compMgr, fileSpec, location, type)
 {
     debug("registering (all right -- a JavaScript module!)");
     compMgr = compMgr.QueryInterface(Components.interfaces.nsIComponentRegistrar);
 
     compMgr.registerFactoryLocation(FILEPICKER_CID,
                                     "FilePicker JS Component",
 //@line 278 "/builds/tinderbox/Fx-Mozilla1.8.0....
                                     "",
 //@line 280 "/builds/tinderbox/Fx-Mozilla1.8.0....
                                     fileSpec,
                                     location,
                                     type);
 }

to:
Code:
 function (compMgr, fileSpec, location, type)
 {
     debug("registering (all right -- a JavaScript module!)");
     compMgr = compMgr.QueryInterface(Components.interfaces.nsIComponentRegistrar);
 
     compMgr.registerFactoryLocation(FILEPICKER_CID,
                                     "FilePicker JS Component",
 //@line 278 "/builds/tinderbox/Fx-Mozilla1.8.0....
                                     FILEPICKER_CONTRACTID,
 //@line 280 "/builds/tinderbox/Fx-Mozilla1.8.0....
                                     fileSpec,
                                     location,
                                     type);
 }


Thank you for this too. Just what I was looking for. :)
_________________
watch live football streams
watch live cricket
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haukew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Location: Hamburg - Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there a possibility to have KDE-ish icons in the GIMP?
_________________
http://www.MySpace.com/TheAgeOfSound - my band :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10315
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kde-misc/kgtk used to work for that purpose, I don't know what its current status is. It might or might not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haukew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Location: Hamburg - Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep, it does :-)
i installed it and now when i want to start the gimp, i start it with the command
Code:
kgtk-wrapper gimp

and it has KDE-Menus - thank you :)
_________________
http://www.MySpace.com/TheAgeOfSound - my band :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haukew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Location: Hamburg - Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, unfortunately is makes my gimp crash when i want to save a file...when i disable it, everything works.
_________________
http://www.MySpace.com/TheAgeOfSound - my band :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10315
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, something in my main -in some obscure and far far place- was telling me that that failed for me for some reason, but did not remember exactly what the problem was. After all, it is just an ld hack, and once the abi of gtk changes, it just breaks. kgtk seems not to have a periodicity on its mainteinance -if any at all-.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xenogis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could create a gimp theme with crystal icons to make it look a little more like kde.
_________________
Gentoo made my Toshiba laptop fast again!
My website which runs on a linux server: http://fries.us.to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10315
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the suggestion, but in my case the icons, and even the look of the application is not a problem.

I could even say that I hate crystal icons hehe. The whole point about kgtk is to be able to use the kde file dialogs in a gtk application. The kde file dialogs are way ahead the gtk ones in which regards features and functionality. That's the whole point of kgtk. I could not care less about the look the iconset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not a question of icons, it's the hopeless gtk open/save dialogues. The gnome team are so damn sure they have they've designed an amazingly cleaver new interface that they refuse to believe how unusable these things are.

It is 3 or 4 years since they were introduced with Gtk2 and the number of disgruntled users continues to rise.

To be fair some ppl do like them but a lot of others find them highly obstructive and inefficient.

Please do file bugs on gnome bugzilla. Best to add comments to existing bugs since new ones will just get marked as duplicate invalid. Search "filechooser" , you should have your pick of bugs to add to.

Thunar file manage at least gives you the choice , hopefully one day this approach will get added to gtk+ .

http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=331404

8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1oooop
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Location: somewhere hiding

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 5:28 am    Post subject: Re: Firefox with kde'ish dialogs Reply with quote

what are you talkin about do you mean on a website th have alerts pop up? well anyway here's the code
Code:
<script>alert('enter text here')</script>
pretty easy javascript eh? anyway you can use it on any part of your site that supports java
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10315
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 5:45 am    Post subject: Re: Firefox with kde'ish dialogs Reply with quote

1oooop wrote:
what are you talkin about do you mean on a website th have alerts pop up? well anyway here's the code
Code:
<script>alert('enter text here')</script>
pretty easy javascript eh? anyway you can use it on any part of your site that supports java


They are talking about the Open File dialogs, the windows that appear when you click the menu File -> Open.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 7:35 am    Post subject: Re: Firefox with kde'ish dialogs Reply with quote

1oooop wrote:
what are you talkin about do you mean on a website th have alerts pop up? well anyway here's the code
Code:
<script>alert('enter text here')</script>
pretty easy javascript eh? anyway you can use it on any part of your site that supports java


nice one noob. Before you start giving tips I suggest you find out the difference between java and javascript. Your post is, of course, nothing to do with the subject of this thread.
:roll:
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86


Last edited by Gentree on Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 7:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Firefox with kde'ish dialogs Reply with quote

..
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86


Last edited by Gentree on Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wjb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Posts: 644
Location: Fife, Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Firefox KDE dialog Reply with quote

Ezhdeha wrote:
* Firefox 2.0 It's very simple. Enter "about:config" in the address bar, look for the "ui.allow_platform_file_picker" key and change its value to "false".

Thank you for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dj_farid
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jun 2004
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible somehow to have thumbnails of jpg files on the file save dialog?
If you go into gmail (or hotmail) and add a file as an attachment, I would like to see previews of my files. It has happened that I have uploaded the wrong file in the past...

Also, what does the -filepicker USE flag do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KpR2000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Aug 2003
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dj_farid wrote:

Also, what does the -filepicker USE flag do?


[- ] filepicker (www-client/mozilla-firefox):
enable old gtkfilepicker from 1.0.x firefox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks , that would appear to be the same thing then.

it's a good idea to post how you got that information in a reply. It saves ppl having to ask next time. Give a man a fish you feed him for a day , teach him to fish you feed him for life :wink:
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 9410

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two ways to fish:
The quick and dirty method:
grep filepicker /usr/portage/profiles/use*.desc

The less typing method:
emerge -av app-portage/gentoolkit
euse -i filepicker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rolyat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed kgtk and it works beautifully (especially gmail). The one problem I am having, well not me but the wife is the myspace flash file upload tool where you can upload multiple files.

It does not work. Here's what happens, I click browse, the dialog opens up, I see the previews of the images and click the image and ok, then nothing, doesn't show any progress of putting the file in queue to upload.

If I don't run firefox with kgtk, then I get the ugly and I mean UGLY file dialog with no ability to preview the images (Which I think is one horrible usability problem), but I am able to pick the file, hit ok, and queue up the file for upload.

I just wish I can get this piece working so I don't here my wife complain how much of a pain it is to do this in linux, while on her friends windows box its a snap. From my understanding gtk open file dialogs can support images, similar to gimp's, so who is it that I would file a request to (firefox devs?) Anyway does anyone have a ideas to fix this issue?

EDIT: In the mean time I will try to figure out konquerors flash is using an gtk open file dialog, must be flash that is forcing GTK, pity.
_________________
Running gentoo on my desktop, laptop and my PS3! Portage rocks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum