View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bongosmoker
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:32 pm    Post subject: [KDE, eye-candy] Question about icon clicking effect[solved] Reply with quote

Hey. I am fairly new to KDE and to Linux, this is the reason of my question. Apart from Gentoo I also have the Ubuntu installation on my laptop with Intel 915gml. On Ubuntu I installed KDE few days ago and I noticed that when I click on an icon it has a nice animation of a zoom and fade out (well, it's the best way I can describe it). Also, when going into the logout screen, it fades in a nice and smooth fashion. I would like to know if anyone tried to do such effects on the Gentoo's KDE? Or maybe they're Ubuntu-specific? I can provide small movies made with a camera in .mov format.

I have tried upgrading KDE with xcomposite USE flag enabled, but it only gave me the window translucency feature, which I don't really need anyway. Gentoo is running on the machine with Geforce FX 5200 and all the DRI and Composite stuff is enabled (Beryl works without problems, tho I don't use it). I really can't find any details about this feature (probably mostly because I don't even know where to search, of course tried google), but I like it and I would have it on my Gentoo box.

Thanks for any help.

Last edited by bongosmoker on Mon Apr 30, 2007 6:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 2:37 pm    Post subject: Re: [KDE, eye-candy] Question about icon clicking effect. Reply with quote

bongosmoker wrote: