kdm blocked
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ladan
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 4:40 am    Post subject: kdm blocked Reply with quote

Hi, This is my first time using Gentoo, and I'm very happy with it except for this one thing.

I installed KDE using "emerge kde" on my mom's spare computer with all my USE flags set up. Everything is working great. It performs much better than Kubuntu which I had before. But, since it's my mom's computer, I need a graphical login. Naturally I want to use kdm, and it wasn't installed when I emerged KDE.

When I "emerge --pretend kdm" I get a list of blocks like the following (there are more):
Code:
[blocks B     ] =kde-base/kicker-3.5* (is blocking kde-base/kdebase-3.5.5-r3)
[blocks B     ] =kde-base/konqueror-3.5* (is blocking kde-base/kdebase-3.5.5-r3)

and then,
Code:
[blocks B     ] =kde-base/kdebase-3.5* (is blocking kde-base/kdepasswd-3.5.5, kde-base/kcontrol-3.5.5, kde-base/kdebase-data-3.5.5, kde-base/kdm-3.5.5-r1, kde-base/libkonq-3.5.5, kde-base/khelpcenter-3.5.5, kde-base/khotkeys-3.5.5, kde-base/kdesktop-3.5.5-r1, kde-base/kcheckpass-3.5.0, kde-base/kdialog-3.5.5, kde-base/kcminit-3.5.3, kde-base/konqueror-3.5.5, kde-base/kdebase-kioslaves-3.5.5-r1, kde-base/kfind-3.5.5, kde-base/kicker-3.5.5, kde-base/kdesu-3.5.5)

The list of things to build are all on my system already, except for kdm, but each one has an 'N' indicating that it's a new installation.

My question: Can I just force emerge to build kdm without messing up the rest of my system? And if so, how (I'm a total newb)?

Rebuilding KDE is out of the question, since it's a 300MHz Celeron, and it took 6 days to build in the first place.
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote